Posted

We now have picks: priority, 2, 11 and 18, plus number 1 in the PSD. Not bad eh? It may be with Chook's departure we have more room in the salary cap and can have a red hot go at Burgoyne in the trade period.

However, while I'm realistic enough not to expect miracles in 2010, Bailey now has to ensure his stamp is evident for all to see next year. While I respect Junior, have a man crush on Greeny and believe Bruce has been admirable in his endeavours, I still worry about the lack of senior leadership in and around the club. To me, this will be Bailey's biggest challenge next year and he has to rise to it.

I have said this before, anybody who believes that top draft picks are going to be the panacea for all our ills is kidding themselves. The intangibles of culture and spirit within a team are just as important.

As a footnote, there are some reports this morning that another reason Brock wanted out was the amount of travel from Moonee Ponds, where he lives, to Casey Fields, was just too much. I spoke to Brock in the pre-season and he loved the place, thought it was second to none, in terms of the facility and was excited about Casey, in terms if the club's long-term future. So those reports are crap.

Like some of the 2 to 3 year players, Bailey also has to take the next step in 2010.

Posted
Sorry C84 but I am not persuaded by your generalisations.

Let's get specific.

Excellent post Biff. I'd also like to add that Morton, Martin, Maric, Grimes and McDonald all signed recently with zero fuss and bother. The culture can't be that bad.

Armstrong and Farmer relocated for personal reasons, didn't they? I think Bishop was the same.

Slight nitpick - Armstrong relocated because he was delisted, and West Coast happened to be the club that picked him in the rookie draft the next year.

And Bishop was no great loss.

Posted

No home for 100 years = no culture.

People underestimate the importance of a home. We really don't have one. The MCG is just a ground - our spiritual ground. We need a home.

I foresee more players leaving in the future. There seems to be no sense of belonging at the club. Nothing whatsoever.

Posted

Every single player will leave the club inside 15 years I reckon...

Absolute disgrace.

Brock has gone. The rest is rumour, innuendo, and people with agendas.

My club is doing OK for a team that has won 12 games out of 66 and has finished 14th, 16th, and 16th.

Posted

Noone wants to play for our footy club and everyone that has left has been better off :angry:

Brock was a future leader, fairly sad he's packed up and gone elsewhere. We did well out of the Johnstone trade, but again its pretty sad that someone who won the Bluey Truscott two years earlier got shifted off. Same could be said for Woewodin. Would not blame Brad Green from jumpring ship from this rabble

Posted
Excellent post Biff. I'd also like to add that Morton, Martin, Maric, Grimes and McDonald all signed recently with zero fuss and bother. The culture can't be that bad.

Slight nitpick - Armstrong relocated because he was delisted, and West Coast happened to be the club that picked him in the rookie draft the next year.

Wonder why? Who would pick up McDonald. The others are just young'uns. They'll jump ship once their price rises. Interesting you note Armstrong and Bishop. Bishop played in a flag for Port and was an integral running defender for them. Hard to see how it was 'no loss' when bowed out early that year because of a weak defence.

Posted
Wonder why? Who would pick up McDonald. The others are just young'uns. They'll jump ship once their price rises. Interesting you note Armstrong and Bishop. Bishop played in a flag for Port and was an integral running defender for them. Hard to see how it was 'no loss' when bowed out early that year because of a weak defence.

The reason I mentioned McDonald is that if there was that big an issue, McDonald could've easily said "screw this, I can't work here anymore, I'm retiring". He wouldn't be the first. And I didn't 'note' Bishop or Armstrong, was just responding to a post that did.

Posted
in all honesty, i can understand why this would be an affront to anyone, no matter what the buisness, but i can also understand the clubs pov that players are payed based on other things, not financial contribution to the club.

I honestly think the club realised a good result was to keep him at a reduced rate or to let him go for decent compensation, which we have received.

It may have been Brocks decision, but i think we gave him a nudge in that direction to begin with.

We have smart experienced guys working on this and I trust their judgement and willingness to make the hard decisions.

(Also, does this maybe say something about how highly they rate Blease and/or Strauss? Only so many spots in the midfield...)

Posted
.........It may have been Brocks decision, but i think we gave him a nudge in that direction to begin with. ............

Not to mention the influence of his manager.

Posted (edited)

Both were in their respective club's best 22 during premiership years. The club has lost another ego. If Brock wasn't prepared to dig-in when the chips were down then good luck to him. I only wish the club were as strong when Robertson was playing hardball 2 years ago and Yze & White did in early to mid-2000's. Time the club had blokes on our list who actually want to play for the club and not the pay cheque. Brock was on 400k...my issue with him donating 25k was that he should of donated more as his annual salary clearly didn't reflect his output.

Edited by Daemn
Posted
There is a rot in this club,

we are supposedly building a list and we let our best players leave or we shunt them.

It has been a long time since Brock McLean has been one of our Best Players. That is a cold Hard FACT.

We wanted him to be one of our Best, as did the Club. But it wasn't happening.

When did he last "Impose" his name on a Big Game???

This is not a holiday Camp. I want to win Flags, & Brock is not fit enough to do that....

Posted

Armstrong went to WA to the eagles

I meant Thompson - not sure why I mentioned Arma.

Anyway, Armstrong was delisted so you can't put that down to the 'culture' of the Club making a player 'want out'.

But how many times does this happen to other clubs????

No where near as many as it happens to us.

Doubtful. Haven't we picked up just as many players from other Clubs?

Off the top of my head we've had Vardy, Ingerson, Heffernan, Moorcroft, Ellis, Shanahan, Pickett, Bizzell, White, Holland, Moloney...the list goes on and on.

Both were in their respective club's best 22 during premiership years.

Would he have been in our best 22? Anyway, it's irrelevant to this discussion - he didn't 'want out'.

If it was a bad decision it's down to list management, not a rotten culture.

Bishop played in a flag for Port and was an integral running defender for them. Hard to see how it was 'no loss' when bowd out early that year because of a weak defence.

One, who said he was no loss? Anyway, it's irrelevant to this discussion - he didn't 'want out'.

If it was a bad decision it's down to list management, not a rotten culture.

Posted

Circumstances were kind to Armstrong. He played in a flag due to injuries and from memory suspension. He did little after that and in fact was delisted shortly after.

Posted
I 2nd that.

*cough*

TJ for pick 14.

Worked out bloody well for us, I'd say.

And how many ppl were a few days ago floating Brock as the one they'd trade, because Brock, Beama and Jones made it one too many inside midfielders, but now are crying foul and wondering 'where will it end'?

The sky is not falling.

That's all well and good, but cast your mind back to the last players we took at 14 after trading a big name for the pick? Didn't work out so well.

My point is, what happens if pick 11 is a dud (which it could be in a skinny year?) While Brock goes on to contribute at CFC? I'm not saying it WILL happen, but it could.

Posted (edited)
So you can not answer me then? Just a pathetic bye bye comment.... wow your brains in overdrive.

Only because what you wrote was dribble full stop!!

I'm not being a sook, I'm angry because once again we are losing a talented footballer who had passion for the club, which to me is a massive attribute I want in all MFC players.

If the culture is fine then explain it to me, I am struggling to see what it is.

It's sure as [censored] not loyalty that's for sure.

Edited by demon3165