Jordan Gysberts

• Author

heppel is playing great footy for the bombers...but gysberts is a gun. he gets the most out of his body in the game.

I wear the #5 on my back, have since Ox in the mid 90's. I loved the Ox so much I vowed I would love (unconditionally) every Melb player that takes the #5 after, i loved the chook, I love the Gys!

can mckenzie get nominated this week? because possibly i think he will get it but surely mckenzie or gys have it!

i think Mckenzie has played to many games, bit early but the Gys has a look at it

Best game for the MFC by far last night from the Gys.

Absolute Corker, well done young man. I didn't think you were that good until last night (i thought you were just good!!)

Now i know you are one of our guns...keep it up.

Great to see the Ox's number 5 pumping again.

It is widely considered arround the traps in the AFL that we have the worst player development. I think most are right. Hopefully Todd Viney can change this.

What, formulated opinion, Past Tense, up to 3 Years ago and before? Or in the last 3 Years.

IMO we've definately had terrible player development prior to this current administrations life. But I'm not sure about this current player development group.

What I feel comfortable saying is that Us supporters are guilty of being Apethetic and trusting in the Process Will deeliver us success. It hasn't for 50 Years! Us supporters IMO encourage players Into a comfort zone, which leads to soft and cautious football.

I hope we can get tougher on the Players instead of Blaming the string of Coaches who haven't been able to "Crack the Code" of the North! Pedestals covered in Corduroy.

Gysberts was excellent. Our young midfield is pretty exciting!

Too right.

Btw, it's amazing what occurs once our midfield is strengthened..... :rolleyes:

If you have access to vision of the match, watch the lead up to Melksham's snap goal.

Gysberts hands, to cleanly gather the ball and handball it so quickly, took Frawley by such surprise that it hit him on the chest, bounced off and ended up in the bombers hands, trickling out to Melksham's for the goal.

It wasn't that Gysberts fired it at Chip like a rocket, just that it was so clean and quick that he didn't even consider it as a possibility.

Giz's hands are phenomenal.

He was great but I think that's bordering on hyperbole.

The pick up was to be expected and the handball was, if anything, behind Frawley.

Hmmm.

Not the angle on the replay I saw this morning on one of the Footy Shows.

Maybe I was wrong.

Man, Gysberts was amazing. For some reason, it's easy to forget that he's barely played a dozen games. To be averaging something like 20 possessions at this stage in your career is outstanding. Surely he'll get his second nod this week. And probably be in the top few contenders for the grand prize as well...

<shameless plug> And on the topic of Rising Star, it's good to see the award debated in the news week. Based on what I've been reading at Demonland and Demonology after all these years, I think I have a solution

here. </shameless plug>

Man, Gysberts was amazing. For some reason, it's easy to forget that he's barely played a dozen games. To be averaging something like 20 possessions at this stage in your career is outstanding. Surely he'll get his second nod this week. And probably be in the top few contenders for the grand prize as well...

<shameless plug> And on the topic of Rising Star, it's good to see the award debated in the news week. Based on what I've been reading at Demonland and Demonology after all these years, I think I have a solution

here. </shameless plug>

Read your article mate, nice work. Should definitely be limited to players under 21 in their first or second season. Jack Steven's no star but he was going to get one eventually because he's got three years on most of the candidates.

Off-topic: Reminds me, I was planning to write something about Sydney...and Jack Watts. Thanks for reminding me :)

What, formulated opinion, Past Tense, up to 3 Years ago and before? Or in the last 3 Years.

IMO we've definately had terrible player development prior to this current administrations life. But I'm not sure about this current player development group.

What I feel comfortable saying is that Us supporters are guilty of being Apethetic and trusting in the Process Will deeliver us success. It hasn't for 50 Years! Us supporters IMO encourage players Into a comfort zone, which leads to soft and cautious football.

I hope we can get tougher on the Players instead of Blaming the string of Coaches who haven't been able to "Crack the Code" of the North! Pedestals covered in Corduroy.

I don't disagree with you dee-luded as far as our horrible record of player development goes, but how exactly does the Melbourne fan base influence whether a player falls into a comfort zone or not.

Short of hanging over the fence and spitting at the players as they trudge off after another loss in the Richmond supporter tradition, (and we all know how well that has worked for them!!) how do I make it known to the player group that I am not satisfied with their performance.

I have never accepted sub standard performances from any Melbourne team even over the last 3 or 4 years of development hardship we have had to endure. Even kids can give their 100%. Not me, any of my Melbourne supporting mates or the supporters I sit with on game day would swallow non effort. I think the majority of our fan base have moved past the painfully repetitive Stereotype of apathetic, snow going, range rover drivers that gets a run this time every year.

What I do know is that the coaching staff and personell that are installed at any one time are given the responsibility of developing these boys and I would hope number one on thier list would be to make sure these boys give a sh#t and give nothing but 100%. If they cant do this then the rest doesnt matter. Bring in the next coach and off we go again.

We have come close to getting it right too few times since our last premiership and i will keep dreaming and hoping of the day we do. If that makes me apathetic well then steer me in the right direction.