Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, Lexinator said:

Can you watch the T20 WC anywhere? Can't find it on Kayo.

Amazon/Prime only but they are offering the first month free as a trial

And the final is set for June 30th so if you can be bothered signing up and then immediately cancelling, Lex, go for it!

I've heard Prime have the exclusive rights to the next ODI World Cup and the next Test Championship final so it's a worrying trend (the money grab by sporting bodies) 

Posted
13 hours ago, Macca said:

Amazon/Prime only but they are offering the first month free as a trial

And the final is set for June 30th so if you can be bothered signing up and then immediately cancelling, Lex, go for it!

I've heard Prime have the exclusive rights to the next ODI World Cup and the next Test Championship final so it's a worrying trend (the money grab by sporting bodies) 

So frustrating. I've only gotten Kayo last season to start watch non-televised Dees games. Like you said, just more and more of a money grab now! Thanks for letting me know, @Macca! 😊

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...
Posted

The consequences for England in producing flat wickets for 'bazball' is that the opposition can tee-off on those same decks ... West Indies closed at 5/351 off 84 overs on day 2 of the 2nd Test last night

You have to wonder how the Windies would have fared on the traditional seaming wickets.  Or how the Aussies would have fared last year if we were faced with traditional green-tops

• 5 weeks later...
Posted

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.foxsports.com.au/cricket/love-seeing-him-at-no4-aussie-teammates-call-as-smith-open-to-abandoning-opener-switch/news-story/47edb47db2b6f5c5372f0362d348004c

With the potential talk of Steve Smith returning to the no 4 position, it begs the question what Australia are going to do about their opening slots?

The way I see it, they could either try Head as an opener which I know he's had some success at in the subcontinent. Or the more radical option IMO would be to drop Carey and replace him with Sam Whiteman to both keep and open the batting. That would allow our 4-7 to read Smith, Head, Green, Marsh. The prospect of an opener/keeper is pretty unlikely I know. But didn't Graham Yallop do it with some success back in a previous era?

Posted
13 hours ago, MadAsHell said:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.foxsports.com.au/cricket/love-seeing-him-at-no4-aussie-teammates-call-as-smith-open-to-abandoning-opener-switch/news-story/47edb47db2b6f5c5372f0362d348004c

With the potential talk of Steve Smith returning to the no 4 position, it begs the question what Australia are going to do about their opening slots?

The way I see it, they could either try Head as an opener which I know he's had some success at in the subcontinent. Or the more radical option IMO would be to drop Carey and replace him with Sam Whiteman to both keep and open the batting. That would allow our 4-7 to read Smith, Head, Green, Marsh. The prospect of an opener/keeper is pretty unlikely I know. But didn't Graham Yallop do it with some success back in a previous era?

I can recall Yallop keeping occasionally when injury intervened but keeper/batsman Wayne Phillips played 27 tests for Australia 

He had the gloves most of the time but not always ... and he did open the batting for Australia but again, he didn't always open the batting

I'll ask a mate who might know or someone here might know for sure, TD

And apart from Whiteman, Cameron Bancroft was a specialist keeper who also, of course, is an opening batsman (but he seems to be on the outer with regards to selection) 

Posted
On 29/01/2024 at 18:03, DEE fence said:

@Macca poor Smith for sure he will be ruing that 4th ball, lets not kick him too much while he is down, but bloody hell... I wanted to us to win, fiercely, but we got done fair and square, unlike the footy, where there is a lot more scope for dissent with the rulings, not so with this test. And to me that is Cricket, my religion, my father easily put 10,000 hours into me and my brothers, (for not much result sadly). Play bloody hard, cop the result, but not with a win at all cost mentality. So I care, but happily acknowledge an extraordinary performance, hell even the whinging Poms acknowledge Warne's Ball of the Century. 

I also think we are not as good as we think we are, All cricket teams have guns (talking batters here, not bowlers, our pace attack is fierce), ours frequently go missing and a middle order collapse surprises precisely no-one. Where we rock is fielding, (just quietly I think Cummins should get credit for this along with the coaches), we do the little things well and it is these fine margins that have resulted in recent success. I am also sick of our batters coasting on the back of the best pace attack going around. Hopefully we see some more tinkering with the list.

I am also a bit nostalgic for when the Windies were good, to quote FDR "I ask you to judge me by the enemies I have made." '95 was the series that made Steve Waugh historic. Am sick of playing the Poms who sook about everything, or the Indians with their BS test decks. Give me the Windies, Super Cat, Whispering Death, Master Blaster, Big Bird, Sir Curtly, Walsh, Marshall, and the Prince. If this new crew can find even 50% of the grace and power of those greats, test cricket will be just fine.

And seriously the ACB should bank roll the Windies to visit, the Windies tours made fortunes for the ACB in the 70s80s/90s. 

Sorry to quote myself, but wanted to link it to this article in the Age which I think is a really good step forward.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/australia-drive-multimillion-dollar-fund-to-save-test-cricket-20240822-p5k4ef.html

Posted

White Ball Ashes coming up, keen to atone for that T20 misstep - was definitely looking forward to some banter with foreign mates, if we had carried the Test championship, retained the Ashes, the Limited Overs AND the T20, a quadrella to stand for a long time. I don't feel like the current team gets quite enough love, in some ways they are still operating under the shadow of the Ponting era - Warne, Gilchrist, Hayden, McGrath etc. We are actually still in a very rich vein of form.