Jim Stynes to remain President but temporarily step down down due to illness!

Dear Jim

I have never personally met you, but I feel you have been part of my family. I have been to just about every game you played for the mighty Demons, I have watched you from your humble beginnings and shared in your successes and cried with your disappointments. To see you at the head of the footy club I love and obviously you do as well, was almost a dream come true. Now you have this challenge I will still feel like I’m going through it with you. I have lost a number of friends and family through cancer, (no greater loss was my 10 year old sister). I will have an idea of what you and especially your family will be going through. All I can say is that seeing where you’ve been and what you’ve achieved, you will handle this with all the grit and determination that has made you who you are.

All the very best to you and your family, hope to see you back at the MFC very soon, with a premiership cup in your hands.

Dear Jim

I have never personally met you, but I feel you have been part of my family. I have been to just about every game you played for the mighty Demons, I have watched you from your humble beginnings and shared in your successes and cried with your disappointments. To see you at the head of the footy club I love and obviously you do as well, was almost a dream come true. Now you have this challenge I will still feel like I’m going through it with you. I have lost a number of friends and family through cancer, (no greater loss was my 10 year old sister). I will have an idea of what you and especially your family will be going through. All I can say is that seeing where you’ve been and what you’ve achieved, you will handle this with all the grit and determination that has made you who you are.

All the very best to you and your family, hope to see you back at the MFC very soon, with a premiership cup in your hands.

Good.

Jim, all the best mate. God speed for recovery. Thoughts are Jim and with his family at this time. Hope everything went to plan today for the operation. Let's see you when you get back. Behind the goals champ! Legend.

I thought Macca and Aaron holding up Jim's old number 37 jumper as they left the field today was a special moment. Felt a little choked up watching it. Also saw the footage on the tv tonight of the boys all in a circle before the game with Jims old jumper in the centre. Would have been a pretty powerful pre-match rev up I reckon.

I might be wrong, but I think I heard John Ralph say during halftime in the Dogs-Hawks game that Jim has had the surgery and that a large part of his lung was removed. They are also waiting on further tests that have been sent to the U.S. to be done. I'm not sure of the accuracy of this reporting.

I don't think it needs to be said. I think we're all aware of the reality of the situation and the battle confronting Jim.

I'm not a religious man at all, but I know Jim is, and with respect for his faith and a need in myself that I haven't felt for a long time, I said a prayer for Jim last night. I'm guessing I wasn't alone.

Nor me but your not alone.

Really impressed by Warnocks game. Stood up. Eerie that he wears No.37.

There is a nice cartoon in todays herald sun that Mark Knight did. It shows Jimmy sitting in his hospital bed witht he tv on watching us play.

This is the first time i have been near a PC since last week.

Just want to pass on good strong energy to you Jimma. All of us at Melbourne consider you "Family" & as such hope you make a Full Recovery.

Seeing Junior Hold up your original 37 Guernsey was trully inspiring. Rest up Big Fella & eat well.

This will be a long Tough Road make no mistake, but those challenges are nothing new to you, I am Planning to re read your book from the '90's after i have completed The "Red Fox"

I want to see Our Captain, Our Coach & President Jim Stynes Hold a Premiership Cup high in the Air at The MCG in years to come.....It Will Be Done.