Posted

I emailed the club last night just asking for information about the 150 Heroes dinner.

I received a phone call this morning outlining the details of what's happening, so I thought I'd share them with everyone here, as I don't think we're entirely aware of all the details.

There is a large amount of footage collated, similar to what is contained on the TV advertisment I'm sure we've all seen, which will be shown at the dinner. The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra has created the score for the footage, and will also be performing at the dinner.

Interviews will be done with many of the 150 legends in attendance, the interviews conducted by teammates or fellow Melbourne personalities to give a more interesting personal interview.

Many past players will be attending, so it is a great opportunity to meet and mingle with Melbourne greats.

Tickets are $500. If you organise a table of 10, your table will also be allocated one of the 150 legends in attendance or a current listed player.

This is a one off event, nothing will be held like it again, or at least not for a very long time.

I don't think I'll be attending unfortunately. If it were in a couple of years time when I was no longer a Uni student and earning $50k - $60k rather than $10k - $15k I would be there in a heart beat. I guess it's just not to be.

*edit*

just received a call from my contact at the club. there is a new price bracket opened up for the event. $350. this is considered "non-prefferential seating* (which i'm sure at the crown palladium there is no bad seating) and means you won't get a "hero" or current player on your table...

definately thinking about this now...

Posted

As I've said before, I hate the fact I'm going to miss this but I just plainly cannot justify spending $500.

So far very few people on the two sites have put theirs hands up.

A concern.

Posted

Perhaps many of McNamee's 'upmarket' melbourne supporters will be going.

Devastated i can't go. One of those, if it was 400.... maybe not.

Posted

i included in my email that I had a concession 11 membership, hoping he might work out I'm a Uni student and probably can't afford $500, and possibly help me out...

instead he told me that if i get a table of 10 people together for $5000 we'd get a player hosting our table...

Posted

I'm in the same bote as you, vanlo. Uni student that would love to go but can't even consider it with the amount of money i've got, what is their target audience for this event? It's silly to even think that an average member would be willing to pay that amount.

I hope it gets a full turn out, sounds like it'll be a great night.

Posted

I want to go... and I think I will go..... getting it past the keeper may take some work, favours, begging etc....

fingers crossed

Posted

As with every normal 16 game member of MFC, i cannot afford it. Why can't they have these functions aimed at the real members?

Posted

I'm in the same boat as most. I'd love to go, but just can't afford it.

Posted

on radio it was noted that there was a poor response

also, that past players were having their tickets discounted so that they were able to attend..

not sure how reliable this was but sounded fair when mentioning $500 to attend!!

Posted

It simply must be for upmarket.

We as a club struggle to get people to pay 100 bucks for a MEMBERSHIP. Hell, cut that, 40 bucks for MFC/MCC! How in god's name are we expected to get a table of TEN?? And why no discount for ten?

Another thing crossing my mind is that there will be 190(?) legends/players in attendance. Are they expecting at least 190 tables of ten paying $5000? If it does fill out, i hope it shows on our profit margin!

Guest MFC4Life
Posted

It's Staggering. For $200 I'd go, $250 would be the limit. Nothing more than that is warranted.

Posted
It's Staggering. For $200 I'd go, $250 would be the limit. Nothing more than that is warranted.

It is devastating for us all that such an important celebreration is out of reach of more than 90% of diehard MFC members and supporters. As a MFC supporter of over 50 years I would luv to go but simply dont have the money for even one ticket at $500.

Equally disappointing is the lack of another 150th event that Ordinary MFC members can attend. The only event available to the rest of us is the "walk to the G" which is on Queens birthday before the game against the Filth. From Fed square. It at least is for free!

Should be a $50 a head event at the G ($30 for students and $20 for kids) on another day. Could heve held this weekend against Freo for instance when struggling to get over 14,000 to attend and would have reduced the amount MFC has to pay the MCC when low attendances! (perhaps 29 June against Lions, 27 July v. Nth or 16 August against Weagles??? I will suggest to Admin).

Posted
Another thing crossing my mind is that there will be 190(?) legends/players in attendance. Are they expecting at least 190 tables of ten paying $5000? If it does fill out, i hope it shows on our profit margin!

as you can imagine, and as the guy said to me on the phone, a number of the 150 heroes would be "struggling a bit" to be in attendance due to the fact that they would've had to have lived to the age of somewhere between 90 - 170.... plus a lot of the older heroes won't be up to hosting a table, so it would be the younger ones and more prominent listed players you would think...

Posted

Whilst I appreciate the idea of the event.. I find it apallingly needlessly elitist.. I think in the wash up it will have been viewed as counterproductive. It effectively alienates the average punter.

Have no doubt they wil struggle to fill at that price. Apparently already there are 'deals' to even get the heroes themselves to attend.

At maybe 150-200 I might have thought about it.. at 500 they can go jump to be frank !!

Posted

I would give anything to go, however, from my Support'em post, I think this may answer most responses.

Whilst I know every one is bleeding for house hold costs with petrol, food etc, the AFL/MCC has forgotten the fan AGAIN. Look at the cost rise to go to the G. The basic footy record, from $3.50 to $4 (+14%). I have purchased every footy recoprd and kept them all from the 60's. Not now!! Parking, from $6 to $8 (+33%). Apart from all the other cost increases on food and drink!! Now as I said I will always support and go to every game, but I wish I could get those types of increases. On a side note if the season goes to 17 home and away games, does this mean the players get some 30% less, and the costs to games go down by the same. I DONT THINK SO!!!!
Posted

While I can afford it, I will not be going, I will be on annual leave and therefore vacation during that time, and im sorry but I don't think I can justify to the misses why id be getting on a plane back to Melb mid holiday for one night.

Sad but to be honest not sure how relevant this would have been to me, while I respect the greats, at my age, I wouldn't really know much about them.

Posted

i can't believe their charging 500$ per ticket even for our richest supporters the asking price is extremely dear. Has our football department gone completely insane?

Posted

Considering it. At $300 it would be a no-brainer, but $1k for a couple is a bit steep. Not to mention I can't help myself at the auctions they have, could end up an expensive night!

Posted

I agree with many of the above posts. $500 is a shocker.

Imagine if tickets were $100 or $150? So the club doesn't make as much money. Big deal, it'd guarantee a full room without back-pedalling discounts now being offered. This event should be as much about the future of the club as it is about the past.

A fair whack of the die-hard supporters who post on Land and Ology and all other supporters could attend and add enthusiasm and energy to an event that promises some great moments but will be played to an older, more complacent, audience.

This was one opportunity the MFC had to be inclusive with its supporter base, not elitist.

It's the walk to the G for me against the Pies.

Look forward to seeing you there.

Posted

All I can tell people is that this will be a phenomenal event.

Yes, it is ridiculously expensive, but I have no doubt that this event will be the best ever put on by the Melbourne Football Club.

If you can afford it, go.

You will not regret it.

Posted

got the e-mail about it from the club earlier in the week. Will probably be going with my Dad. We are usually not into these types of functions but I reckon this could be a really good night

Posted

There has been considerable debate about the lack of publicity regarding the club's 150th birthday. What I cant believe is the lack of functions the club is hosting.

-Walk to the G on Queens Birthday game (free)

-150th dinner ($500 a head)

I would be very keen to go to the 150th dinner however being a uni studen means the $500 is too much, I simply cant justify spending that much on an event.

Others have said they would be prepared to fork out about $100-$250 which is my limit also.

My solution is to have more events which are targeted to different types of members.

The 150th dinner should be in the price range I outlined. MFC would get less per ticket sold but no doubt you would sell at least twice as many.

I dont have a problem with having an event that charges $500 a head but make it a smaller event which isn't the main event of the 150th celebrations. All it does is alienate the majority of supporters and results in a lot of empty seats when the event should be a sellout.

Correct me if I am wrong but does the club do business lunches? This would be a great opportunity to get supporters togeather to network but would benefit the club greatly.

-Club would make cash out of everyone that turns up

-get supporters involved in the club

-develop ideas and business opportunities for MFC whether it be sponership etc

Posted

very interesting... the bank account could suffer now. any details on it? thanks heaps