Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Ultimate Footy - Norm Smith League

Old Man Rivers

Gday Demon army - what is this Ultimate Footy? Looks interesting.

I am pretty excited about your mobs prospects this year with Neeld at the helm... can't wait to see you blokes make some hay

Wait a tic. I think you're allowed to sign/delist as much as you like before round 1. At least that's how it was last year. It's just that waivers still apply... Do I have that right?

I've just had my first waiver cleared and it very clearly has stated I've used one of my trades for the year. JA is there anything we can do about this or no..

I think you can trade as many times as you want DL7, you're only allowed up to 30 signings.

Ie. you've had one signing (Weedon) -which represents 1 in the moves column. And you're currently involved in a trade with Robbo.

I think you can trade as many times as you want DL7, you're only allowed up to 30 signings.

Ie. you've had one signing (Weedon) -which represents 1 in the moves column. And you're currently involved in a trade with Robbo.

Correct,

Trade as many times as you want (ie. with another coach)

Signing players from the rserves list is limited to 30.

Also I am about to change the setting in regrds to seeing another team's lineup, its a new feature this year but it doesn't work as I thought it should.

Yep yep you're right I was just under the impression that you could make infinite signings before Round 1 begun. All good though, it makes sense.

I've just done some odds for a bit of fun. Please take no offence if you're at long odds. Just use it as ammunition when playing against me.

I repeat, don't get narky!

Early Market - Post Draft

$6 Demon Land7 – Looks the goods post draft. Priddis is a handball and tackle machine while Thomas, Cotchin and now Enright will get the kicks right up there. I don’t see them losing the kick category to often this year. A few speculative picks with Roughead and Wells a bit unknown due to injury/illness. I like Giles and Brogan both in this side, this guarantees at least 1 #1 ruck each week. Great drafting.

Strength – Hitouts, Kicks Weakness Marks

$7 Eth – When looking at this side purely for a football side, it would be like St Kilda, good at the top but then drops away. From an Ultimate Footy point of view though, this side is top notch and has great depth. Players like Howlett, Ellard, McDonald, Bruest are the types that are unsung heroes in this game. Consistently tackle and rack up good numbers. Cloke, Boyd and Scotland don’t need an explaination as to why they are good and Suckling racks up a good amount of kicks. However is Warnock still #1 ruck with Kreuzer coming back?

Strength – Kicks, Tackles Weakness Marks (Minus Cloke)

$7 OMR – Nice looking side this. Very nice actually. Pick 4 produced Swan, followed up by the man mountain, Mumford and one of the best scoring defenders in Shaw. Out of all sides it appears OMR has the strongest depth with very few first year players. This type of low risk approach could pay off but this is only my pre season view. Extremely deep midfield and ruck stocks come at a trade off though. The defence although look sdecent with Shaw and Burgoyne, it actually drops away. Gibson, Davis and Taylor are more of a lock down type player then accumulator.

Strength – Plenty of rucks, Midfield Weakness - Shallow Defence

$7.50 Watts Cook n – Overlooked Ablett and went with Murphy, obviously a pre-determined pick and if he improves at the rate he did last year then it’s a great choice. Petrie and Kennedy have the goals covered, while Jacobs being the Crows #1 ruck could produce Goldstein like results this year. Looked a little short in defence but somehow plucked Scarlett at pick 290? How did that happen! Theres a lot to like about this side.

$9 Scarlett – If Scarlett is actually here from round 1 he could do some damage. Gibbs and D Martin are seriously good for this game however I feel the Demon factor got to this side and S Martin went too early. Not saying he won’t be a good pick, just 45 seems a bit low. If Shane Tuck plays from round 1 then this is a big plus for the side however he is only a centre this year, not a C/D like last. Tom Bellchambers at pick 297? Bargain!

Strength – Rucks, Defence Weakness – Injury liabilities? (Adcock, Hayes, Cooney)

$10 JackLivesHere – With the treasured number 1 pick, the new kid on the block took Pendles. Can’t go wrong there, he is elite. With a large break between picks, its good to see them go on with it, Gia and Hodge are champions and Green at 109 will be an absolute steal me thinks. I can’t help but feel that if Minson hadn’t been kicking goals in the background, a more suitable ruck choice may have been picked. Gunston needs to step up with a few goals or I see this being a losing category every week.

Strength - Tackles Weakness – Goals

$10.50 JB’s Devils Going to take a few sides by surprise this year. Rockliff, Stanton, Ball and Johnson produce huge numbers and Gray keeps promising to deliver. It drops away very quickly though I feel. The defence is short and there is a heavy reliance on Edwards to kick bags of goals. Tutt was an inspired pick at the end and its unfortunate that Laidler has already gone down.

Strength – Midfield!!! Weakness - Defence

$11 Mad_Melbourne - Despite being a little shallow in depth, this side looks the goods with Franklin up forward, especially with the free-kick differential coming into play this year. Was my early favourite when I had a quick glance as I feel this team covers all bases with an extremely strong defence. There is one glaring whole though, the rucks! A lot of pressure is sitting on the head of the big O.Stephensen. If he can hold down the number 1 ruck spot at the Cats then Mad_Melbourne could be on his way to winning this thing.

Strength - Score Weakness - Hitouts

$13 RPFC – Any side with a strong Geelong flavour is going to be decent, especially when your Geelong players are Selwood and Bartel. These two are a perfect base to build your side around. Pods, Hale and Grimes will take plenty of marks as well as providing plenty of goals. (don’t forget Betts) This side will blow most sides away with goals unless Buddy kicks a bag. Don’t underestimate this sides ability to rack up large tackle counts either. One to watch!

Strength – Geelong, tackles Weakness - Defence

$15 JackAttack – Having the second lsat pick of the first round means you also have the second pick in the second round. Fyfe, Judd, Shiels, Barlow ensure high posessions, however questions marks remain over Judd and Barlows fitness, particularly early. One I like it Q.Lynch at pick 197. Was going to be my next pick and his marking/kicking prowess will be a strength. Sorry and Kane Cornes at 269 is solid! And are you wondering where all the ruckmen went? Look no further, JA has less than 4 possible first choice ruckmen (Ryder, West, Fraser, McKernan) Is this perhaps a bit of over kill? JA will find himself in a great trading position if a few of these guys get going. Look for their odds to be slashed if this happens and Barlow hits the track early season.

Strength – Rucks, Midfield Weakness – Defence

$17 Dappa Dan – Having the last pick in the draft only helped Dappa assess his options I feel. Two picks in a row and he didn’t waste them. Redden was a shining light last year and Mitchell is simply a jet. This was the perfect catalyst for the team to be built. Van Berlo’s second half of last year was superb and Riewoldt is simply Riewoldt. This side will win plenty of games, especially if there are no injuries. The later part of the draft looked to fall away with a few unknown or injured players selected. With an injury free season Dappa could easily take home the flag.

Strength – Top 10 players, Goals, Weakness

$26 The Wreckers – Solid without being outstanding. Picks 2-4 were all players with huge upside that haven’t yet proven to be A grade UF players( Beams, Trengove, Sidebottom) They very well could be at the end of this season. I’m not sold on Dawes or most of the backline. Prestia at 240 is a good get and Morris at 373 looks the goods after Williams went down.

Strength Midfield, Tackles – Weakness Goals

$26 Snomed Returns! – Went way to early on Goldstein. He had a great year in 2011 but with McIntosh back won’t produce the same numbers. Side is filled with proven ball winners. Goodes, Thompson, Harvey and even Christiansen can be relied on for solid numbers. Took a game on Brown but at pick 97 could very well be worth it. If Brown can play 16+ games then they could surprise. Daniel Jackson at 277 is a solid pickup. Very handy in this game

Strength – Depth – Weakness – A real match winner

$31 H_T Hurricanes – The curse of the autopick struck with Mark Lecras at pick 98, however the rest of the draft went quite well for the storm. Kreuzer is an interesting first pick but Pavlich, Riewoldt and Mundy could prove very strong. Two power forwards like Pav and Roo are head to ignore. This side may be a ruckman short if Kreuzer plays forward but there will be no shortage of marks, kicks and goals here. Yarran at 191 is a steal!

Strength – Marks, kicks Weakness – HitOuts, Cameron Bruce

$36 Deevoted – Obviously came into the draft with a plan to stack the mids. This was a success. This area won’t need to be touched now. Cox was the medal for most important player last year but Worsfold has said he will be rested at stages, could this bring the side undone? While Cox and the mids look strong, I’m not sure where the goals will come from and unsure if the defence is strong enough. It’s too early to write them off but I prefer others.

Strength – All star midfield, Cox Weakness – Goals, rotation policies

$36 Range Rover – There’s no doubting the talent here especially with Goddard and Leuenberger. The Burger playing as a lone ruck at the Lions could produce huge results. O’Keefe (injured) Hurley (injured) Swallow and Jurrah (AWOL) worry me as they were picks 4-7. Waite, Rich and Grundy were superb choices however I think the side will be a little short on goals, especially early in the season. It is a marathon and not a race however so I can see RR coming home very strong.

Strength – Not too sure. Weakness – Injuries, uncertainties

$51 Wacko_Jacko - This team could dominate one week and be absolutely pantsed the next. The talent is definitely there so I wouldn't right them off just yet. The problem I see is that many of these players will be rested at times this season, Sandilands, Chapman, Scully, Cornes, Hudson, Drummond are all prone to injury or age, while Rioli and Brennan are about as hot/cold as you can get in this game. This team could surprise and $51 is quite juicy odds.

Strength – Hitouts Weakness – Instability, Scully

$TBA - Robbo24 – I have absolutely no idea where to put myself so I won’t put a price. Very happy with Ablett as I consider him the premier player in this comp. Last year Goldstein was my wildcard as the Kangaroos number 1 ruck, now McEvoy has this spot in my side. Bock missing the first couple hurts and my hopes rest heavily on Tippett and Hargrave returning to 2010 form and improvement from Butcher, Knights, Palmer and Masten. Probably an average draft overall

Strength – Ablett, Hitouts Weakness – Goals, Marks

I also put in an option this year to allow changes to your team lineup to be made on saturday morning. (obviously firday night players couldn't be added or removed)

Some may deem this to be unfair, I guess you could look at how your friday night team played and then change your remaining players to suit a strategy.

The advantage is that we don't have to worry too much about getting everything set in the usually hectic time between work on friday and the first game. A net gain in my view.

Great summary and effort robbo24. I've given the Frenchman the royal flick and gone with a backup forward in Izzy for now. Low risk high reward one might say.

Many might say high risk low reward too.....

It's one of the things I really like about UF because last year can't remember the poor bugger who got Lenny Hayes but after the Grand Final Norm Smith and a good year he was a top 10 pick. 4 weeks in he was nothing.

That was Jackattack from memory. He was inconsolable for about a week. Claimed he wasnt taking demonland seriously after that... still made finals though. :)

Reminiscent of Brian Lake last year for me, predraft looking like an amazing year following his previous year - yep burnt on my first round pick..... GRRR

On who?

Yep yep you're right I was just under the impression that you could make infinite signings before Round 1 begun. All good though, it makes sense.

I don't like that atually. I think trading should be limited, signing should be unrestricted til we start.

I also put in an option this year to allow changes to your team lineup to be made on saturday morning. (obviously firday night players couldn't be added or removed)

Some may deem this to be unfair, I guess you could look at how your friday night team played and then change your remaining players to suit a strategy.

The advantage is that we don't have to worry too much about getting everything set in the usually hectic time between work on friday and the first game. A net gain in my view.

Yeah. Not sure about this... I think it adds a little something, sure, but it could be cause for angst as the season unfolds. I'd hate ot see close games decided on it.

You have it correct that I am shorter odds than dappa. And that's really all that matters.

Sensational work Robbo.

The Dappas like to sneak up on the comp... prefer to be underrated.

Great work robbo24... although am absolutely disgusted that I am not odds on favourite. :)

I think you sell your draft far too short... Ablett goes without saying, McEvoy is one of the best rucks, Enright & Fisher are two of the best backs while Bock playing forward and kicking goals drastically improves his value, Tippett and Butcher can possibly provide you with 5 - 7 goals and 12 - 14 marks per game and Hargrave could be the bargain pick of the draft, with Robinson not far behind. Masten and Palmer have improved with Montagna the only real unknown. Not a bad effort by my reckoning.

I also couldn't help but notice that you forgot to list strengths and weaknesses for Watts Cook n; so let me contribute.

Strengths: None

Weakness: The Coach

That is all.

Robbo,I'd rate you a 8 to 1 chance,but I 'd love to get 10.50 to 1 especially each way.In would put my house on it,but not my company.The two new chums are the challenge & hope OMR goes well,just hope brotherly love doesn't intervene.

Robbo 24 - Sensational work mate, 8-1 sounds about right for your squad, you will be right amongst it.

Very hard to predict how we will all go until round one is done & dusted.

But until then I am happy to sit as equal 2nd favourite.

I will have to agree to disagree with your view on my defence, I had Harry Taylor & Josh Gibson in the back half of last season.

Both performed a little better then lock down specialist's, I hope they repeat there efforts in 2012

JCB I also hope you are right among the contenders, I know you will be leading the way in smack talk

Good Luck Lads & bring On Round One

Edited by Old Man Rivers

OMR-What's this about me & Smack Talk-----already started just to satisfy you.

And by the way, I think I would start Odds-On in this area of our Ultimate footy game.

Edited by jayceebee31

What are you talking about Brother JCB?

Big News about Liam Jurrah breaking.

Range Rover must be very nervous his UF 2012 Forward Line is about to collapse

Really hope for the kids sake this one plays out OK

Cam Pedersen a good get by you JCB - I had him last year & he was gold towards to end of the season.

Let me know when you want to trade him :lol:

Robbo...

My biggest fault, and I think I'm gonna be guilty of this all year, is I forget it's a keeper league...

With that in mind, I'm gonna HAVE to take jumpin' jack off the table. I think he and Redden might be my only CERTAIN keepers. Van Berlo another...

I'll be in touch in a round or two.

Oh woooow... Everyone click the "matchup" button... Looks like the site manager took JA's advice (I think) and has put up the "projected" stats for the week based on averages. How good is that?!!!

And an odds column!!! HA! This is WICKED!!!

Question though JA...

I must have missed a category scoring post here... It says on projected stats that SnomeD's and my game will be a 7-7 draw. How is that possible? Is score AND score percentage only 1 point each? I thought it was ONLY accuracy.

What are you talking about Brother JCB?

Big News about Liam Jurrah breaking.

Range Rover must be very nervous his UF 2012 Forward Line is about to collapse

Really hope for the kids sake this one plays out OK

Cam Pedersen a good get by you JCB - I had him last year & he was gold towards to end of the season.

Let me know when you want to trade him :lol:

If you offer me something really worthwhile for Pedersen I'd consider it,however I rate Pedersen very highly.

Maybe a Swan would suit.