Melbourne set for huge day against Richmond

"Playing Richmond is a great opportunity in that we see it as a game we can win."

Not wanting to knit-pick but I would like to think we go into every game thinking we can win, regardless of how unlikely the chances are.

And before anyone likens my attitude to Green, Bruce and their "we are still a mathematical chance of reaching the finals". All I am saying is that you play to win every week. End of story...

Other than that I was happy with big Jimma's comments.

Go Dees!!

It does seem like a contradiction Wrecker, but I think he's just being realistic...however I don't believe he should be labelling winning opportunities in the press whilst expressing the need for a constant "winning culture."

I did like this quote though, "As a developing list we probably don't have an enormous amount of difference between our best 18 and our best 30. We don't have the same gap a Carlton may have," Stynes said.

All I am saying is that you play to win every week. End of story...

Other than that I was happy with big Jimma's comments.

Go Dees!!

I think you are nit picking. I think the coaching staff are seeking to do that.

"We may well be rebuilding but it's very important not to lose the drive to win."

Well said Jimmy.

I agree Clint.

I did like this quote though, "As a developing list we probably don't have an enormous amount of difference between our best 18 and our best 30. We don't have the same gap a Carlton may have," Stynes said.

Its a truth 45, thats lost on many supporters.

I would suggest that there is not much gap atm within our top 12 to 15 players. We need some of the younger brigade to build to be A graders and not honest C graders which we have an unhealthy abundance of.

Can we grow A graders with only Brad Green (as he'd be the closest one IMO) as guidance?

"We may well be rebuilding but it's very important not to lose the drive to win."

Well said Jimmy.

Ahh, to be sure to be sure..

He's a class act our Jimma!

"Playing Richmond is a great opportunity in that we see it as a game we can win."

As opposed to the games we don't see as a win?

He is doing everything right at the moment but he has got to learn to keep the honest conversations he has with Bailey to himself or it will let the players off the hook in the games "we don't see we can win."

But it is a good idea to put the pressure on the boys, it'll get them to play with some intent and hopefully we can maintain it and eliminate the extended sleeping periods this week.

Can we grow A graders with only Brad Green (as he'd be the closest one IMO) as guidance?

It alot easier to do develop players within a strong leadership group amongst quality senior players and a good Club culture.

Unfortunately we dont have them.

However, we need to develop these younger players regardless of the challenges.

As opposed to the games we don't see as a win?

He is doing everything right at the moment but he has got to learn to keep the honest conversations he has with Bailey to himself or it will let the players off the hook in the games "we don't see we can win."

But it is a good idea to put the pressure on the boys, it'll get them to play with some intent and hopefully we can maintain it and eliminate the extended sleeping periods this week.

Opportunity. Correct. With 'home games' coming up against Adelaide and Geelong following the Richmond game. It's also a great opportunity to stimulate those who haven't yet purchased a membership, to buy one.

It alot easier to do develop players within a strong leadership group amongst quality senior players and a good Club culture.

Unfortunately we dont have them.

However, we need to develop these younger players regardless of the challenges.

It is indeed something of a conundrum. I can only think this is where we endeavour to utilise a past player mentoring type program. Possily x numers of players are assigned to whatever players etc can be garnered in some sort of wingman type effort. In the same way a personal trainer might take of a small group so could the respective mentor. Not a full time gig by any means but a positive influence I would think..just an idea ;)

bub59, I think we tried this under Danners, didn't we - I thought that Gazza, and frawley and maybe sylvanie were all mentoring 1-2 players. Not sure if something like this is still going.

yep...we had a couple..but might need to revisit this in lieu of having much of current players at the elite level. Now that Neeta isnt playing maybe he could be enticed to do similar etc. As you allude doesnt necessarily need to be past Dee players..just the right types from where-ever..even other sports and walks of life. we need successful and dare I say it charasmtic folk to steer the kids into the right frame of mind etc. So much of anything is between the ears !!

Well said Jimmy.

Lifted my spirits that sentence. That`s what has become among our supporters saying its all about improving.Ummm not its not, its about winning.

Well said Jimmy.

Yes i totally agree. This week is a real chance for one (or more) of our kids to grab a game by the nuts & make a name for themselves "Yes i am an AFL Player & deserve to be here" Would be Great for all of us to sing that song again I do not want to hear "YELLOW & BLACK" at 16:45 on sunday ok!

The only thing the media and the footy show talked about was Richmond. All this game is about Richmond. Everyone is asking who are Richmond playing, oh Melbourne. So do you recken if Richmond lose Terry Wallance will get sacked?. Theres another team playing, AND THATS THE TEAM THAT INVENTED THE RULES AND STARTED THIS GAME. I want every Melbourne supporter on sunday as loud as possiable. I want the dee fans going mental, I want the dee fans cheering with passion, I want the tiger fans to be silent.

I agree. I reckon we could match the amount of Richmond supporters, even in an away game.

It's our biggest chance to win.

At least all the talk is about how bad Richmond are.

I agree. I reckon we could match the amount of Richmond supporters, even in an away game.

It's our biggest chance to win.

At least all the talk is about how bad Richmond are.

Yeah, I hope we do

yep...we had a couple..but might need to revisit this in lieu of having much of current players at the elite level. Now that Neeta isnt playing maybe he could be enticed to do similar etc. As you allude doesnt necessarily need to be past Dee players..just the right types from where-ever..even other sports and walks of life. we need successful and dare I say it charasmtic folk to steer the kids into the right frame of mind etc. So much of anything is between the ears !!

I like this thought thread. What about past players to mentor the younger players or even the mid level players during this time of "rebuilding". It must be hard bringing yourself up week in week out when you are losing every week so bring in players to keep reminding the young kids that their time will come etc etc. Garry Lyon, Neita,Schwarta, A.MCd, Greg Wells etc.

Also last year or a couple of years ago players rang up those members who hadn't renewed their memberships. I must admit I got a call and it was an immediate impetus to renew and also great to talk to the player. Are we doing this again. I know another club is doing it but no harm in us doing it as well.

whats a few phone calls!!!