View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Stay staunch

The next two weeks are our last chance for a decent earner so all those disenchanted supporters of ours must roll up to face the Hawks and Pies.

Our home games this year are a disgrace. Only these next two weeks offered any prospect of a windfall.

Look at the rest of them: Port Adelaide, GWS, Gold Coast, Eagles, Saints, Dogs, Swans, Freo and Norf (at Etihad!). Of those, only the Saints offers a break even prospect unless Demon fans stick fat.

Tough as it is, get there this week and for QB for our club's sake.

Edited by pitmaster

Pathetic clubs get pathetic fixturing.

It's not rocket science: winning games earns windfall. You don't get a financially-promising fixture without first winning games.

Bewildering this club says "it is what it is" and "this is where we're at": losing games by 100 every.single.week. is not where anyone ever expects a team to be at.

Truly an indictment on this great game.

Can't expect fans to show up. But I'll be there.

Admire your sentiments. On our performances this year the AFL would feel very justified in giving us such weak games. Tragically it's also a case of the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer.

Perhaps you (and I applaud you) can take going and watching another heartless thrashing (hang on we are now due for our fortnightly 'effort' game).

Quite frankly, I am not prepared to drive and walk for over an hour (and back again) to watch our overpaid bludgers not gut run and our losing mentality coaches be outcoached yet again.

AFL gave us every opportunity with the draw to build good crowds, then the games actually started...

Yep. The AFL gsve us an easy run of home games against average to [censored] teams to kick the year off and we have been caned in all of them. We have had every chance to win a few and build some crowds up. It's too late now by the end if the year we will be lucky if the cheer squad show up

The next two weeks are our last chance for a decent earner so all those disenchanted supporters of ours must roll up to face the Hawks and Pies.

Our home games this year are a disgrace. Only Essendon (round 2) and these next two weeks offered any prospects of a windfall.

Essendon was an away game.

Why do we have to go and watch this drivel, they get my families money every year and what do they do with it? Jackshyte, frickin' sick of it but still go when shift work allows me.

• Author

Essendon was an away game.

You're right - not an earner which reinforces my point - but it was the game MFC members could use as compo for Darwin.

I have corrected the OP accordingly.

Edited by pitmaster

• Author

Peter Jackson yesterday: "I do know that we are looking at an operating loss of $1 million. If crowds do continue to decline, then the consequences of that might be a little bit north of that,"

WHAT DID I TELL YOU BUMS?

Now stop sooking and GET TO THE BLOODY GAME.

And take a mate.

If it's too tough stay in the bar.

Edited by pitmaster

Peter Jackson yesterday: "I do know that we are looking at an operating loss of $1 million. If crowds do continue to decline, then the consequences of that might be a little bit north of that,"

WHAT DID I TELL YOU BUMS?

Now stop sooking and GET TO THE BLOODY GAME.

And take a mate.

If it's too tough stay in the bar.

I've contacted all my Hawks mates to come along Sunday... They won't have to worry about me yelling out this year.

Why do we need a topic 'encouraging' 'supporters' to turn up for the next two weeks, thought that was a given

It's a bit of a catch 22 hey Saty? We expect the palyers to put in 100% effort, but then have to be reminded about our duty of being a supporter.

Actually, I think this statement will be more accurate. The difference between the players and most of us supporters is that we turn up when we can, the players turn up when they want.

Sorry.....Won't be there for the next 3 weeks......Off to Bali tomorrow......Can still watch the games on TV,and if the worst happens can just have more beers at the swim up bar....

I always find it amazing how you can sit at a swim up bar all day, drink dozens of Bintangs, yet you don't need to get out of the pool to take a pee.

Have to get out sometimes Billy......otherwise the water turns orange......or so they tell me....

Chlorine is very strong and does a great job keeping the water colour under control. The water temp on the other hand...!

Tell you what, when MN is gone I will make the trip East to watch a live game.

I did join the MFC as a member for the first time last year as I was so annoyed by how the team was going and decided that was the best way to show my support.

Otherwise I can not justify to the wife, think she a closet Collingwood supporter even though I told her she now supports Melbourne, the cost when I know the MFC will have a 100 point loss. I can see her now rolling on the floor laughing at me and saying the words "Losers" for even asking to go!

Does anyone have a copy of the 1964 VFL Grand Final as I have a sudden need to see a successful MFC team!

Oh the pain of it all!

Tell you what, when MN is gone I will make the trip East to watch a live game.

I did join the MFC as a member for the first time last year as I was so annoyed by how the team was going and decided that was the best way to show my support.

Otherwise I can not justify to the wife, think she a closet Collingwood supporter even though I told her she now supports Melbourne, the cost when I know the MFC will have a 100 point loss. I can see her now rolling on the floor laughing at me and saying the words "Losers" for even asking to go!

Does anyone have a copy of the 1964 VFL Grand Final as I have a sudden need to see a successful MFC team!

Oh the pain of it all!

I sincerely hope for you that MN being gone is the answer, personally I don't think so, but best of luck with the better half