Posted
15 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Tim Kelly.  Runner up in Sandover Medal. 

Quick.  Skilled.  23yo.  Exactly what MFC needs. Goal kicker. Ready to play.  Rotating mid to half forward.  

Would be available in range 30-50.

I watched the Prelim on Sunday Subiaco vs South Fremantle. Kelly was very poor especially when Subi inctreased their physicality and pressure on the ball carrier.

One thing I took away from the game was Liam Ryan's second efforts and defensive pressure he applied. He had his usual flashes of brilliance but the other sides of his defensive game were not things I had seen him do before.

Be interested to see how he goes in this week's GF

Posted
15 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I watched the Prelim on Sunday Subiaco vs South Fremantle. Kelly was very poor especially when Subi inctreased their physicality and pressure on the ball carrier.

One thing I took away from the game was Liam Ryan's second efforts and defensive pressure he applied. He had his usual flashes of brilliance but the other sides of his defensive game were not things I had seen him do before.

Be interested to see how he goes in this week's GF

Article in today's West rag is saying Carlton is looking likely for Kelly but don't reckon he'll last until their current pick 38 given they've no 2nd rounder.

wouldnt mind betting the Eagles will look to get him after losing Mitchell and Priddis.

Xavier Ellis who coaches Swans colts (for those that don't know) reckon he'll walk into any teams starting 18.

Posted
1 hour ago, McQueen said:

Article in today's West rag is saying Carlton is looking likely for Kelly but don't reckon he'll last until their current pick 38 given they've no 2nd rounder.

wouldnt mind betting the Eagles will look to get him after losing Mitchell and Priddis.

Xavier Ellis who coaches Swans colts (for those that don't know) reckon he'll walk into any teams starting 18.

Haselby talks him up as well.  The intensity on Sunday was a lot closer to AFL level then other WAFL games.

Be great to see the kid step up, just not convinced 

Posted

Terry Wallace finished off the season with his Future Stars top 20 potential draftees

1. Luke Davies-Uniacke 187cm 85kg Mid Dandenong/Haileybury
2. Paddy Dow 184cm 78kg Bendigo/Geelong Grammar
3. Cam Rayner 187cm 88kg Mid Western Jets/PEGS
4. Adam Cerra 186cm 85kg Mid Eastern Ranges/Wesley
5. Jaidyn Stephenson189cm 75kg Mid Eastern Ranges
6. Jarrod Brander 195cm 83kg Fwd Bendigo/Geelong Grammar
7. Darcy Fogarty 192cm 88kg Mid/Fwd Glenelg SA
8. Hunter Clark 186cm 79kg Half back  Dandenong/Padua
9. Nick Coffield 190cm 83kg  Half back Northern Knights 
10. Andrew Brayshaw 183cm 80kg Mid Sandringham/Haileybury
11. Aaron Naughton 194cm 84kg Key Def Peel Thunder
12. Lochie O'Brien 184cm 75kg Mid Bendigo/Geelong Grammar 
13. Jack Higgins 178cm 78kg Mid Oakleigh
14. Sam Hayes 203cm 93kg Ruck Eastern Ranges/Rowville
15. Patrick Naish 180cm 67kg Fwd Northern Knights/Ivanhoe
16. Oscar Allen 191cm 83kg Fwd West Perth WA
17. Jordan Houlahan 185cm 78kg Fwd Sturt SA
18. Connor Ballenden 199cm 95kg Fwd/Ruck Lions Academy 
19. Lachie Fogarty 179cm 75kg Mid Western Jets/St Kevins 
20. Ed Richards 184cm 77kg Def Oakleigh/Carey

Posted

Liam Ryan was disappointing yesterday in the WAFL Grand Final. Struggled as he did last season against AFL defenders who gave him little room. In his defence on a couple of occasions the delivery was not great but he doesn't work hard enough to get enough separation from the defender. Very few second efforts yesterday. He got worked over physically at every opportunity. 

4th rounder or Rookie at best

Posted

Forget Lever and pick up Andrew Brayshaw with pick 10. ? Both brothers to dominate our midfield, and less likely to want to leave the club with both there. ??

Posted

Yes Jack Graham was strangely a slider to the 50s. Was ready to go and mature body, good decisions, smart but lacked a yard in pace. Who cares sometimes.  He gets it. He knows what to do. 

This year Mitch Crowden is that player. Played senior footy. Solid build. Skilled with a 50-60 metre kick easily. But lacks just outright pace. Who cares. He is not slow. Think Matt Crouch just a little quicker and stockier. Could go pick 30 or 60. 

Posted

strictly hypothetically, if the dees took a top ten pick to this year's draft, taking into consideration our list heading into next year, what are a few names you think we'd be keen on?..

Posted

I went to the combine testing on Friday. Some really impressed but I was surprised by how many young guns did not test. Some very good talent injured or unavailable.  Maybe a few sliders perhaps for the Dees. 

Andrew Brayshaw is top 10 material. 

Nathan Murphy will be top 25. 

Trent Mynott is a pick 50+ type that impressed. Good pace and agile smart ... potential half back wing.

Posted (edited)

cheers mate! i have a hunch the footy dept have something planned (i.e. nabbing a first rounder) and haven't followed the draftees so closely this year. i'll keep an eye out for the blokes you mentioned.. 

Edited by Rocky

Posted
9 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

This one's always a good read from SEN/Inside Football. 

Brett Anderson's Big Board 2.0

Sadly (in one way), after whetting the appetite on some of the talent, its highly likely that the Demons might not figure in the draft at this level at all if, as expected, they offload their early picks to secure Jake Lever. 

You have mucked up the link WJ.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/10/06/2017-big-board-2-0-or-bolters-and-sliders-galore/

Posted

I wouldn't mind getting Oscar Allen with a pick in the 20s. 

Not a KPF but the kid has desire to learn and ability to build a tank which I see him eventually developing into a big bodied mid wjo moves forward as a forward threat 

Posted

someone on the lever thread suggested that we might trade pick 27/35 and watts to someone to get back into the first round.. i'd be stoked to do that. even if it's next year's first round. otherwise, we need run/good disposal.

Posted

If take 27 and 35 to the draft what type of player would we be targeting? I'd like us to add some midfield speed as our current list is a bit one paced. Would love to see Bonar slide to 27, highly rated junior but recovering from 2 knee reconstructions. 

Draft Combine Speed Results

Smartspeed 20-metre sprint
Jack Petruccelle - 2.87 seconds
Kane Farrell - 2.90 
Aiden Bonar - 2.90
Ben Miller - 2.91
Nick Coffield - 2.91
Ben Paton - 2.95
Brent Daniels - 2.95
Stefan Okunbar - 2.95
Jaidyn Stephenson - 2.95
Nicholas Shipley - 2.97

Posted (edited)

I had the opportunity to do a bit of scouting this year and there are a host of names who impressed me at TAC cup level but either didn't play regular state carnival or didn't dominate.

If we manage to get a second-rounder for Watts and hit the draft with picks 27, (Watts pick), 35 and 45, look out for the following names:

Northern  - Jack Petrucelle, Marcus Lentini, Alexander Federico

Sandringham - Will Walker, Hayden Mclean, Nathan Murphy

Eastern - Trent Mynott, Joel Garner, Ryley Stoddart, Thomas North and Tyler Brown

Oakleigh - Ed Richards, Matthew Day

Gippsland - Callum Porter, Will Stephenson, Jack Hudson

Murray - Doulton Langlands, Daniel Johnston

Bendigo - Kane Farrell, Darby Henderson

GWV Rebels - Aiden Domic, Jordan Johnston

Geelong - Matthew Ling, Gryan Mies, James Worpel, Ethan Floyd

Unfortunately I didn't see Dandenong, Calder or Western play so can't comment on those players. But I saw the above players on a few occasions, many of whom I took notes for under instruction. Happy to answer questions on any.

I reckon most of those names mentioned will be between second and fourth round picks.

Posted
32 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

I had the opportunity to do a bit of scouting this year and there are a host of names who impressed me at TAC cup level but either didn't play regular state carnival or didn't dominate.

If we manage to get a second-rounder for Watts and hit the draft with picks 27, (Watts pick), 35 and 45, look out for the following names:

Northern  - Jack Petrucelle, Marcus Lentini, Alexander Federico

Sandringham - Will Walker, Hayden Mclean, Nathan Murphy

Eastern - Trent Mynott, Joel Garner, Ryley Stoddart, Thomas North and Tyler Brown

Oakleigh - Ed Richards, Matthew Day

Gippsland - Callum Porter, Will Stephenson, Jack Hudson

Murray - Doulton Langlands, Daniel Johnston

Bendigo - Kane Farrell, Darby Henderson

GWV Rebels - Aiden Domic, Jordan Johnston

Geelong - Matthew Ling, Gryan Mies, James Worpel, Ethan Floyd

Unfortunately I didn't see Dandenong, Calder or Western play so can't comment on those players. But I saw the above players on a few occasions, many of whom I took notes for under instruction. Happy to answer questions on any.

I reckon most of those names mentioned will be between second and fourth round picks.

What can you tell me about Nathan Murphy Steve? Only just chosen footy as his primary focus I believe.

Posted (edited)
37 minutes ago, Nascent said:

What can you tell me about Nathan Murphy Steve? Only just chosen footy as his primary focus I believe.

Only saw him twice so can't give a super in-depth report but he definitely looks like he can play.

Was a defender in both games I watched, didn't dominate but you can see he's a smart, natural footballer.

Glides across the ground, nice penetrating kick and I thought his defensive work was strong in his willingness to kill contests. Especially for his build.

Heard he played mainly forward for Brighton Grammar this year and kicked bags on a few occasions so it sounds as if he's fairly versatile. Around the 188cm mark but still pretty skinny and raw. 

Definitely liked the look of him though.