20 teams.... a possibility for the AFL muses AD

Posted

Well.. am a little surprised this hasnt hit the boards yet..

AFL thinks Big with talk of20 teams ( Herald Sun )

Here we are just coming to grips with the notion of a new team in 2010 and another the year after and already the boffins of the AFL want us to get used to the idea of further expansion. Yes I know, its all probably far too early but then he ( AD ) does like to look at things long term

Who and where would these teams come from. it would surely be a heinous crime should Tassie not get the next franchise... cant wait for the bun fight over which town gets the bragging rights !! Has been mooted that a 3rd WA team might eventuate....cant see it personally...theres just not that many people over there :lol: The only place not represented with a team ( assuming Tassie gets the 19th ) is the NT.. now, we all know theres just a bit of talent knocking around up there :rolleyes:

Would a FNQ team beat them to the punch though .. a team out of Townsville ?? would they then be the Out of Towners ?? ( sorry :rolleyes: ) Could a Canberra team get up ? would one move there or adopt it to round out the national representation ?

how would it all work ?? can it all work ??

If you played each other thats 19 games.. so how do we work out the double ups ?. Do we go to a conference system..two lots of 10 teams, Play within conference twice for 18 games and 4 of the other ( swapping for other 4 every other year, if you follow ) for the normal 22...or some such similar convoluted system. Top 4 in each conference to play off for finals ??

Ol Vlad seems determined to spread the AFL's reach ever further...where does it end ??? :wacko:

or is he just plain old Bonkers ?? :lol:

Going on past logic the next 2 teams will clearly be in heavily populated future AFL heartlands such as New York City and Tokyo. Not worth bothering with London as all the expats there mean that the game is already well enough supported.

The leagues that play there do alright too.

When I played there was some decent talent getting around in London.

Maybe Tassie and New Zealand? It's time the Kiwi's learnt a decent game!

If the competition number gets to 20 I reckon the fixture will be split into two divisions of 10 teams with each team playing each other twice and each division having a seperate ladder. The top 4 teams of each division will play out the finals series.

How the remaining 4 games are played out to get to 22 rounds would be interesting. Each year the composition of the teams in the division changes based on where each team finished the year before. Should this eventuate I think the AFL will be at pains to ensure that no one division is overall stronger than the other because if they go down the VFL Div 1 & Div 2 road it will end the same way - bankruptcy and tears!

Whatever does happen though - it won't be good news for the existing teams who will again lose draft picks and have their list exposed to poachers.

Everytime a new team comes in that premiership dream gets further and further away!

This is probably just AD trying to show the world/NRL that AFL is still in a financially strong position and that we are the dominant sporting code in this country.

Any expansion to 19/20 teams is 10 years off at least. If it was to happen, he's just confirming what we already know: that Tasmania is next in line after Gold Coast and Western Sydney, and that another club would go somewhere other than Melbourne.

It's all dependent on GC17 and WS18 not being total and utter failures.

• Author

Expansion may well be years away but thats exactly his attitude, and in some respects Id concur . You have to look at things early and plan accordingly. I'll go sit over in he corner re GWS but I will concede you have to look at some of these things from a ways back...and then make a run.

Expect the AFL to schedule some NAB games in some 'interesting 'places in coming years

Such as ? Christmas Island ? Broome ?

They've just about exhausted all parts of Australia.

• Author

did I say Australia ?? ;)

• Author

I predict within 5 years NAB games will be held in South Africa, Mid East ( Dubai possibly ) North America( US/Canada) , Ireland and Japan....China not impossible.

There was a NAB cup game in Dubai a couple of years ago (Collingwood vs Adelaide, 2008).

Collingwood was also scheduled to play West Coast in South Africa in this year I think, but it was canceled.

I predict within 5 years that the NAB cup will be gone - or at least unrecognisable.

Do you think there will be some form of a pre-season fixture ?

Or just a few practice matches (with no prizemoney) in certain locations to promote the game, (much like NAB Challenge) before Round 1 starts ?

Edited by High Tower

Or just a few practice matches (with no prizemoney) in certain locations to promote the game, (much like NAB Challenge) before Round 1 starts ?

For the sake of TV rights, the AFL will find some way to put sufficient TV content of AFL football during February to March to maintain/increase the TV rights contract income.

Not sure mate.

Maybe a more regional version. Vic teams play each other, western play western, north play north. Maybe a few praccy matches then some lightning premiership (that was ace!). I just can't see the present format surviving, what form it will take I can't predict with any certainty.

TV Broadcasters will demand some sort of Pre season competition, Not only for ratings but to Fine Tune the years production. (Camera Angles & Placements-New Talent etc)

The current NAB format is too long should be only 2-3 weeks Max.

2 week Break Before Round 1

Not sure mate.

Maybe a more regional version. Vic teams play each other, western play western, north play north. Maybe a few praccy matches then some lightning premiership (that was ace!). I just can't see the present format surviving, what form it will take I can't predict with any certainty.

That would be awesome!

• Author
For the sake of TV rights, the AFL will find some way to put sufficient TV content of AFL football during February to March to maintain/increase the TV rights contract income.

well this may then fall in line with some grand scheme to increase the pool.. More teams might require simply more games. I would concur Rhino that as the AFL sees the golden pot of TV as its bottomless pit of revenue that it needs to provide content. Has to come from somewhere.

A lightning premiership would I agree be incredibly entertaining. But by its nature is over fairly quickly..in terms of days etc so maybe not sufficient hours viewing to feed the telly's hunger.

if TV wants to increase its audience it needs to develop other markets...and get the flow on etc.

Still all this doesnt really answer which teams and where. QLD is growing... it will be one day the biggest Footy state other than Vic....just by shear weight of numbers. If NSW could sustain 2 teams then QLD could do 4 , eventually even 5 ( in 15-20 ) if taking the AFL stance on perseverence to establish market inroads.

food for thought.. pop projections for QLD in nearish future

Projection Population QLD 2031

thats a lot of people

and

Pop projections Australia ( ABS)

SA will not incur particularly significant growth.. WA wil possibly double by 2056.. NSW and Vic to be 10.2 mil and 8.5 for Vic by 2056.

All figures are based on certain assumptions etc and even when taken with salt the potential for market growth in terms of numbers is there.. Market growth in terms of region is another thing.

I read somewhere we're playing a practice game in Shanghai, either early next year or early 2011. I'll try and dig up the article.