Posted

Extraordinary that some have already dropped their bundle and even gone so far as to claim it a lost year if we don't make the finals. The old adage of one game at a time is truer than we want to think. Any realistic assessment of our progress by a good majority of supporters and any chance for a flag would be three to five years away. If you think of that as three seasons you'll tie yourself up in knots. One week at a time means 20 games per year and over three years 60 games plus NAB games and maybe the occasional final - who knows. Perhaps 70 opportuntites to bring us to the crest of the wave. Many of our young kids will have a good number of games under their belt. If we fall over one week next week is a new opportunity. Last weeks crash was against a heavy weight but we will be on our horse again this week. There is a steep climb ahead of us for at least 70 games. One week at a time is the only way to assess our progress.

Posted

Extraordinary that some have already dropped their bundle and even gone so far as to claim it a lost year if we don't make the finals. The old adage of one game at a time is truer than we want to think. Any realistic assessment of our progress by a good majority of supporters and any chance for a flag would be three to five years away. If you think of that as three seasons you'll tie yourself up in knots. One week at a time means 20 games per year and over three years 60 games plus NAB games and maybe the occasional final - who knows. Perhaps 70 opportuntites to bring us to the crest of the wave. Many of our young kids will have a good number of games under their belt. If we fall over one week next week is a new opportunity. Last weeks crash was against a heavy weight but we will be on our horse again this week. There is a steep climb ahead of us for at least 70 games. One week at a time is the only way to assess our progress.

Can I please borrow your glasses Hr mine have faded a bit

Posted

I found the weekends game to be a kick in the guts and reckoned there was a whiff of 186 in it.

Neeld's mission from day 1 was to make us the hardest team to play against in the AFL. I along with many others bought into that. However all I saw on Saturday was a bunch of witches hats dressed in red and blue.

Yes it's early days and we may eventually get there under the new coaching panel, but I'm now resigned to the fact we'll only win 4 or 5 games this year, and most of them at the G v's interstate sides.

Posted (edited)

There is heaps of upside to be had at the MFC this year. It's far too early to try and quantify it but it's there to be had with the inclusion of a new coaching group, some new tough players and the seeds being sewn for the growth of a culture of continuous improvement.

For some people, it's easier to focus on the negatives because they have passed and are reality (not directed at you old dee) rather than the potential of the changes being implemented at the Club.

Last year was only a lost if we don't take any learnings from it. I for one am pretty certain that this will not be the case.

The foundations are being laid, again, but with more purpose.

Ed: Spelling

Edited by McQueen

Posted

There is heaps of upside to be had at the MFC this year. It's far too early to try and quantify it but it's there to be had with the inclusion of a new coaching group, some new tough players and the seeds being sewn for the growth of a culture of continuous improvement.

For some people, it's easier to focus on the negatives because they have passed and are reality (not directed at you old dee) rather than the potential of the changes being implemented at the Club.

Last year was only a lost if we don't take any learnings from it. I for one am pretty certain that this will not be the case.

The foundations are being laid, again, but with more purpose.

Ed: Spelling

After decades of promises and false dawns I am now firmly in the "believe it when it happens" camp.

Posted

I found the weekends game to be a kick in the guts and reckoned there was a whiff of 186 in it.

Neeld's mission from day 1 was to make us the hardest team to play against in the AFL. I along with many others bought into that. However all I saw on Saturday was a bunch of witches hats dressed in red and blue.

Yes it's early days and we may eventually get there under the new coaching panel, but I'm now resigned to the fact we'll only win 4 or 5 games this year, and most of them at the G v's interstate sides.

With expectations that low at least you're unlikely to be disappointed.

Posted

One of few highlights of the loss was Mark Neeld's press conference.

The days of delivering mediocre performances may not quite be over but I believe the days of our coach accepting mediocrity are well and truly over.

Posted

After decades of promises and false dawns I am now firmly in the "believe it when it happens" camp.

Every year we fall in to two diferent categories, those that think we are going to have another poor year and those that say "don't worry it's only pre season form", or we will be ok in two or three years. I'd like to know how many sets of two to three years we've been through in the last ten.

I'd also like to know how we are going to tell, prior to the start of the year, if this is "ït" because I've booked my holidays to Europe for July/August again and will continue to do so until we have a realistic chance of finals. So can those that are confident we're on the right track and that we only have to wait a bit more please let me know.

I'd be interested to know exactly how long the optimists have been saying that we're only two to three years away, would it be as far back as 2000 that they've been saying this?

Posted

Every year we fall in to two diferent categories, those that think we are going to have another poor year and those that say "don't worry it's only pre season form", or we will be ok in two or three years. I'd like to know how many sets of two to three years we've been through in the last ten.

I'd also like to know how we are going to tell, prior to the start of the year, if this is "ït" because I've booked my holidays to Europe for July/August again and will continue to do so until we have a realistic chance of finals. So can those that are confident we're on the right track and that we only have to wait a bit more please let me know.

I'd be interested to know exactly how long the optimists have been saying that we're only two to three years away, would it be as far back as 2000 that they've been saying this?

1966!

Book the holiday RobbieF you are in no danger of missing any finals in 2012

Posted

The days of delivering mediocre performances may not quite be over but I believe the days of our coach accepting mediocrity are well and truly over.

I am not sure any coach does accept it and I am not sure a press conference is valid basis for assessment.

If MFC does have an ordinary year on the field can we then assume the coach "accepts mediocrity"?

Posted

I am not sure any coach does accept it and I am not sure a press conference is valid basis for assessment.

If MFC does have an ordinary year on the field can we then assume the coach "accepts mediocrity"?

No.

It more likely means the players are not good enough to produce the required result.

Posted

I must agree with this. Neeld handled himself very well for a new coach.

He will sort these "choir boys" out (thanks O.D.) if it is the last thing i ever do....

Posted

Well our rebuild officially started in 2008.

We started cleaning out the old & recruiting the New.

Now we are putting in place the biggest teaching group our footy dept' has ever seen.

The rest is the Future.

So, I make that 4 years, Robbie 'F'. That this major rejig the list has been through, the most thorough. The club off field has been thru a similar Major rejig in the same timeframe & successfully quashed the debts.

Now, we teach the kids of the revolution, the ways of winning.

Posted

Well our rebuild officially started in 2008.

We started cleaning out the old & recruiting the New.

Now we are putting in place the biggest teaching group our footy dept' has ever seen.

The rest is the Future.

So, I make that 4 years, Robbie 'F'. That this major rejig the list has been through, the most thorough. The club off field has been thru a similar Major rejig in the same timeframe & successfully quashed the debts.

Now, we teach the kids of the revolution, the ways of winning.

That's based on the premise that those we've recruited are up to the task, I'm not convinced we've recruited all that well.

I sometimes get the feeling that we've recruited our early picks on hype and our later picks on knowledge and scrutiny.

Posted

120 for round 2 could be conservative O.D.!!

I may need Pethadiene by 5.15PM on that day.

Send it to the Bentleigh Club if it looks ominous.

Posted

No.

It more likely means the players are not good enough to produce the required result.

Agree to a point. Jury is still out on Neeld as we have had a couple of practice games so far. So if you are correct it makes a mockery of Neeld being the first coach to not accept mediocrity. I am not sure Bailey did either. And as you have pointed out its the basically the same list as last year.

Posted

All I was looking for this year was a much smaller gap between our best and worst. While the game on the weekend did worry me at first that we are still lacking the mental strength to get up every week I am calmed by the contested possession count proving our boys were trying (even if they weren't very polished and decision making was poor.) and the response from the coach. I hope now he backs up his comments on the training track and at the selection table.

Posted

I'd be waiting for a couple of months of real game in the actual season before making any judgements on 2012.

Thus far we have lost to GC, beat Brissie, beat Collingwood and lost to Hawthorn, while trying to bed down a new game plan, prepare for Rd 1 and blood inexperienced players (i.e. Troy Davis) . Would have expected to beat GC and lost to the Pies.

Conclusion: data too small and inconsistent to draw any conclusions.

Posted (edited)

There's no changing your outlook OD and I don't really blame you for that. I've not been around as long as you.

This year has a different feel and while I don't predict major success, I'm sure there will be even more hope for the 2013 season after this ones done.

I hope I get to say "I told you so", as opposed to you telling me that.

Edited by McQueen
Posted

No - but I did say that our days of playing mediocre football are not over. Nothing erases the pain of losing but I dont need my pain intensified and exacerbated by a coach (Danners) saying "we didnt come to play" or Bailey taking "positives" out of some the shellackings we had.

What I do believe is that a different approach will be taken by Neeld to the "close enough good enough" attitude that some of players have had. The proof will be in the pudding.