Posted

Glass half full view - well, a bit more than half full, I reckon, compared with Harriet Cordner's assessment on the club website anyway:

The goal kicking was a mixture of MF's assessment and a bit of rushing, plus (am I imagining it?) the women haven't yet picked up the nuance of 'kicking it around the corner'? Set shot kicking was pretty good. Also the Tassie Kangas scored 2 flukish checksides out of packs, an over-the-back to 'Mo', and 'on the break' more often than not. HC's assessment of lapses from the game plan ring true in this latter. So the tale really was in the tape of the 14 scoring shots to 11.

MFC impressive with some fast move and receives forward of the ball, notably in the final Q. Some strong marking, too. I think HC's assessment that the game has gone up a notch is right on - kicking pretty good, play-on, overlap and speed impressive, attack at the ball and tackling fierce as from the beginning but happening more often. Can't name names, sorry - not familiar with them (yet?) and the Fields are hard to see across, particularly with these old eyes!

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Glass half full view - well, a bit more than half full, I reckon, compared with Harriet Cordner's assessment on the club website anyway:

The goal kicking was a mixture of MF's assessment and a bit of rushing, plus (am I imagining it?) the women haven't yet picked up the nuance of 'kicking it around the corner'? Set shot kicking was pretty good. Also the Tassie Kangas scored 2 flukish checksides out of packs, an over-the-back to 'Mo', and 'on the break' more often than not. HC's assessment of lapses from the game plan ring true in this latter. So the tale really was in the tape of the 14 scoring shots to 11.

MFC impressive with some fast move and receives forward of the ball, notably in the final Q. Some strong marking, too. I think HC's assessment that the game has gone up a notch is right on - kicking pretty good, play-on, overlap and speed impressive, attack at the ball and tackling fierce as from the beginning but happening more often. Can't name names, sorry - not familiar with them (yet?) and the Fields are hard to see across, particularly with these old eyes!

It would need to have improved because the standard has been crap so far.

Posted
On 1/21/2019 at 11:04 AM, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Thanks for your report. I wasn't able to make the game so good to hear from someone who was there. Am hoping to get along to training again before the season starts.

Glad to hear our set-shot kicking was okay... the numbers of points is concerning, though as always it's a matter of once we start converting properly - watch out! It's been that way for the past 2 seasons, though; we tend to score through the weight of numbers of opportunities rather than great conversion. Hopefully it comes together when the real stuff starts.

Posted

Shame there was no match report on the MFC website! Not good enough! ?

Posted

It is really disappointing that the club can't keep its members informed on events such as this. Was the game promoted at all? A decent match report is also not too much to ask for. Hopefully the standard of coverage lifts before the season commences. 

Thank you as always to members who report impartially on training sessions and practice matches.

Posted (edited)

Andy, Meggs and son were there on Saturday. Weather, low 20’s with a gentle south westerly breeze favouring the Northern/Clyde end.  Circling the ground I felt spectators were mostly players’ families and friends but a few diehards were there too ?

The match began as an even affair with the Kangaroos kicking to the northern ‘scoring’ end and jagging the first goal. Demons had some good clean H1 passages showcasing the skills of Paxman, O’Dea, Hore and the impressive Lily Mithen.  There was plenty of attack on the ball carrier by both teams causing turnovers and often untidy football but also fast moving passages with good clean foot skills, timed leads and strong marking by both sides.

In Q2 Hore goaled nicely and new Alice Springs draftee, Jordann Hickey, marked 25 metres out in front and kicked a neat goal. She reminds me of the delisted Mifsud and seemed to find the standard a step up from NT.  Demons ruckman Pearce limped off during Q2 with a knee and the Physio worked hard to get her back on.

HT score Dees 2.3.15 to Roos 1.3.8.

From the outset of Q3 the Roos ruckwoman was Gawn-like with her taps.   Led by the outstanding Ash Riddell the Roos dominated clearances and 6 unanswered goals ensued.  The Dees struggled to gain any momentum and were pressured into ineffective possessions and missed a number of gettable opportunities including one shank right, a dolly from Newman 10 metres in front. 

Q4 began brightly with the classy Kate H marking and converting a goal from 30 metres in front but then missed a second from a similar spot later in the Q. Co-Captain Scott who was noticeably vocal all day goaled but the Roos also kicked 2 Q4 goals and won the practice match comfortably 9.2. 56 to 4.10.34.

For the Dees, Mithen, Hore, O’Dea and Paxman stood out. CHB Downie was kept busy and exuded effort and code-hoppers FF Cunningham and goal-sneak Newman showed plenty of goalscoring potential. We loved the endeavour of Emonson, Jacobssen and particularly Zanker. Lampard has Sam Blease pace and style while Cordner was serviceable and gave a media interview afterwards.  We didn’t notice the other new draft recruits who could have been in a small group of players doing training exercises at the breaks.

Women’s footy is not being embraced by many of the traditionalists but the skills and fitness levels are definitely improving.  However there are valid industry concerns about the pace of expansion (now 10 teams) and the drain on the available talent pool.

Looking at the season ahead, the Dees will miss the inspirational on-field leadership of Captain Pearce, a backline general in Hickey (still recovering from her ACL) and the raw aggression and finishing skills of Rocky C (who just got rubbed out for Rounds 1 and 2 of 2019!). The Roos have recruited well with Riddell, Mo Hope and Emma King and will be very competitive in 2019 and they have ex Demon and Taswegian Humphreys who was a solid 4 quarter contributor for them.

The Demons under the leadership of senior coach Mick Stinear, assistants former Demon Pat McKenna (backs), Sam Radford (midfield) and Peter Mercoulia (forward), as well as development coaches Jane Lange, Jon Stinear and Justin Crough will no doubt be getting their charges well prepared for the season opener at Casey Fields against Fremantle on Sunday 3 February at 3:05 pm.

We’ll be there. Go Dees!

Edited by Meggs

Posted

Great report Meggs, love your work. There's going to be a lot of focus on the absence of Daisy but I agree the loss of Hickey and Rocky will be just as impactful. I'm looking forward to seeing the new batch as well as the continued progression of the likes of Hore, Mithen and Zanker.