Another coaching rumour

Another Hagdorn article, don't put to much creedance into anything this hack says

Nothing new really and yeah, pretty standard dribble from Hagdorn.

Okay, yes, it's a more typical rumour of the 'I've heard' variety. But the man involved makes it all the more interesting.

Bomber wants back into a senior coaching gig.

(Related point - is it about time we just had a coaching megathread along the same lines of the TS megathread?)

I reckon they should at least try and get him. Anyway the blokes a jet not a bomber and a thorough gentleman. If we did get him we'd have to fix up our football department like they did down here in Geeeelong.

Not to many premiership let alone dual premiership coaches would be "overrated". Bomber started at Cats in 2000, finals that season then missed finals 3 years in a row. Finals in 04, 05. Missed finals in 06 and had the "review".07 flag, 2nd in 08 and flag in 09... Looks pretty good comapred to ANYTHING we have had in the last 60+ seasons....

As an aside:

Scarlett drafted in 97. Wojcinski in 98. 99 was insane for them (in order): Corey, Spriggs, Bray, Foster, Chapman, Ling, Enright.

Barry Stoneham retired at the end of 2000... Mooney came to the club in 2000 from North. Josh Hunt and Max Rooke drafted in 2000.

2001 was another monster draft for them (in order): Bartel, James Kelly, Charlie Gardner, Steve Johnson, Garry Ablett (FS), Henry Playfair ....

Thanks to Footy wire for the details too.

i just fed this into the Langley supercomputer, and you have omitted Norm Smith's six premierships.

I'm rather keen on the "if Carlton lose to Essendon Malthouse will coach Carlton in 2012, but if Carlton beat Essendon, Malthouse will coach Melbourne in 2012" rumour.

If it's true: go Blues!

I thought I may as well add to the rumours. I was out with a mate of mine last week who Is the media manager of an AFL club and he had heard through a couple of people that Ross Lyon Is strongly considering the Dees offer.

It wouldn't surprise me to see James Hird step aside for Bomber Thompson.

That is NOT a silly suggestion --I've heard that Tom Hafey & John Northey are also rumoured to apply if Bomber does.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/122637/default.aspx

Looks like Ross Lyon has told the Saints players he won't be coaching us.

"He addressed it straight after and told us it was not true - we front up to all those things in the media so there is no grey area," Blake said.

"He was forthright in the commitment to the club."

Might be lying, but you don't gain Lyon's reputation with stunts like that.