Posted

I think you are spot on rpfc

11 players for the forward line selection certainly shows the development of our list

The coaches have the opportunity of selecting the side 1 to best exploit the opposition, 2 that is on song that day 3 that best suits the development plan (individual and team for that day.

I know/ hope theres more to it than this but boy it seems a great position to be in at the moment

Posted

Jeez hes still young.

Im more concerned about the progress of Blease, Strauss, Gysberts and Tapscott at this point.

Watts should start being judged as a 23-25 year old imo.

Posted

I reserved my judgement on the selection of Neeld as coach & I'm still neither convinced or against his appointment. I've got to say that was an impressive reply to the criticism directed towards Watts. Whenever I have heard Neeld speak he is direct & articulate. I'm starting to warm to the idea of a Neeld era.

Posted

1) Jack is young, still developing and we're impatient because of the #1 Tag.

2) Malthouse has a new career and is looking to make a name for himself, so he's picked a soft target.

3) On the Foxtel coverage they singled out Watts a few times, with replays etc, showing how he was doing the team things. Bustling his body in pack marks etc.

As you were.

Posted (edited)

I think there are some that miss the point on the whole Watts saga. For me it isn't a simple case of "she'll be right". Steps need to be taken to make sure that he becomes the best player he can be. I don't think many can argue that he needs to work on his game.

I have my own ideas, if you don't care stop reading now.

1. Watts has a hyper-awareness to the situation around him. He is distracted and too wary of the players around him, be it it team-mates or opposition. It causes him to lose focus on the footy. Watch his eyes and head as he approaches a contest. If you have a limited focus on the footy you are not going to get where it is or get it in your hands too often. Think Justin Koscitzke, he is the opposite. His awareness can obviously be one of his great strengths, it needs to be honed.

2. When Watts was dropped last year he came back and played some good footy, he flew for his marks and showed intent on the footy most of the time. It shows that he is capable of changing his mind-set but at the moment he has reverted. There needs to be a plan put in place for him to bring his "A" game to every game of footy he plays or we are hindering his "development".

3. He is a kid, forget his draft position. He has not earned his stripes and will not get selected automatically and needs to perform in these pre-season games to be selected in Round 1, just like all the other "kids".

Edited by dandeeman

Posted

I just went on sen and i hate that everyone is so worried about jack he is just a 40 game player he will come good we have seen what he can do its the nab cup round 2 if he keeps playing like this till round 3 or 4 then look at giving him a spell. He has all the tools he just needs his hunger to grow along with his body.

Posted

Absolutely in our best 22 and would be shocked if the coaching panel don't share that view. Watts is a lock for Round 1 (unless injured).

Posted (edited)

It's funny that in the latter half of the 2011 season, there were heaps of articles being written about him saying how much his game had stepped up and how he is looking more like a star.

2 bad PRE SEASON GAMES and now the media are back to how they were before. Bleh.

2. When Watts was dropped last year he came back and played some good footy, he flew for his marks and showed intent on the footy most of the time. It shows that he is capable of changing his mind-set but at the moment he has reverted. There needs to be a plan put in place for him to bring his "A" game to every game of footy he plays or we are hindering his "development".

Watts was never dropped last year, he played every game. Unless you mean when he was made the sub... which isn't being dropped.

Edited by rhaz
Posted

Absolutely in our best 22 and would be shocked if the coaching panel don't share that view. Watts is a lock for Round 1 (unless injured).

Why?

Posted

Why?

Watts is in our best 22 because he does not need 30 pos to have a good impact and when his numbers grow as i know they will he will win games of his own boot

Posted

You'll regret that statement Old Dee .Big Time

I live for the day Biffen

Right now Hurley is so far ahead he cannot hear the band.

Guest Jackie
Posted

Despite being a highly touted No 1 pick he has not yet risen above the level of being a good ordinary player. No matter what he says, I imagine he would be be deeply gutted when legends of the game don't rate him. The ball is in his court now, in his 4th season he has to rise to being better than average. I'am sure he will be given ample opportunities by Neeld but he won't get a free ten year ticket like Trapper got.

Posted

I live for the day Biffen

Right now Hurley is so far ahead he cannot hear the band.

Don't believe the Essendon hype. Hurley will be a good player but has done no more than Jack has to date.

In 2011 Hurley did not once get more than 20 possession and managed more than 5 marks on only 9 occasions.

In 2011 Jack got 20 plus possessions 6 times and managed more than 5 marks 16 times.

All Hurley manages to do it kick a few more goals against bottom 8 teams.

Posted

Watts is in our best 22 because he does not need 30 pos to have a good impact and when his numbers grow as i know they will he will win games of his own boot

Because he is in our best 22

We would all like him to be but he isn't right at this time. He is a 20 year old key position player who needed to show some form in the pre-season to win over the coaching staff, just like all the other young players on the list. At this time I dont think he will have done enough but he has another game to show some form.

There are a number of 19, 20 and 21 year olds in the same boat.

Posted

Despite being a highly touted No 1 pick he has not yet risen above the level of being a good ordinary player. No matter what he says, I imagine he would be be deeply gutted when legends of the game don't rate him. The ball is in his court now, in his 4th season he has to rise to being better than average. I'am sure he will be given ample opportunities by Neeld but he won't get a free ten year ticket like Trapper got.

I think the club would have been happy with his 2011.

2012 hasn't started yet.

He has shown us more to like in his past 20 games, than not to like.

But what do we harp on - is last game in the effing NAB Cup.

You are only as good as your last game, rpfc...

This is a patent falsehood and worthless throwaway - the first person to post it must be banned for a month!

A month, I say!

Posted

Its ok to have your say about what jack needs to do to get better but when fans start to eat there own players like jack for a nab cup game it starts to get to me. He is a 40 game player who was thrown to the wolf's under bailey just because of the pressure to show of our number 1 pick. You dont see cook out there because he is not ready jack has had a hard start as a key forward because he is still growing and learning we all know players like this take time. He has some truely rare football skills when he gets around the ball. Wayne carey might have been a great footy player but his a drop kick off the ground and he should worry about north not going to the goldcoast. I cant stand him anyone who takes there best mates wife to the toilet like him and hits women should not even be on the radio great role model. I cant see why he will not keep getting better as he has been over the last 3 years he will open games up this year and a few media pro's will eat there words just like last year when he showed what he has in the tool shed. Travis cloke at 40 games had 28 goals Jack Watts at 40 games has 33. Is Travis a good key forward?

Posted

Lots to like about what you say BJ

Hope JW keeps his development on and off the field

Neeld and Jack both seem pretty balanced

I hope those footy skills he has displayed increase and I still continue to say he could be our big occassion player

I hope so!