Posted

What a deadset scumbag. Seriously. I personally think the punishment did not fit the crime though. How can 4 weeks in the 2s be sufficient enough punishment in this day and age, especially taking into account recent MRP decisions. Both acts happened in the game, and therefore I believe that recially abusing another player is worthy of a much worse punishment than for accidental concussion. And also, wasn't that dipstick in Tassie banned from the ground for good? He should be off for the rest of the year, and definitely not allowed to play in the 2s. He deserves a second chance, especially given the fact that he admitted his idiocy, but that second chance should absolutely not be until next year.

No let him get up early for a 2's game for a while, He should be made to carry the "Stone of Shame" to the ground IMO Stonecutters style.

• Replies 97

Posted

I disagree cause these blokes play footy because the love it, but so be it, he still shouldn't be let back on an AFL ground till next year.

Posted

I just love the way we abhor racial vilification but accept as "freedom of speech" the abuse we hand out to our own players and coaches.

I just don't get it.

I would hope that if any poster ever so much as makes even a slightly racially abusive comment towards a player or another poster, that they are banned for life. And I know they will be.

Besides, it's been a long time since I've seen anyone here abuse a player or coach in a completely unacceptable manner. Generally it's just the same old, 'clueless', 'soft, 'rubbish'. Don't think that even rates on the same scale of racially vilifying someone!

Posted

I disagree cause these blokes play footy because the love it, but so be it, he still shouldn't be let back on an AFL ground till next year.

Not in the 2's they don't....

Posted

I heard he was a [censored] bloke. No this [censored] though.

Wow. Well done on the ban too. I'm not one for massive chest beating on this topic, but in the current climate, I like that they handed it out, and that he took it on the chin.

Posted (edited)

/Places target on back

So. As per the rules Sherman cops his rightful whack. 4 weeks.

MRP says off the play elbow to the head is 1, that a tackle is worth 3, and that a punch to the head ('I was going for the ball' that I was looking at 5-10 metres away) is worth 1.

Stick and stones.. aint what they used to be.

Edited by Trident
Posted

As much as this is bad and i'm glad the ban has been put in effect I do think Sherman did a fantastic thing by coming forward. By the AFL guidelines it is illegal for them to disclose which players were involved to outside sources and therefore if Sherman had remained quiet there is a high possibility it would have been kept under wraps for a long long time.

I hated what he did but I personally have said things in the heat of an AFL match it just saddens me that some peoples abuse has to be based on their colour or religion.

Posted

If I'm not mistaken, he's Ricky Ponting's cousin.

But then again, I guess all Taswegians are cousins! (uh-oh.....is that vilification?!)

Third cousin apparently. By my calculation that means they shared a great-great-grandfather, so hardly close relatives. Apparently David Foster is my third cousin as well. Guess we are all cousins.

Posted

I just love the way we abhor racial vilification but accept as "freedom of speech" the abuse we hand out to our own players and coaches.

I just don't get it.

Over the history of mankind, racial vilification has caused many wars, millions of lives and untold damage to humanity. I don't like the fact that some people used to come on here and bag Cameron Bruce but really, um ... er, I think the latter pales into insignificance by comparison at a number of levels.

Posted

Another thing ... why is Sherman allowed to play in the VFL? Do they tolerate vilification in that competition or something?

Agreed. As I stated earlier, I don't reckon he should be allowed to play anywhere until next year. I don't know what he said, so maybe that had some bearing on it, but definitely shouldn't be allowed to play in the VFL for mine.

Guest Artie Bucco
Posted

I also think it's incredible.

The way he's been playing, he'd have been odds on to spend the next 4 weeks there anyway.

$5K isn't much of a fine for a bloke in his position either.

Fortunately, the real punishment will be the shame and stigma he carries with him for the rest of his life.

Guest lambtotheslaughter
Posted

Justin must have had his reason

Posted

There is no reason or justification. AT ALL!

Guest Artie Bucco
Posted

That mean bully of an 18-year-old first-gamer was giving poor Justin a hard time?

Please... there is no excuse for what Sherman did.

It's a low act.

Posted

WHAT?!

Worst.Post.EVER.

Seriously.

You and I are in agreeance for the second time in 5 minutes Jaded. Maybe we should hold hands and skip off into the sunset :lol:

Posted

You and I are in agreeance for the second time in 5 minutes Jaded. Maybe we should hold hands and skip off into the sunset :lol:

You just need to calm right down please B)

Posted

You should have a look at all the morons trivalising and defending the issue on the hun website. Cretins, morons and brogans.

Posted

Over the history of mankind, racial vilification has caused many wars, millions of lives and untold damage to humanity. I don't like the fact that some people used to come on here and bag Cameron Bruce but really, um ... er, I think the latter pales into insignificance by comparison at a number of levels.

To me abuse is abuse and is unacceptable, whether it be racial, religious or personal.

It's totally unacceptable. I just don't understand why others find one acceptable and the other not.

Posted

To me abuse is abuse and is unacceptable, whether it be racial, religious or personal.

It's totally unacceptable. I just don't understand why others find one acceptable and the other not.

Well it's an intersting point you raise : what you seem to be saying is that personal denigration is a form of social dealing that ought not be encouraged or allowed.

I for one find it difficult to see the error of your ways.

I'm going to go away and think about it.

Posted

Third cousin apparently. By my calculation that means they shared a great-great-grandfather, so hardly close relatives. Apparently David Foster is my third cousin as well. Guess we are all cousins.

Steve Irwin is (was) my fourth cousin. Hated him.

Posted

I didn't realize until this morning that he abused the boy for the ENTIRE match. AND that he was a first game player making his debut in the AFL.

Imagine how the kid and his family must have felt, having their son's debut in the AFL sullied by that moron.

If it was a one-off sledge, that's bad enough and deserved the four weeks. But to have a go at him all day shows that it was much more than just an off-the-cuff piece of stupidity.

Should have got 8 weeks and a $50 grand fine. The AFL needed to make the heaviest statement possible. This crap filters down through the leagues if it's not knocked on the head at the top.