Strauss - Broken Hand

CC said at the draft function he had a slight crack in the hand from punching a footy. Nothing to be too concerned about.

IMO it is not accurate or fair to label a player as injury prone when it's just a series of unlucky, unrelated injuries keeping them out.

agree, Strauss has many years left in his footy life.

IMO it is not accurate or fair to label a player as injury prone when it's just a series of unlucky, unrelated injuries keeping them out.

How's that? It simply means a tendency to have injuries. It's not a value judgement.

Semantics argument, my favourite. :D

When you label a player as "injury prone", you are in my opinion implying that they are predisposed to certain injuries, and I don't think that is true for Strauss. I'd put Moloney, Rivers and Sylvia in that basket. As for Strauss, he's just had a very unlucky stretch, and this should not be indicative of any future 'trends' as far as injuries go.

I know that's probably not what the literal meaning of "injury prone" means, but it's more often than not what people on footy forums mean when they say it.

Did someone mention semantics?

Misfortune is just that. So long as the injury does not leave an underlying weekness, it cannot be claimed that Strauss is injury prone. A small crack in a wrist bone does not a career end.

So maybe he is just accident prone?

That would be a real problem, in that it implies an inappropriate level on ineptitude or clumsiness for an AFL footballer.

What is ology? There is nothing about Strauss on the official AFL or Melbourne websites, so I'm just taking it as rumour until I officially see it somewhere.

Semantics argument, my favourite. :D

When you label a player as "injury prone", you are in my opinion implying that they are predisposed to certain injuries, and I don't think that is true for Strauss. I'd put Moloney, Rivers and Sylvia in that basket. As for Strauss, he's just had a very unlucky stretch, and this should not be indicative of any future 'trends' as far as injuries go.

I know that's probably not what the literal meaning of "injury prone" means, but it's more often than not what people on footy forums mean when they say it.

Its not semantics, your definition is wrong. Injury/Accident prone means having more than the average amount of injuries. This is the case with Strauss.

Its not open to subjectivity mate. If you are trying to change the definition then good luck, but IMO its fair to call a bloke injury prone if he is fit, willing and able, yet hasnt found the footy field.

Its not semantics, your definition is wrong. Injury/Accident prone means having more than the average amount of injuries. This is the case with Strauss.

Its not open to subjectivity mate. If you are trying to change the definition then good luck, but IMO its fair to call a bloke injury prone if he is fit, willing and able, yet hasnt found the footy field.

He's young as well and his body is still developing. Until he finds his true AFL "legs", as with any young bloke, he might be considered "injury prone", but I reckon he will grow out of this phase of his development

Did you find that definition in the dictionary?

What is ology?

It's a magical little place where demons dressed in red lycra run around poking each other with pitchforks. :lol:

Magical ?

Still has Neitz and Haw v Melb, Melb v Foots as last/next games from Rd1 & 2, 2008 on the top banner.

What is ology? There is nothing about Strauss on the official AFL or Melbourne websites, so I'm just taking it as rumour until I officially see it somewhere.

There is another website called Demonology.

For time, and because we are all MFC-obsessed losers, we have shortened the names to Land (for Demonland) and Ology for (Demonology). Aren't we clever?

There is another website called Demonology.

For time, and because we are all MFC-obsessed losers, we have shortened the names to Land (for Demonland) and Ology for (Demonology). Aren't we clever?

I'm sure collingwood supporters could've never come up with that...

Because Collingwood fans aren't good at saving time...?