Posted

Shane Valenti is Kevin Rudd.

No-one was saying such nice things when he played for us. It's only once he's gone that people think they really liked him all along and were mad to let him go.

How quickly we forget.

We are striving for excellence. Valenti has some excellent attributes. AFL footballer isn't one of them.

He was considered too small and too slow for AFL.

Posted

He can do that because it's a VFL match.

At AFL level he'd get run down every time.

Must have been on a good day, watched bits and pieces of a Port game earlier this year (think it was against Werribee) where he got done for holding the ball 3 times in 15 minutes.

Posted

Just watched the VFL grand final, posters on here were right, Gary Ayers cant coach. Has no hope of any AFL future, cant get the best out of his players. One word in answer to that. Crap!

Watch the game, see the effort he gets see the pressure, hard at the ball and the opposition. a stand alone club week after week playing against aligned clubs with stacked sides.

2011....... Every game a winner. Lets see Malthouse or anybody else do that. Mighty effort by ALL involved.

Hope to see some of the players drafted, some good small forwards there.

Posted

Rudd was a good poli' at thestart til he worked himself into one foot in the ground and the other in the manic room.

He nearly all but burnt out. His sacking has saved him for another day.

Sorry Taxi Tony. But your days are numbered.

Who'll give odds whether numbskull Tony A, is shot down by friendly fire, before, or just after the next election? ;)

Abbot will win the next election easily, but what prey tell has that got to do with drafting Valenti or his football ability?

For that mater what has that got to do with anything football?

Posted

Loved Valenti when he was on our list and was disappointed not to see him play more. His application and ball smarts were fantastic. Was sad to see him get cut especially when others on the list possessed but a fraction of his heart. Unfortunately heart only gets you so far on an AFL list and his lack of size and whatever else they thought he lacked made the decision for them.

Congratulations on your second Liston and good luck with your future footy endeavours shane. Would love to see you get picked up by another club. All the best.

Posted

People said he wasn't up to it when at melbourne. Which may be a fair call but i remember him playing about 8 of the last 10 games of his final year and was in our bests a couple of times. I remember loving his hardness and thought that he was a little stiff. But now you look back and think he was only 21 or 22 at the time. We have players like Morton who are that age that played a lot worse then he did back then. His Clearance work in the GF and all year was first class and is a player that wouldn't look totally out of place on any list

Posted

Just watched the VFL grand final, posters on here were right, Gary Ayers cant coach. Has no hope of any AFL future, cant get the best out of his players. One word in answer to that. Crap!

Watch the game, see the effort he gets see the pressure, hard at the ball and the opposition. a stand alone club week after week playing against aligned clubs with stacked sides.

2011....... Every game a winner. Lets see Malthouse or anybody else do that. Mighty effort by ALL involved.

Hope to see some of the players drafted, some good small forwards there.

The Club should have a look at Patrick Rose - small forward, lovely kick, has been in the system for quite a while now and presents with a mature body. Won the goal kicking this year and really knows how to create space for the bigger forwards.

I think he'll make the transition easily.

We've been crying out for a small forward since Wona's horrible year (no fault of his own) and Maric's inability to make the grade.

• 2 months later...

Posted
I was dissapointed when we delisted him, especially seeing we persist with players like Newton.

And you ain't, as they say, Robertson Caruso on that mate.

I was a great fan of one but not the other.

Posted

Back to the point of the thread I reckon Valenti was hard done by, we dropped him after he played his best game for us and he was certainly better than a few others on the list. I hope he gets picked up but not by Essendon I would hate to have to hate him.

Posted

I've deleted all the politics related posts in this thread. Choko's reference to Rudd was an anecdotal throwaway, please treat it as such and don't use it to hijack footy related threads. Thanks.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.
  • Demonland Forums  

• Match Previews, Reports & Articles  

TRAINING: Wednesday 18th December 2024

It was the final session of 2024 before the Christmas/New Years break and the Demonland Trackwatchers were out in force to bring you the following preseason training observations from Wednesday's session at Gosch's Paddock. DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS TRAINING: Petracca, Oliver, Melksham, Woewodin, Langdon, Rivers, Billings, Sestan, Viney, Fullarton, Adams, Langford, Lever, Petty, Spargo, Fritsch, Bowey, Laurie, Kozzy, Mentha, George, May, Gawn, Turner Tholstrup, Kentfi

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Monday 16th December 2024

Demonland Trackwatchers braved the sweltering heat to bring you their Preseason Training observations from Gosch's Paddock on Monday morning. SCOOP JUNIOR'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS I went down today in what were pretty ordinary conditions - hot and windy. When I got there, they were doing repeat simulations of a stoppage on the wing and then moving the ball inside 50. There seemed to be an emphasis on handballing out of the stoppage, usually there were 3 or 4 handballs to

Demonland |
    Training Reports 1

TRAINING: Friday 13th December 2024

With only a few sessions left before the Christmas break a number of Demonlander Trackwatchers headed down to Gosch's Paddock to bring you their observations from this morning's preseason training session. DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS PLAYERS IN ATTENDANCE: JVR, Salem, McVee, Petracca, Windsor, Viney, Lever, Spargo, Turner, Gawn, Tholstrup, Oliver, Billings, Langdon, Laurie, Bowey, Melksham, Langford, Lindsay, Jefferson, Howes, McAdam, Rivers, TMac, Adams, Hore, Verrall,

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Wednesday 11th December 2024

A few new faces joined our veteran Demonland Trackwatchers on a beautiful morning out at Gosch's Paddock for another Preseason Training Session. BLWNBA'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS I arrived at around 1015 and the squad was already out on the track. The rehab group consisted of XL, McAdam, Melksham, Spargo and Sestan. Lever was also on restricted duties and appeared to be in runners.  The main group was doing end-to-end transition work in a simulated match situation. Ball mov

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Monday 9th December 2024

Once again Demonland Trackwatchers were in attendance at the first preseason training session for the week at Gosch's Paddock to bring you their observations. WAYNE WUSSELL'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Looks like very close to 100% attendance. Kelani is back. Same group in rehab. REHAB: Spargo, Lever, Lindsay, Brown & McAdam. Haven’t laid eyes on Fritsch or AMW yet. Fritsch sighted. One unknown mature standing with Goody. Noticing Nathan Bassett much m

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Friday 6th December 2024

Some veteran Demonland Trackwatchers ventured down to Gosch's Paddock to bring you the following observations from another Preseason Training Session. WAYNE WUSSELL'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Rehab: Lever, Spargo, McAdam, Lindsay, Brown Sinnema is excellent by foot and has a decent vertical leap. Windsor is training with the Defenders. Windsor's run won't be lost playing off half back. In 19 games in 2024 he kicked 8 goals as a winger. I see him getting shots at g

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Wednesday 4th December 2024

A couple of intrepid Demonland Trackwatchers headed down to Gosch's Paddock for the midweek Preseason Training Session to bring you the following observations. Demonland's own Whispering Jack was not in attendance but he kicked off proceedings with the following summary of all the Preseason Training action to date. We’re already a month into the MFC preseason (if you started counting when the younger players in the group began the campaign along with some of the more keen older heads)

Demonland |
    Training Reports 2

BEST OF THE REST by Meggs

Meggs' Review of Melbourne's AFLW Season 9 ... Congratulations first off to the North Melbourne Kangaroos on winning the 2024 AFLW Premiership. Roos Coach Darren Crocker has assembled a team chock-full of competitive and highly skilful players who outclassed the Brisbane Lions in the Grand Final to remain undefeated throughout Season 9. A huge achievement in what was a dominant season by North. For Melbourne fans, the season was unfortunately one of frustration and disappointment

Demonland |
    AFLW Melbourne Demons 3

TRAINING: Monday 2nd December 2024

There were many Demonland Trackwatchers braving the morning heat at Gosch's Paddock today to witness the players go through the annual 2km time trials. DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Max, TMac & Melksham the first ones out on the track.  Runners are on. Guess they will be doing a lot of running.  TRAINING: Max, TMac, Melksham, Woey, Rivers, AMW, May, Sharp, Kolt, Adams, Sparrow, Jefferson, Billings, Petty, chandler, Howes, Lever, Kozzy, Mentha, Fullarton, Sal

Demonland |
    Training Reports 1
  • Tell a friend

Love Demonland? Tell a friend!