KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Quarter Time Casey 3.6.34 lead Coburg 0.2.2 Goals Edwards Munro Schache Disposals Dunstan 8 Hibberd 7 Edwards 6 Harmes Moniz-Wakefield 5 1 1 Quote
Trisul 674 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 The old live mic during the break. Fixed with 1m 35sec of the break remaining :D 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 Grundy getting plenty of chances, but his goal kicking is classic Melbourne. 1 1 Quote
The end is nigh 447 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 This Grundy kid looks pretty well built. If he can work on his leading patterns and goal kicking, he’s a chance to get a run in the seniors 4 Quote
Diamond Tim 291 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 Liking Grundy"s movement in the fwd's Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 2 minutes ago, Diamond Tim said: Liking Grundy"s movement in the fwd's Let’s remember that Coburg are a terrible team. But I like his attitude. Getting involved and taken some nice marks. The forwardline for Casey is so open. Our AFL forwards would die for this much space. 1 Quote
Go the Biff 3,474 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 12 minutes ago, hells bells said: Duursma is going to be a gun. He's certainly passing the audition so far Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Goal to George Grey 31 - 2 1 Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Coburg scores it’s first goal 8 - 31. 1 Quote
Sydney_Demon 1,175 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 12 hours ago, Big Col said: I hate the way the VFL has been merged with the Reserves. Tomorrow I get to watch the Demons Reserves (aka Casey) play a torpedo punt* from my home. But I'll feel like a goddamn traitor when my Coburg drinking buddies see me in red and blue. Any other week I support the Lions. Coburg Lions are really struggling this year. It's hard to compete against AFL clubs and professional athletes. All Demon fans going to Coburg, please eat as many snags and chips as you can, and drink the Coburg Lager. Help keep the Lions viable. * I'm probably talking 5 x Malcolm Blight torps if I'm honest My understanding was that the standalone VFL Clubs have a substantially higher salary cap than the AFL-affiliated Clubs which meant that theoreiically they should have a better chance of attracting high level talent that is not on AFL lists. Certainly Werribee are very successful this year which I'm assuming is partly because of that. Having said that, is there any funding of the standalone clubs by the AFL? I assume it depends on whether a club is well enough resourced to use their full salary cap? The standalone clubs ladder positions currently are: Werribee 2nd, Williamstown 7th, Southport 14th (but runners up last year), Port Melbourne 15th, Frankston 18th, Northern Bullants 20th, Coburg 21st (bottom). A mixed bag but generally struggling. 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 If Schache could be this good at AFL level we’d be laughing. Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Spargo goals after a nice pass from Zane Duursma. Casey lead by 5 goals. 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 (edited) Spargo too good for his level. Hibbo could play blind and be too good for this level. Grundy getting involved. Schache taking the literal [censored] at this level. Verrell looks good. I see potential. Edited July 22, 2023 by Jaded No More 2 Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Josh Schache kicks his 2nd - his 100th at this level. 44 - 9. 1 Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 Excellent work by Grundy. Crashes a pack at CHF and roves his own work, then a quick dish off ending up with the Shack directly in front. That's his bag. If he can break packs and follow up quickly it's the best of both worlds for him. 5 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 Just now, Chook said: Excellent work by Grundy. Crashes a pack at CHF and roves his own work, then a quick dish off ending up with the Shack directly in front. That's his bag. If he can break packs and follow up quickly it's the best of both worlds for him. I hope they keep playing him high half forward and push Schache deeper. That would suit him and us better. Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Nice long goal in reply for Coburg. Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: Spargo too good for his level. Hibbo could play blind and be too good for this level. Grundy getting involved. Schache taking the literal [censored] at this level. Verrell looks good. I see potential. Harmes playing well too. I love his link up play, though I reckon Woewodin might have stolen his spot. Edited July 22, 2023 by Chook 1 Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Coburg make it 2 in a row to cut the margin back to 22 points. 1 Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Jefferson clunks it in front of goal and kicks truly. 50 - 22 1 Quote
defuture15 902 Posted July 22, 2023 Posted July 22, 2023 If the goal of our forwards in the ones is to bring the ball to ground then i dont see an issue with Grundy playing forward. He has taken marks and kicked a few goals at the level. 1 Quote
KC from Casey 7,211 Posted July 22, 2023 Author Posted July 22, 2023 Grundy on the right foot from a ruck duel. Goal! 1 Quote