• PODCAST LIVE @ 8:30pm    

Call: 03 9016 3666 or Skype: Demonland31
    Click Here for LIVE Chat

Open Stream in
    New Window
        TuneIn    Opens in New Tab
  • PODCAST LIVE @ 8:30pm      

Call: 03 9016 3666 or Skype: Demonland31
    Click Here for LIVE Chat
    If you still want to browse Demonland
    while listening to the Podcast
    choose pop up player below

TuneIn    Opens in New Tab

Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

The Oracle brings you the names of our draft picks

The Oracle

oracle, may i ask why your joining date is this year? are you or are you not the same oracle that has been bringing us predictions since the dawn of time (or at least demonland)?

I am the very same. I did join earlier but couldn't access my account as I moved from my salubrious home in Broadmeadows into an inner suburb. Hope I haven't mislead anyone with the title to this thread but here are the AFL's top 30 draft picks with their draft numbers in front of their names. If you memorise them all then, on draft day, you'll be know who we drafted a millisecond before everyone else :rolleyes:

111528 Ashley Arrowsmith, VIC, 12 April 1989, Medium Midfielder, 188.7cm, 81.5kg:

Well balanced, skilful medium midfielder who is a consistent ball winner. Capped off an excellent season in the TAC Cup with best on ground honours in the Cannons Grand Final victory at the MCG where he gathered 20 possessions and booted four goals. His endurance was a feature at the NAB AFL Draft Camp registering a 13.5 in the beep test. From East Keilor FC.

111661 Steven Browne, WA, 1 February 1989, Small Defender, 179.8cm, 74.7kg:

Small defender / midfielder with clean skills and good ability overhead for a player his size. Made his senior WAFL debut in round 17 with West Perth and was named best on ground in round 18 with 29 disposals and ten marks. Recorded solid results at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp with a 13.8 beep test and 3.00sec 20m sprint.

111484 Tom Collier, Tasmania, 25 March 1989, 192.3cm, 83.7kg.

An extremely versatile player. Capable of playing key position at either end of the ground and has the athleticism to play on ball. Captained Tasmania at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships and received All Australian honours. At the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, Tom recorded strong results in the agility testing and was ranked fourth overall with a time of 8.22 seconds. From Lauderdale FC

112015 Trent Cotchin, VIC, 7 April 1990, 185.1cm, 79.5kg.

A versatile medium midfielder/forward capable of influencing games with his ball winning ability and outstanding disposal. He has an excellent understanding of the game, reads the play well and is a quality decision maker. A penetrating kick, he has rare ball skills on both sides of the body. Dominated with 37 touches in the Knight’s first qualifying final against Gippsland.

112413 Patrick Dangerfield, VIC, 5 April 1990, Medium Midfielder, 186.9cm, 82.8kg.

A dashing medium midfielder or defender who shows distinct ability to win the contested the ball. He is a graduate of the AIS-AFL Academy. Ranked in the top three for both the 30 metre repeat sprints (23.96sec) and the vertical leap (73cm) at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp and was also a top ten ranked performer in the 20m sprint (2.92sec). From Anglesea FC.

113293 Brad Ebert, SA, 2 April 1990, Small Midfielder, 188.2cn, 85.4kg.

Noted for his strong attack on the ball, overhead marking and his versatility. He is a graduate of AIS-AFL Academy and touted as potential leader. Captained South Australia at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships, averaging 22 possessions throughout the carnival and was the only South Australian to earn All Australian honours. Nephew of Russell Ebert and Cousin of Port Adelaide's Brett Ebert. From Henley FC.

111660 David Gourdis, WA, 14 March 1989, Tall Forward, 192.4cm, 88.9kg.

Tall, athletic forward who is strong on the lead. Showed outstanding athletic ability at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp ranking first overall for the 20m sprint (2.83 sec) and in the running vertical jump (101cm). He also ranked in the top 8% in the 6x30m repeat sprints.

111515 Jarrad Grant, VIC, 6 July 1989, Tall Forward, 192.4cm, 76.7kg.

Dangerous key forward with excellent hands both in the air and below his knees. Excellent form in eight games for Dandenong in the TAC Cup where he booted 27 goals, averaging over three per match. Jarrad attended the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp and shone in the 20m sprint with a time of 2.89 seconds – placing him in the top 5%. From Frankston Bombers FC.

112391 Levi Greenwood, SA, 19 February 1989, Medium Defender, 181.2cm, 92.9kg.

Strong, in and under player who is renowned for his uncompromising attack on the ball. Played 11 matches at senior level with Port Adelaide in 2007 averaging 17 possessions. Recorded excellent results in both the repeat 30m sprint (24.22sec) and Vertical Jump (71cm) at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp. From Whyalla FC.

111705 Jack Grimes, VIC, 11 May 1989, Medium Defender, 186.3cm, 81.6kg.

A medium defender/midfielder who is an exceptional reader of the game and very good decision maker. Captain of the Northern Knights TAC Cup Team, Jack averaged over 28 possessions. Possesses excellent endurance and has recorded a beep test of 15.10 with AIS-AFL Academy. Named as an All Australian at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships. From Hurstbridge FC.

112922 Lachlan Henderson, VIC, 14 December 1989, Tall Forward, 195.5cm, 91.5kg.

A tall, key forward prospect with strong hands. Very good on the lead and is exceptionally quick off the mark for a player his size. He displayed impressive endurance at the NAB AFL Draft Camp with a shuttle run result of 13.8. AIS-AFL Academy Graduate. From Geelong College

112547 Chris Kangars, VIC, 1 August 1989, Tall Defender, 193.1cm, 84.9kg.

Tall, athletic defender who has shown encouraging progress at TAC Cup level in 2007. Was a standout at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp at the AIS in Canberra ranking first overall for the 6x30m repeat sprints (23.59sec) and recording top ten results in both the beep test (14.5) and 3km time trial (10min 54sec). From Geelong Amateurs FC

114064 Matthew Kreuzer, VIC, 13 May 1989, Ruckman, 199.5cm, 94kg.

Talented ruck/key forward prospect who possesses outstanding endurance. Won the 2007 Morrish Medal along with the Northern Knights Best and Fairest. An AIS-AFL Academy Graduate, he was selected as an All Australian at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships and deemed Vic Metro's Most Valuable Player. Displayed exceptional endurance at the NAB AFL Draft recording top 10 results in the both the beep test (14.2) and the 3km time trial (10min 51sec). From Bundoora FC.

112202 Addam Maric, VIC, 18 April 1990, Small Forward, 177.9cm, 76.8kg.

An exciting small forward who is extremely smart around goal. At the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships, Addam’s ability around goals and to win contested ball in the midfield earned him All Australian honours. Kicked four goals against Vic Country on the final day of the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships. From Greenvale FC

111643 Chris Masten, WA, 2 May 1989, Small Midfielder, 179.6cm, 77.3kg.

Skilful midfielder renowned for his tireless work ethic and in and under style. He earned All Australian selection at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships after averaging 25 possessions per match and ranking third overall for clearances. Chris is gifted athlete who has enormous running ability, recording a beep test of over 15 with the AIS-AFL Academy.

111527 Ben McEvoy, VIC, 11 July 1989, Ruckman, 200.2cm, 94.6kg.

A rangy, durable ruckman with excellent endurance. Ben took out the Best and Fairest for Grand Finalists the Murray Bushrangers after an impressive season in the 2007 TAC Cup. He averaged 14 hit outs and eight marks per game and led the competition in contested marks. Captained Vic Country at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships and earned All Australian Honours. AIS-AFL Academy graduate. From Dederang-Mt Beauty FC.

114025 Cale Morton, WA, 18 January 1990, Tall Forward, 191.5cm, 78.7kg.

A genuine utility, capable of playing on ball, off a flank or as a key position forward. Noted for his ability to read the play and strong work rate. He was exceptional for Western Australia during the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships averaging 25 possessions and nine marks per game, earning All Australian Honours and the Larke Medal. Recorded a 15.1 beep test result at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp. From Hale FC.

113151 Marlin Motlop, NT, 17 April 1990, Small Forward, 179.3, 75.2kg.

A prolific ball winner who influences the game with his exceptional skills. He is a quality decision maker and possesses a classy sidestep. Won the Alan McLean medal for best player division tow player at the 2006 U16 Championships. Marlon is a graduate of the 2006/07 AIS-AFL Academy which toured South Africa in April. He is the Cousins of Port Adelaide's Daniel Motlop. From Wanderers NTFL.

112931 David Myers, WA, 30 June 1989, Tall Defender, 190.7cm, 86.2kg.

Tall and mobile running defender with a potent left foot. David is a graduate of the 2005/06 AIS-AFL Academy and won the Barassi Medal as the best and fairest player during the Australian U17 squad’s 2006 series against Ireland. His time of 3.01sec for 20m at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp highlighted his impressive speed for 190.7cm defender.

113894 Tony Notte, WA, 15 April 1990, Tall Forward, 194.5cm, 71.5kg.

A lightly built tall forward with excellent hands both in the air and below his knees. He is quick and agile for a player of his size and capable of playing as a key back. Excellent on the lead and a good reader of the play. He is a graduate of the 2006/07 AIS-AFL Academy and was a member of the squad that toured South Africa in April. From Upper Swan FC

112245 Andy Otten, VIC, 15 May 1989, Tall Forward, 191cm, 88.8kg.

A prolific ball winner, he averaged over 26 possessions and six marks per game with the Oakleigh Chargers in 2007 and capped off an outstanding season by taking out the best and fairest award and TAC Cup Team of the Year honours. He recorded strong results at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp ranking in the top 2% for the vertical leap (92cm) and the top 20% for the beep test (14.2).

111645 Rhys Palmer, WA, 13 February 1989, Small Midfielder, 181.4cm, 79.8kg.

He was the leading possession winner at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships averaging 32 per match and was named the undefeated Western Australian teams Most Valuable Player and also earned All Australian Honours. Demonstrated elite endurance at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp at the AIS in Canberra where he ranked fifth overall in the beep test (14.8) and second in the 3km time trial (10min 25sec).

111942 Tayte Pears, WA, 24 March 1990, Tall Defender, 190.1cm, 91.8kg.

Composed and disciplined tall defender who is renowned for his good decision making and excellent use of the ball. Recorded an outstanding 2.92 seconds for the 20m sprint – placing him in the top 10% of players at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp.

113904 Alex Rance, WA, 9 October 1989, Tall Defender, 192.3cm, 87.6kg.

Strong, hard running tall defender noted for his dash off the backline. His father Murray played 97 matches with the Western Bulldogs and West Coast between 1986-1990. Alex was a leading player for rebound 50’s with Western Australia and averaged 17 possessions throughout the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships earning All Australian Honours.

111680 Sam Reid, QLD, 7 November 1989, Medium Midfielder, 187.6cm, 79.1kg.

Midfielder/half back who impresses with his ability to run and carry the ball. A member of the AIS-AFL Academy, Sam was among the Australian teams most valuable players during the squad’s tour of South Africa in April. Well balanced with a good athletic build, Sam is noted for his fearless attack on the ball and ability to read the play. From Zillmere FC

111112 Cyril Rioli, NT, 14 July 1989, Small Forward, 177cm, 78.9kg.

Nephew of AFL greats Michael Long and Maurice Rioli, Cyril is a left footer noted for his polished skills and excellent balance. He attended the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp at the AIS in Canberra and ranked third overall in the repeat 30 metre sprints and also recorded an impressive 2.96 for the 20m sprint. From Scotch College.

112764 Scott Selwood, VIC, 27 March 1990, Medium Defender, 185.1cm, 80.3kg.

A no fuss medium sized player capable of roles in both defence and the midfield. He is noted for his aggressive and fearless attack on the ball and innate ability to read the play. His clean hands are also a feature. An AIS-AFL graduate, he is the brother of AFL players Adam, Troy and Joel. From Sandhurst FC.

111910 Robbie Tarrant, VIC, 25 April 1989, Tall Forward, 195.9cm, 90.1kg.

A tall, powerful forward very much like his brother, Fremantle’s Chris Tarrant. Robbie was very prominent at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp recording 2.99sec for the 20m sprint and 14.2 for the beep test – both impressive results for a man of his size. From Mildura FC.

112453 Patrick Veszpremi, VIC, 1 September 1989, Medium Defender, 181.2cm, 84.8kg.

A strong, versatile player who influences the game with his exceptional ball use. Patrick was a standout for the Knights in their victory in the first qualifying final against Gippsland booting eight goals. He is a graduate of the 2006/07 AIS-AFL Academy program and toured South Africa in April. From St Mary's FC.

112916 Brendan Whitecross, QLD, 25 January 1990, Medium Midfielder, 183.3cm, 79.3kg.

Wins plenty of the ball whether playing in the midfield, forward or defence. Was outstanding at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp where he was third overall in the beep test (14.10), fifth overall in the 20m sprint (2.91), and eighth overall for both agility (8.36) and the repeat 30m sprint (24.25 secs).

for the record i reckon we should draft dangerfield. awesome name. and if we make him captain we could have 'captain dangerfield' on our side. how can we lose with a superhero in the team?

A compelling argument.

There's no-one in the draft with the surname 'underpants', so Captain Dangerfield will have to do.

worth noting sampi has nominated for this draft. he obviously isn't interested in waiting around until the preseason draft to get a gig...

That was always the plan I believe. No need for him to wait given that he was delisted.

I'm more surprised that our other delistees in Ward, Godfrey and Neville did not nominate. I would've thought you'd still nominate even if you thought you had bugger all chance of being picked up. Maybe they're happy with the "career over" outcome.

That was always the plan I believe. No need for him to wait given that he was delisted.

I'm more surprised that our other delistees in Ward, Godfrey and Neville did not nominate. I would've thought you'd still nominate even if you thought you had bugger all chance of being picked up. Maybe they're happy with the "career over" outcome.

well none of them are training with anyone are they? perhaps they'll go psd but i cant see why? maybe they just really did bleed red and blue...

Nasher, It's posible for delisted players to nominate right up until next Wednesday so this isn't the final list of budding draftees.

"Wednesday 21 November 2.00 pm Delisted Player Nominations Close"

111645 Rhys Palmer, WA, 13 February 1989, Small Midfielder, 181.4cm, 79.8kg.

He was the leading possession winner at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships averaging 32 per match and was named the undefeated Western Australian teams Most Valuable Player and also earned All Australian Honours. Demonstrated elite endurance at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp at the AIS in Canberra where he ranked fifth overall in the beep test (14.8) and second in the 3km time trial (10min 25sec).

111942 Tayte Pears, WA, 24 March 1990, Tall Defender, 190.1cm, 91.8kg.

Composed and disciplined tall defender who is renowned for his good decision making and excellent use of the ball. Recorded an outstanding 2.92 seconds for the 20m sprint – placing him in the top 10% of players at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp.

113904 Alex Rance, WA, 9 October 1989, Tall Defender, 192.3cm, 87.6kg.

Strong, hard running tall defender noted for his dash off the backline. His father Murray played 97 matches with the Western Bulldogs and West Coast between 1986-1990. Alex was a leading player for rebound 50’s with Western Australia and averaged 17 possessions throughout the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships earning All Australian Honours.

There they are. One after the other on the offical list.

I see Palmer 4, Rance 14, Pears 21.

I'm sorry guys, but we have an omen here. Time to pack up the discussion and start picking out their jumper numbers and nicknames.

And maybe learn to say nice things about Western Australia. But not too nice.

And maybe learn to say nice things about Western Australia

ROFLMAO.

One of the chopper skits on the 'Ronnie Johns Half Hour' had him giving the weather report. He had the Sydney harbor bridge placed between Victoria and Tassie, so he could pay Neville Bartos a visit. He then tells Perth that there ain't no point giving them a forecast, as the weather would have changed in 3 hours time when they hear the report, he further tells them to keep on moving west into the Indian Ocean.

How true it is.

Guest redandbluethruandthru
There they are. One after the other on the offical list.

I see Palmer 4, Rance 14, Pears 21.

I'm sorry guys, but we have an omen here. Time to pack up the discussion and start picking out their jumper numbers and nicknames.

And maybe learn to say nice things about Western Australia. But not too nice.

i am gunna nickname Palmer "5 daughters" whether he goes to us or not