Demondeb 8 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Better attendances will get us better draws so we need everyone to go along that can possibly go. No more excuses - you have heaps of Saturdays and loads at the MCG. If I could go every week, I would and just cant understand people not going when they have no real valid reason for not supporting their team. For the record, I plan to come to at least 2 games down in Melb next year and of course the Gabba game.
titan_uranus 25,253 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 According to http://www.afl.com.au/portals/0/afl_docs/f...re_document.pdf Round 1 vs Hawthorn was requested by both clubs to promote a 'youth' theme. Also, looking forward to Round 11, when we get to play Carlton, and hence Brock McLean.
jacey 333 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 According to http://www.afl.com.au/portals/0/afl_docs/f...re_document.pdf Round 1 vs Hawthorn was requested by both clubs to promote a 'youth' theme. Good result home game rd 1 with Scully and Trengove likely to be unveiled and Watts and others as well. Only Saturday arvo game in town and not on TV. Hopefully a bumper crowd.
Guest Watts=Saviour Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Very happy with the draw, I think 10 wins, maybe more, is very possible. Can't wait for 2010!!!
Old Gregg 1 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Good draw.... but how can round 1 and 2 games vs Collingwood and Hawthorn on Saturday afternoon be broadcasted on Fox? Surely a mistake...
Sir Why You Little 37,452 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Good draw.... but how can round 1 and 2 games vs Collingwood and Hawthorn on Saturday afternoon be broadcasted on Fox? Surely a mistake... Just like the old days on Saturdays. If you wanted to see the Game, you went to the Game. Big crowd means a Big atmosphere to go with our new team...
Reality Bus 17 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Just like the old days on Saturdays. If you wanted to see the Game, you went to the Game. Big crowd means a Big atmosphere to go with our new team... hear hear
DemonDan... 77 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Club says 15 MCG games, I only count 14. Etihad only twice is good too. Just the one Friday Night is a bit of a bummer, but at least it's vs the Dogs, who should be top 4. We got 15 MCG matches, but we gave up one to go to TIO stadium in Darwin, for the new venture. (better than Canberra and we now play Sydney at the G') First 3/4 of the draw is magic! Tho the 'free-to-air' deal is again horrid. Guessing it will improve as our membership does, but 19 out of 22 games on free-to-air for The Filth and Carlscum is over the top.
Hellaintabadplacetobe 4,335 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Happy with this! Tough 1st 3 games is a slight concern, I just hope we don`t get flogged and young players drop their heads for a few weeks after. Best of all, only 1 twilight game and it`s an away game against the saints. We must have had 2 or 3 Sunday twilight home games this year which cost the club a small fortune with shockn crowds and just crap atmosphere to be at! 7 or 8 wins next year will do nicely
H_T 3,049 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Happy with this! Tough 1st 3 games is a slight concern, I just hope we don`t get flogged and young players drop their heads for a few weeks after. only 1 twilight game and it`s an away game against the saints. We must have had 2 or 3 Sun. twilight home games this year which cost the club a small fortune with shockn crowds and just crap atmosphere to be at! 7 or 8 wins next year will do nicely I'll never forget the Adelaide game.
Ryan Dee 140 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 1-- Melb v Haw (MCG) (Sat Mar 27, 2:10pm) (FOX) 2-- Coll v Melb (MCG) (Sat Apr 3, 2:10pm) (FOX) 3-- Melb v Adel (MCG) (Sun Apr 11, 1:10pm) (FOX) 4-- Rich v Melb (MCG) (Sun Apr 18, 1:10pm) (FOX) 5-- Melb v Bris (MCG) (Sat Apr 24, 7:10pm) (FOX) 6-- NM v Melb (Etihad) (Sat May 1, 2:10pm) (TEN) 7-- Melb v WB (MCG) (Fri May 7, 7:40pm) (SEVEN) 8-- Melb v WCE (MCG) (Sat May 15, 2:10pm) (FOX) 9-- Melb v PA (TIO) (Sat May 22, 7:10pm) (FOX) 10-- Geel v Melb (SS) (Sat May 29, 2:10pm) (TEN) 11-- Carl v Melb (MCG) (Sat Jun 5, 2:10pm) (TEN) 12-- Melb v Coll (MCG) (Mon Jun 14, 2:10pm) (TEN) 13-- Adel v Melb (AAMI) (Sun Jun 27, 2:40pm) (FOX) 14-- StK v Melb (Etihad) (Sun Jul 4, 4:40pm) (FOX) 15-- Melb v Ess (MCG) (Sun Jul 11, 2:10pm) (SEVEN) 16-- Frem v Melb (Subiaco) (Sun Jul 18, 2:40pm) (FOX) 17-- Melb v Syd (MCG) (Sun Jul 25, 2:10pm) (SEVEN) 18-- Bris v Melb (Gabba) (Sat Jul 31, 7:10pm) (FOX) 19-- Melb v Rich (MCG) (Sun Aug 8, 2:10pm) (SEVEN) 20-- Haw v Melb (MCG) (Sun Aug 15, 2:10pm) (SEVEN) 21-- PA v Melb (AAMI) (Sun Aug 22, 12:40pm) (FOX) 22-- Melb v NM (MCG) (TBC, TBC) (TBC) I think 10 wins would be wishful thinking unless we really take a big leap next year...maybe? 8 wins would be a good season for MFC.
#MYHEARTBEATSTRUE 27 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Awesome home night games at the G, work-royal-watch melbourne win-royal-cas!!! Go Dees
Satan 2,921 Posted October 30, 2009 Posted October 30, 2009 Caro agrees with most of posts here http://www.theage.com.au/news/caroline-wil...6835153129.html I get the impression the AFl like dealing with clubs who have former footy players or football background in positions of power compare stynes and schwab vs gardiner and harris I suspect that unless you have played football or have connections and work in the afl , you generally dont go far (jill Lindsay being an exception) in the AFL