View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Ultimate Footy - Norm Smith League

What do you think snomeD? Evenly poised? I think I'd prefer to be you at the moment. But not by a large amount.

I follow your post. I think the beauty of this is that EVERYTHING is adaptable. And we also don't have to worry about keeping it "traditional" because there's no such thing really in UF. At year's end, I anticipate people will float the idea of keeping more than the four. I also reckon ANY idea is possible to float. I think there's some sense in your idea of having 2 first round and no second round.... but I think there's more to it than just adapting the draft to keep people interested:

Firstly, we had no dropoffs this season. It's reasonable to suggest NO-ONE is gonna get bored enough to NOT want to go straight into it the next season to reinstall their pride. If we DO lose 2-3 guys from UF from year to year, a suggestion was that any replacement players (from Robbie Flower League or elsewhere) get to pick from the outgoing players' list as to who he wants to keep. So they'll likely have 4 big names there to keep anyway. An alternative would be to offer any new player the first 4 picks in the draft, to get those big names in one fell swoop, after which the draft order resumes as usual. I think one thing you're missing here is that the whole REASON the keeper league was instituted was precisely so players who were out of luck at the start of the season could trade for injured stars, or young players they rate highly, safe in the knowledge their top 4 keepers would be good for the next year. Efectively trading away their chances this year to have a big chance next year. What I think we'll find is that the guys who you say are some chance of "losing interest" are actually the big traders... because they're in it for 2013...

But yeah, you're right, EVERYTHING is adaptable... and I'd like to see that theory continue every year... adapting it for the wants of the 18 league players (democratically of course). We can all assist JA in this way by continuing the opinion sharing. He's usually 2-3 steps ahead of the groupthink on here (eg. the new token drafting system he put in this year), but he's been known to have been surprised by one or two suggestions in the past.

Edited by Dappa Dan

Thought I was looking ok until Jack Lives here's two appointed captains for the night stepped up in Lewis and Pendlebury..Pendles was everywhere...

Got my nose in front of snomeD here. Despite Thompson, Bennell, Jetta all having big games. A fair few UF thrashings this first week.

Not a whole lot of smack talk happening this year?

Robbo's assessment :

$51 Wacko_Jacko - This team could dominate one week and be absolutely pantsed the next.

I guess i had a domination week... Apparently snomeD is going get to a walkover this week! Pfft I'll take a good whack of that $51 please B)

Lost by one flipping tackle! Bloody crameri all he needed to do was tackle someone

Robbo's assessment :

$51 Wacko_Jacko - This team could dominate one week and be absolutely pantsed the next.

I guess i had a domination week... Apparently snomeD is going get to a walkover this week! Pfft I'll take a good whack of that $51 please B)

I think I would also take a little of the $51, however the two new chums look very good to me.Bad luck for OMR with Scarlett's suspension is bad news whilst he is away.

Edited by jayceebee31

the two new chums look very good to me.

I know them. Last time I saw them they were both huddled in the corner, shaking like frightened sparrows...

Lightweights. Norm Smith league will teach them both a thing or two about UF.

Got undercut on a move on Ted Richards...... Going down when we play JCB! I now understand how the waivers work! GRRR

Good to see a flurry of moves after round 1 - multiple signings and delistings all over the comp

• Author

G'day all,

Just checking in from the USA

team OMR Stoked to have opened the account in round 1.

Looks like it was a close encounter DL7, well played but no cigar this time.

Good to see you are away on the positive side of the ledger also JCB

Just caught up with the Scarlett suspension - looks like it is over to Phil Davis for the next 3 weeks.

Now what the hell happened to The Demons against Brisbane?

Edited by Old Man Rivers

G'day all,

Just checking in from the USA

team OMR Stoked to have opened the account in round 1.

Looks like it was a close encounter DL7, well played but no cigar this time.

Good to see you are away on the positive side of the ledger also JCB

Just caught up with the Scarlett suspension - looks like it is over to Phil Davis for the next 3 weeks.

Now what the hell happened to The Demons against Brisbane?

Was an excellent game OMR. I thought I had you but in truth the correct man did the job. Butcher had a stinker and it just cost me in the last game.

In regards to the Melbourne game there was a great saying that stipulates 'if you don't want to know, dont ask'. This is a game where you do not want to know.

Did you guys know that Ryder has a projected rating of 67 has while Gray's projected is 56?

A year late. :)

I know them. Last time I saw them they were both huddled in the corner, shaking like frightened sparrows...

JA stated they are are members of your footy family. Please respect they have great teams and the ones to beat.

Got undercut on a move on Ted Richards...... Going down when we play JCB! I now understand how the waivers work! GRRR

Good to see a flurry of moves after round 1 - multiple signings and delistings all over the comp

Everybody is trade able. Give me an offer.One of your defenders may be worthwhile.

Get on Range Rover at $70.00 to beat Watts Cook 'n this weekend! Likely 'ins' - Griffen and O'Keefe.

Also ... Liam Jurrah is on the trading block. I'm after a decent mid or possibly a midfield upgrade.

Edited by Range Rover

i forgive... but i don't forget.

Round 6 chump...

Round 6.

JA stated they are are members of your footy family. Please respect they have great teams and the ones to beat.

I respect that they're both nancies...

i forgive... but i don't forget.

Round 6 chump...

Round 6.

Look forward to it. I tremble in fear at the might of Will "[censored]" Minson. :)

I respect that they're both nancies...

Look forward to it. I tremble in fear at the might of Will "[censored]" Minson. :)

Please play Ashton Hams against me... please?

I need a laugh.

Couch in against the Tigers surely?

Bloody Neeld - not sure about this guy...

Will bounce back this week, after my one tackle loss to eth, with a big win over jack attack!

Looking like back to back wins for Jacko. SnomeD put up a good fight ( and is leading ATM!), however even on marks, 5 less handballs should be comfortably made up, could even sneak past on tackles (6 behind) and even kicks (44 behind) if I'm lucky. Mackie, Rioli and Chapman still to play for Wacko, snomeD players sitting in the rooms waiting