Posted

Being the dedicated supporters that we are, Coxy and I decided to mosey on down to the Junction oval shortly after 9:30 (too early) this morning to have a look at our beloved Demons begin their pre-season. I'm never one for pre-10:00 wake-ups and Coxy hadn't got to bed until 5:30am the night before, so we were both blurry-eyed, but still keen. Evidently the players didn't share our enthusiasm, as they didn't appear until closer to 10.

The ground was a picture, as you'd expect. A far cry from the concrete slab we played Saintsational on a week and a half ago.

Training311007005.jpg

The first players emerge to begin 2008 (no surprise that Brock and Jonesy were amongst the most eager);

Training311007007.jpg

Mr. Potential, Colin Sylvia showed up a bit late, leading us to roll our eyes and think 'not again', but he took part in the full session;

Training311007012.jpg

Jace Bode evidently sympathises with Coxy and I;

Training311007008.jpg

Dean Bailey was ready to take charge of his first training session...

Training311007010.jpg

...and along with a couple of the new assistants (namely Mark Williams and Kelly O'Donnell) made a feeble attempt at keeping up with the players.

Training311007020.jpg

After a quick warm-up, 2 repeat 1500m runs more than made up for the traditional 3km time-trial that usually heads up pre-season

Training311007017.jpg

Training311007019.jpg

Training311007018.jpg

Jonesy has obviously put his off-season to good use. He looks magnificent and lead the 1500s;

Training311007023.jpg

...followed (not too closely) by Brocky.

Training311007024.jpg

Coxy was unimpressed early, but new boy "Little" John Meesen thoroughly showed us by finishing a clear third in both the 1500m runs;

Training311007022.jpg

Cam Bruce was a notable absentee, though we surmised he is probably still on his honeymoon, having only been married 2 1/2 weeks ago. Aaron Davey and Clint Bartram also kept away from the running part of the training.

Training311007025.jpg

'Train tracks';

Training311007028.jpg

The coaches address the players safely out of earshot;

Training311007031.jpg

Steve Harris has finally spotted us hiding behind our bench. Time to bail!

Training311007014.jpg

I almost forgot. Jaded, I did my best. Hope your 'friend' finds them adequate ;)

Training311007026.jpg

Training311007033.jpg

• Replies 65

Posted

hahaha cheers for putting them up mate

Was good to see Mr Harris getting a feel of the footy lol

Meesen did make me eat my own words, very happy for this to happen though

Jones is a freak...

Posted

Thanks Diablo... finally a decent picture I can use (and yes, it really is for my friend :P).

Jonesy and Brocky leading the pack, is there a better way to start the pre-season?

Posted

I hope they lock Rivers in the gym and throw away the key.

Gee Meesen's a big lad.

Did Beamer and/or Yze train?

Great work guys, keep it up. I'm stoked about the cricket season, but I'm already missing footy :( .

Posted
Meesen looks massive for a 21 year old.

He looks like a good prospect, nice height, & clear 3rd in the 1500s.

Only problem I could see was Jonesy has no one anywhere close enough to push him - he looked like he was in a canter!

Most certainly DB wont challenge!

Other observations - very nice to see full squad (other than Cam B) and no sign of any one on light duties!

Also Dunny looks to have beefed up a bit

Posted
Did Beamer and/or Yze train?

Both trained, though I think they did easy sprints rather than the 1500s. There were a few other players who did the same, including Neitz and Rivers. They all looked to be moving fine though and I couldn't see that they were limited in any real sense. Everybody took part in the kicking and handballing drills.

Posted
Thanks Diablo... finally a decent picture I can use (and yes, it really is for my friend :P).

Jonesy and Brocky leading the pack, is there a better way to start the pre-season?

Yeah If Sylvia was up with them...

Posted

I think Brock and Jones are both very unique in the way that they go about their footy.

Sylvia doesn't seem to have the same sort of application, but than who does?

I can't think of too many players who would go for a run on the Great Wall of China while they're on holidays.

We're blessed and lucky to have these two and the future is indeed bright when you consider that they will be leading this club for the next 10 years.

Posted

Dear Diablo and Coxy,

That was great work but as your coaches Redleg and I would prefer to see you on the other side of the fence training your butts off in anticipation of our campaign to win back the Big Carl trophy? :lol:

Cheers,

WJ

Posted
Dear Diablo and Coxy,

That was great work but as your coaches Redleg and I would prefer to see you on the other side of the fence training your butts off in anticipation of our campaign to win back the Big Carl trophy? :lol:

Cheers,

WJ

If you look really hard WJ, you might see us in the 4th last photo, the coaches address. We're at the back somewhere... ;)

Posted

very impressive work coxy/diablo

jones and brock get me very excited

meesen looks a very good size, and obviously very athletic

cant wait for Round 1 already

Posted

Yeah well done guys... getting a head start on the poster of the year awards for next year.

Interesting to see Meesen going so hard for a big bloke. Maybe trying to make a good impression at a new club with new people? Whether or not that's the case it's a good sign...

And by god what's going on with Jones? I don't remember knowing anyone that size at 19.

Posted

I like the look of the new Reebok training gear, however they could have found a better location for the new symbol than slapping it right in the middle... Looks out of place.

Posted
Good to see Carroll has another disgusting harircut! My god!

Yep, you think it can't get worse... and then... it does!

No wonder people wanted to hit him while he was in Europe. The stylish Europeans probably found his 'haircut' extremely offensive, or maybe they were anti-fur activists who mistook his hair for a dead animal?

Posted

I just love the look of Dean Bailey. He looks like he'd be so funny and witty but then he'd have this psycho, cracking the whip side to him.

Can't wait to get the chance to meet him/hear him at a club function next year.

Good to see Jeff White's fallen victim to the traditional Demon hairstyle of blonde highlights. :wacko:

Diablo/Coxy, how did Holland look post-arm injury?

Posted
Diablo/Coxy, how did Holland look post-arm injury?

He had his finger in some protective looking thing and only really did the 1500's, when the others were doing handballing, he had an assistant coach marking the ball for him, which he would then kick to PJ...

Posted

Damn, that Meesen really does look big. I mean, this is a guy you have to scroll down to see all of!

Interesting about Holland - you'd think that assistant coach marking the ball for him could have been replaced by an all-too-eager volunteer. Bring a couple of Sandy Dragons in to help out, they'll love it. Hell, we could get a whole program going, where local under-19's kids come along to help out with a training session and get some tips along the way.

Final thought, Greeny looks pretty firm in the pictures (and, admittedly, also a little constipated - that tightening of the sphincter is proving to be a problem) considering they're just back from the break, how did he go in the 1500s?

Posted

I can't believe it took me this long to notice....

In the picture just before they're about to take off where they're all about to start their wristwatches, is that Shane Neaves at the front?

Perhaps a chance of being selected again with a lte pick? Though that would defy logic...

In the same photo, just behind DB, is that Josh Mahoney? He looks young enough to kit up...

Also, I have a feeling that's Bartram in the main group shot, roughly nine from the right holding the footy in front of his crotch. It's a LONG way away, but still... I think he's also the one about to kick it to Davey in the middle.