Posted

As usual, we've been assigned an away game to kick off the NAB Cup again this year - Fremantle at Subiaco. I'd like to think we might be able to win a couple of these games so that we can get a chance to go and watch the team in a competitive pre season game on a decent ground.

The early losers of NAB Cup fixtures get shunted around country and interstate venues. The AFL site has an article saying:

"The AFL is finalising the NAB Challenge fixture, with games scheduled in Alice Springs (NT), Blacktown (NSW), Joondalup (WA), Morwell (Vic), Mt Gambier (SA), Narrandera (NSW), North Ballarat (Vic), Southport (Qld) and Yea (Victoria), as well as Elizabeth in outer suburban Adelaide and Casey Fields in outer suburban Melbourne as the competition progresses."

Apart from Casey Fields, I would have little chance of attending so please Dees, go for the wins in the NAB Cup!

Posted (edited)
As usual, we've been assigned an away game to kick off the NAB Cup again this year - Fremantle at Subiaco. I'd like to think we might be able to win a couple of these games so that we can get a chance to go and watch the team in a competitive pre season game on a decent ground.

The early losers of NAB Cup fixtures get shunted around country and interstate venues. The AFL site has an article saying:

"The AFL is finalising the NAB Challenge fixture, with games scheduled in Alice Springs (NT), Blacktown (NSW), Joondalup (WA), Morwell (Vic), Mt Gambier (SA), Narrandera (NSW), North Ballarat (Vic), Southport (Qld) and Yea (Victoria), as well as Elizabeth in outer suburban Adelaide and Casey Fields in outer suburban Melbourne as the competition progresses."

Apart from Casey Fields, I would have little chance of attending so please Dees, go for the wins in the NAB Cup!

Agree, love to win it, get some more cash/ confidence.

Edited by Carn dees

Posted

Yes it would be nice to win a game or two, When all teams are competitive. If it aint NAB Cup i want to see wins in the first 4 weeks of the season.

Give the kids a sniff, that they are good enough.

Guest Scattsgove
Posted

If we beat Freo at Subi, then who/where are we likely to play?

Posted

I would go to casey in a heartbeat to watch the redlegs. But don't think we will beat freo at freo

Posted
I would go to casey in a heartbeat to watch the redlegs. But don't think we will beat freo at freo

If we lose to freo we will get a game at Casey as we can't fly every week. Could someone post how many games we have played in Melbourne in the first round of the pre season comp in the last 10 years.

Posted (edited)

I posted our stats here a few months ago, I'll have a look Redleg.

This was the thread Redleg, though I could only get back to 2003.

Only one of our last 7 first up matches have been "home" matches and only 3 of our last 7 have been in Victoria. (Including this year's "cup")

It'd be good to win this I reckon.

Edited by 45HG16
Posted
If we beat Freo at Subi, then who/where are we likely to play?

The winner of the Geel v North game.

It would be on Sun 28 Feb at Etihad.

Guest Scattsgove
Posted
The winner of the Geel v North game.

It would be on Sun 28 Feb at Etihad.

Thanks for that.

It'd be good to get along to a nab cup game for once and see how our youngsters have progressed. Although we'd most likely play geelong, and get belted :P

Posted

If by chance we lose and if by chance our next game was to be played in Alice Springs I would encourage you all to make the trip.

Traeger Park would be a sea of Red & Blue with one name on it's lips... Jurrah. The frantic screams of excitement from across the ground everytime he neared the ball is something you'd never forget.

Posted
If by chance we lose and if by chance our next game was to be played in Alice Springs I would encourage you all to make the trip.

Traeger Park would be a sea of Red & Blue with one name on it's lips... Jurrah. The frantic screams of excitement from across the ground everytime he neared the ball is something you'd never forget.

Never been to Alice, always wanted to go. That'd be pretty tempting fork, if work permits and we were playing up there.

Posted
I posted our stats here a few months ago, I'll have a look Redleg.

This was the thread Redleg, though I could only get back to 2003.

Only one of our last 7 first up matches have been "home" matches and only 3 of our last 7 have been in Victoria. (Including this year's "cup")

It'd be good to win this I reckon.

Thanks 45. Not bad 1 Melbourne game in last 7 years that most of members/supporters could get to. Wonder how other teams have fared in same period.

Posted

Well I'm on holidays and it's too hot outside, so I've gone through the last 7 years.

It gets a little confusing with teams playing where - but I've included games where teams have played "basically" home games (Brisbane at the Gold Coast, Sydney at Blacktown, Hawthorn at York Park - because of their desire to play many more games there - as home games or away games played at home.)

Adelaide - 4 home games, 2 away games and 1 away game played at home 5-2

Brisbane - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 3 away games and 1 away game played at home 3-4

Carlton - 4 home games, 3 away games 4-3

Collingwood - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 3 away games and 1 away game played at home 3-4

Essendon - 2 home games played away, 2 away games and 3 away games played at home 3-4

Fremantle - 5 homes games, 1 away game and 1 away game played at home 6-1

Geelong - 4 home games, 2 away games and 1 away game played at home 5-2

Hawthorn - 6 home games and 1 away game played at home 7-0

Melbourne - 1 home game and 6 away games 1-6

North Melbourne - 4 home games played away, 1 away games and 2 away games played at home 2-5

Port Adelaide - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 1 away game and 3 away games played at home 5-2

Richmond - 0 home games, 3 away games and 4 away games played at home 4-3

St Kilda - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 2 away games and 2 away games played at home 4-3

West Coast - 4 home games and 3 away games played at home 4-3

Western Bulldogs - 4 home games and 3 home games played away 4-3

Now the stats can be seen a few ways - Dogs' games in Darwin could possibly be called home games along with early St Kilda games in Tassie as well as North/Melbourne games in Canberra but I felt there was not enough footy played generally at these grounds and they were so far from their home that it should be classified as away.

Some analysis:

Western Australian teams have played 1 away game between them.

Richmond have not played a home game, but have played 4 in Melbourne

North have not had a home game in Melbourne but have played 2 all up

Melbourne has had the fewest matches in their home city

Essendon has not had a home match in Melbourne but have played 3 matches all up here

The Dogs have not played an away match in the comp - but 3 of their games have seen them spread across the country (possibly an agreement?)

Posted
Some analysis:

Maybe a square up as they generally travel every 2nd week during the season proper....

Posted
Maybe a square up as they generally travel every 2nd week during the season proper....

I'd say it's simply that they want to start their NAB cup's with a Derby - happening in all but one season.

Posted

MFC is going to smash! freo at freo!

Posted

I'm 90% sure that Alice Springs will host the losers of Adelaide vs Port Adelaide and St Kilda vs Collingwood.

Posted (edited)
Well I'm on holidays and it's too hot outside, so I've gone through the last 7 years.

It gets a little confusing with teams playing where - but I've included games where teams have played "basically" home games (Brisbane at the Gold Coast, Sydney at Blacktown, Hawthorn at York Park - because of their desire to play many more games there - as home games or away games played at home.)

Adelaide - 4 home games, 2 away games and 1 away game played at home 5-2

Brisbane - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 3 away games and 1 away game played at home 3-4

Carlton - 4 home games, 3 away games 4-3

Collingwood - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 3 away games and 1 away game played at home 3-4

Essendon - 2 home games played away, 2 away games and 3 away games played at home 3-4

Fremantle - 5 homes games, 1 away game and 1 away game played at home 6-1

Geelong - 4 home games, 2 away games and 1 away game played at home 5-2

Hawthorn - 6 home games and 1 away game played at home 7-0

Melbourne - 1 home game and 6 away games 1-6

North Melbourne - 4 home games played away, 1 away games and 2 away games played at home 2-5

Port Adelaide - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 1 away game and 3 away games played at home 5-2

Richmond - 0 home games, 3 away games and 4 away games played at home 4-3

St Kilda - 2 home games, 1 home game played away, 2 away games and 2 away games played at home 4-3

Western Bulldogs - 4 home games and 3 home games played away 4-3

Now the stats can be seen a few ways - Dogs' games in Darwin could possibly be called home games along with early St Kilda games in Tassie as well as North/Melbourne games in Canberra but I felt there was not enough footy played generally at these grounds and they were so far from their home that it should be classified as away.

Some analysis:

Richmond have not played a home game, but have played 4 in Melbourne

North have not had a home game in Melbourne but have played 2 all up

Melbourne has had the fewest matches in their home city

Essendon has not had a home match in Melbourne but have played 3 matches all up here

The Dogs have not played an away match in the comp - but 3 of their games have seen them spread across the country (possibly an agreement?)

Thanks and good research 45. It is as I thought when I posed the question. We need to perform better and then demand better for our supporters.

Edited by Redleg

Posted

Shouldn't that be 7-0?

Posted

I really want the Dees to beat the Dockers, we've had such a bad record of late in the nab cup, so hopefully we can field our best side (or close to) and advance to the next round. I'd mainly like them to win so I can see them play the next week at the Dome

Posted

i've just moved to alice and would have a small accident if the dees ended up at traeger park. just around the corner too.