List Analysis by Champion Data's Glenn Luff

It's funny but I really feel like Neeld has come in with a empty jigsaw box- he knows what the end result is but just didn't have the pieces. Slowly but surely it looks like he's finding one by one.

I'm not expecting finals or making outlandish statements but to me every piece written about us now is positive and that is because I think others realise the upward direction the Dees are finally taking.

I think this is quite disrespectful to Dean Bailey. Bailey built the box that Neeld has inherited, and actually left a few pieces in it for Neeld to add to.

I don't think I remember saying they had to right straight away Billy, I was just referring to our midfield strengthening up. Trengove, blease, grimes, , tapscott and co will all mature hopefully plus our picks next year will strengthen our midfield. Think you may have misread it mate. Anyway good times ahead and who's to say we might get another trengove, Dustin Martin or Daniel rich. In a good draft I have full faith in the recruiters.

No, you didn't say straight away HG, but you did say we will get a minimum of 3 guns, maybe 4. There's no certainty that we will get 3 guns, if we can get 1 I'll be satisfied, 2 would be a bonus. As I said, Viney looks like he will be a valuable part of our midfield group, but that's assuming he can play that well against older/bigger bodies. I think he will make the transition.

Morton was a pick 4, I wouldn't think many would say he is a gun. It just shows that, even in stronger drafts, I don't think there's a certain gun outside the top 5. Next year, players from pick 5-25 may become very good players, but there is and always will be players that don't. When yout take in to consideration where our 3 picks will be (low teens), the picture aint as clear.

I think we've gathered enough talent now to take us places, it's up to the coaches now to develop them. Anything we get from now on (for the next couple of years at least) is just topping it up. But one thing is for sure, I'm wanting results from this current group starting 2012, not placing expectation on kids that we draft next year to do it. A premiership comes from blokes who are on our list already, not blokes who aren't.

I think this is quite disrespectful to Dean Bailey. Bailey built the box that Neeld has inherited, and actually left a few pieces in it for Neeld to add to.

No, you didn't say straight away HG, but you did say we will get a minimum of 3 guns, maybe 4. There's no certainty that we will get 3 guns, if we can get 1 I'll be satisfied, 2 would be a bonus. As I said, Viney looks like he will be a valuable part of our midfield group, but that's assuming he can play that well against older/bigger bodies. I think he will make the transition.

Morton was a pick 4, I wouldn't think many would say he is a gun. It just shows that, even in stronger drafts, I don't think there's a certain gun outside the top 5. Next year, players from pick 5-25 may become very good players, but there is and always will be players that don't. When yout take in to consideration where our 3 picks will be (low teens), the picture aint as clear.

I think we've gathered enough talent now to take us places, it's up to the coaches now to develop them. Anything we get from now on (for the next couple of years at least) is just topping it up. But one thing is for sure, I'm wanting results from this current group starting 2012, not placing expectation on kids that we draft next year to do it. A premiership comes from blokes who are on our list already, not blokes who aren't.

I think Neeld is using Baileys pieces, (he has no choice) his box is completely different though, new and he doesnt have all the pieces yet

I think this is quite disrespectful to Dean Bailey. Bailey built the box that Neeld has inherited, and actually left a few pieces in it for Neeld to add too.

Bailey's puzzle was structured in a way that we lost by 186, lost to Richmknd and Port Adelaide and was nearly beaten by Gold Coast.

My understanding is whilst he may still have some pieces it's a whole different situation down there.

Dean Bailey's coaching deserves no respect.

As with all 'blanket' statements - this isn't true.

Frankly, the Bailey didn't equate to much more than draft expliotation but that is not to say that his coaching deserves no respect.

Life is not black and white.

• Author

I think I agree with the "Bailey's coaching deserves no respect" actually. Apart from tank and get games into kids I cant think of anything else positive to say about the bloke besides he was a nice guy - which is nothing to do with coaching. Prendagast did the recruiting not Bailey. Seriously look at where we are as a club and our skill level...I reckon this guy made the players worse not too mention mentally fragile with all the ridiculous moves, gameplan and floggings we had. The guy is a muppet. Dress it up. paint it, throw flowers onto it or whatever you want to analyze it but this is fact.

He did more harm than good and now with a real coach let it all unfold.

Im sure there will be some sooks who carry on about this post but I dont care its the weekend and its beer o'clock!

I think I agree with the "Bailey's coaching deserves no respect" actually. Apart from tank and get games into kids I cant think of anything else positive to say about the bloke besides he was a nice guy - which is nothing to do with coaching. Prendagast did the recruiting not Bailey. Seriously look at where we are as a club and our skill level...I reckon this guy made the players worse not too mention mentally fragile with all the ridiculous moves, gameplan and floggings we had. The guy is a muppet. Dress it up. paint it, throw flowers onto it or whatever you want to analyze it but this is fact.

Im sure there will be some sooks who carry on about this post but I dont care its the weekend and its beer o'clock!

There is a lot of merit in what you say...although in 2008 considering the state of our list i think Bailey was the right choice, as opposed to Kevin Sheedy....But our woeful record at Etihad & west of the Victorian Border is by far the WORST in the AFL...Shite even the Tigers have won over there more than once.

The MFC is becoming a real Footy Club again....the last 4 years were repairs in a way.

There are not too many Dees fans who are happy with the Bailey tenure.

There are plenty of Dees fans who respect Bailey for the decisions he made.

There are some who have 'no respect' for his coaching.

And there are some that realise that one rarely has 'no respect' for anything.

Because in the end...

rodney_dangerfield_no_resp.jpg

...he did get respect.

WYL our record North, West, South or East of the MCG is poor!! :lol: B)

Yes!!...i was being Diplomatic...

The pieces of the jigsaw that Neeld inherited could be pretty good. I suspect that they were being joined incorrectly and the picture was turning out completely wrong. Neeld, with a few extra pieces, hopefully will join them into a wonderful panorama.

I was a Bailey supporter.

I always thouht he would turn it around.

After 2011, its easy to forget that in 2010 we actually played some good footy at times. 2 close games against the pies. The close friday night against the bulldogs and the pink umpires. The absolute belting of Sydney! Even our 2nd game agaisnt the Hawks was really competative until the rain came. It was easy to buy into the fact that we were going places in 2011.

But how could we not be focussing on a game plan in 2011? What happened to the defensive plan? The saddest thing is Bailey focussed on fitness and skills and we are still a long way behind the top teams in this regard.

its easy to slag Bailey now, and will be even more so when Neeld & Co have some on field success.

But i think it would be unfair to compare Neeld Vrs Bailey as single coaches, as Bailey didnt have Misson, Craig and a swag of assistants, and assistants to assistants at his disposal.

Both Neeld and Bailey had previously worked as assistants at clubs who had won flags. It suprises me that Bailey, having been at Port for their 2004 flag didint demand the same types of things that Neeld has. I guess it goes to show that there is no one formula for success?

I think the most telling thing about Bailey was the comment made by Royal; "we are too soft on the players", interesting to see he is the only surviving coach from that era.

Even the posters on Demonland could see that we were not as fit as other teams in the competition; so why couldn't the coaching staff?