Posted

I'm just interested in peoples' thoughts on getting their kids to support the MFC did you win or lose, I have a 10 year old daughter who follows the cats got me stuffed why but i call her a glory hound.

I have a boy on the way about 5 weeks away and I am gonna smash him from day 1 with MFC stuff and memberships and hopefully by the time he is old enough to understand we will be good which will make it easier and because im having a boy it should be easier to convert him to one of us, at the very least it will build some character.

Has anyone lost the battle or given up trying to get there kids to support MFC?

Posted

Took my kids to a lot of MFC games....win lose or draw you just make it a good day out and have fun (although a bit harder after a loss)...Both are now demon members (both in their late 20's now.)...Good luck...

Posted

Just explain to your wife that it's all about teaching your children how to deal with disappointment from an early age. It's about character building and it will make them a better person because of it.

Posted

I know what you mean mate.

I've got my first due anyday now. Was actually due on Tuesday but it's sleeping in.

It's going to be a boy, the mothers a Saints fan but I've got the green light to [censored] Melbourne to death. She had the green light if it were to be a girl.

I'm doing the membership, scraf, toy bear and all that stuff. We're even looking at building near Casey Fields so I can walk him to sumemr training and the Casey games.

It will be a battle. Even my dad lost me for about 5 years to Carlton a fair while back now before I saw the light and came back. Hopefully my young one will be thick skinned and stand firm when it gets to those dangerous years and they can decide for themselves!

Posted

Ive never understood how peoples kids can follow other teams, regardless. Surely at a young age its not about winning. It should be about wanting to be like your parent and bond with them and liking the merchandise they buy you. Ge tin early, before they understand the concept of winning and losing.

Posted (edited)

if your kids arent demons you have failed as a father

Bit harsh I would have thought..... :)

Edited by Tall Defence

Posted

Wife is a Cat and gets her nose a little out of joint when there is too much talk of Demons. My method - link having a chocolate milk with Dad to wearing her Dees jumper as a bib! That and get them down to meet Sylvia and Watts - both awesome with the kids.

If the child knows how passionate their parent is it goes a long way.

Someone at the Club needs to commission a kids book so we can get hearts and minds at an early age.

Posted

Lol!

My 4y/o has had no choice. She was shouting "Go He-mans!" at age 2 cause she couldn't say demons. Sounds alright to me.

Posted (edited)

i have already got a little footy jumper, will get the bear when his born and $50 for a baby membership is pretty good, i have already lost my daughter to the cats so there is no way my son will follow anyone but the DEES, I WILL NOT BE DEFEATED

Edited by wattsup
Posted

Wife is a Cat and gets her nose a little out of joint when there is too much talk of Demons. My method - link having a chocolate milk with Dad to wearing her Dees jumper as a bib! That and get them down to meet Sylvia and Watts - both awesome with the kids.

If the child knows how passionate their parent is it goes a long way.

Someone at the Club needs to commission a kids book so we can get hearts and minds at an early age.

i vaguely remember, i was 6or7 at the time, they did brinh out little cartoon kids books for the whole league in the mid 90's...i think the dees one had tingay, schwarz and lyon in it as well as others i cant remember now.

I remember it had the club song, both verses, at the back and i used to get in arguments with adult demon supporters because many didnt know the second verse existed (and i was a bit of a smartass with my know-it-all-ism at the time)

Wonder if they could do an updated re-release.

Posted

I bought my son a membership for his birthday, which coincidentally was on the same day as our win against Essendon. He then spent the next fortnight telling absolutely everyone that the Demons won on his birthday. I reckon this fortunate bit of synchronicity has set the little bloke up for life.

Posted (edited)

I have a mate who had the little Demon guernsey ready to go when his son was born.

Conversely I've heard stories of parents who haven't pushed their kids due to stories of other kids being bullied etc.

Personally I think it's our duty to instill it in the next generations any way possible, cause frankly we need all the help we can get. I would imagine that right now it's a hard sell to an 8-12 year old. Perhaps in a few years time, not so much.

Just dangle the carrot of better days around the corner. Make them a poor sap like the rest of us.

Edited by P_Man
Posted

I will bet you do not have any children.

Right!

Lecture when you have been through the process

Posted

Ive never understood how peoples kids can follow other teams, regardless. Surely at a young age its not about winning. It should be about wanting to be like your parent and bond with them and liking the merchandise they buy you. Ge tin early, before they understand the concept of winning and losing.

Do you have children stranga?

It is not as easy as you think.

How much do you think any 8 year old would have enjoyed going this year?

Compared to his/ her mates who follow the Hawks

Posted

All my kids are little demons..... It's been hard work over the last few years, especially when their favorite players leaves (Scully, Jurrah)..... But I think they are stuck now.....don't know if that's a good thing?

I was brought in by my father, who was brought in by his father...ect...

I've done the same with my kids.....

I love Dees and my kids see that when we go to the footy...... Now they love the Dees....

My family have been Demons for generations..... Hopefully it continues.....

Guest KingDingAling
Posted

My young blokes 2, I dont see him much, but they decked him out in Norf gear.

I nipped that in the bud, they slapped an AVO on me - but at least he is a Demon.

Posted

I have a 2 1/2 year old and a 10 month old so it's a bit early to tell, but they've both had memberships from day one. They both have guernseys, though my son's is now too small so once I know Jack Viney's number I'll get him a new one this summer with Jack's number on the back. Most of my close friends and family are Melbourne supporters so there won't be any treachery from within the inner circle. If they want to go to games, they'll follow Melbourne.

Posted

I have a 2 1/2 year old and a 10 month old so it's a bit early to tell, but they've both had memberships from day one. They both have guernseys, though my son's is now too small so once I know Jack Viney's number I'll get him a new one this summer with Jack's number on the back. Most of my close friends and family are Melbourne supporters so there won't be any treachery from within the inner circle. If they want to go to games, they'll follow Melbourne.

In spite of all of that the best way is for the Dees to start winning more games than they lose.

I lost the battle because the Dees were crap over a 4 -5 year period when it was critical to my daughter.

She went for the Bombers with a number of her mates.

The result is she has seen premierships and many years of winning.

I now find hard to criticize her decision.

In the end she just wanted to be part of a winners group.

Posted

Most of my close friends and family are Melbourne supporters so there won't be any treachery from within the inner circle. If they want to go to games, they'll follow Melbourne.

How'd you manage that? My old man is a Dee supporter and I know of only 2 others. You mean there are more than just a handful out there?

Posted

How'd you manage that? My old man is a Dee supporter and I know of only 2 others. You mean there are more than just a handful out there?

Small clusters Moonshadow

Posted

Grew up in Camberwell! Wife and two young kids - Melbourne. Dad, brother and sister are Melbourne. Both uncles, three of six cousins are Melbourne. Two brothers in law and a sister in law are Melbourne. Three guys I go to games with and have been mates with since primary school (including one who converted me in 1985) as well as the wife of one of them - Melbourne. Including myself, there are nine from this list who have reserved seats and sit together at home games.

Growing up, I just thought this was normal and that Melbourne was one of the best-supported clubs.

Posted

Grew up in Camberwell! Wife and two young kids - Melbourne. Dad, brother and sister are Melbourne. Both uncles, three of six cousins are Melbourne. Two brothers in law and a sister in law are Melbourne. Three guys I go to games with and have been mates with since primary school (including one who converted me in 1985) as well as the wife of one of them - Melbourne. Including myself, there are nine from this list who have reserved seats and sit together at home games.

Growing up, I just thought this was normal and that Melbourne was one of the best-supported clubs.

Must have been some black evening around your place.

I at least get to escape when I get home.