Liam Jurrah

His teammates call him LJ, and he seems happy with that. Back home he is called (this is how it sounds anyway) Jookaday, or sometimes just Jooka.

Just for the record, I would like Liam to kick the winning goal against the Pies next year.

I'll take v the bombers next week!

His teammates call him LJ, and he seems happy with that. Back home he is called (this is how it sounds anyway) Jookaday, or sometimes just Jooka.

Just for the record, I would like Liam to kick the winning goal against the Pies next year.

Hey RB, how does Jurrah feel about his progress? Does he have an idea about when he wants to play for Melbourne?

"JoooooKKKAAAA!!"

That could stick!

Hey RB, how does Jurrah feel about his progress? Does he have an idea about when he wants to play for Melbourne?

As far as he's concerned he was ready to play for the Dees the first day he arrived in Melbourne. Fortunately, it aint up to him, so he'll have to wait til the coaches reckon he's due. Nevertheless, the past couple of weeks he has commented on feeling physically fit and strong, so hopefully he'll get a crack some time soon.

This thread is absolutely fascinating.

Just wanted to thank all you guys who have provided insight into Jurrah's journey so far. Hopefully you can keep us updated throughout his career.

• Author
As far as he's concerned he was ready to play for the Dees the first day he arrived in Melbourne. Fortunately, it aint up to him, so he'll have to wait til the coaches reckon he's due. Nevertheless, the past couple of weeks he has commented on feeling physically fit and strong, so hopefully he'll get a crack some time soon.

2 or 3 more good games for Casey and he'd have to get a game. As we move to the "list management" phase of the season, Jurrah, Strauss, Watts, Newton, Cheney, McNamara, Bail, Jetta, Dunn all need to be getting games. Whelan and Robertson need to be sent to the scrap yard. Bruce, Johnson and JMac need to get ready for life after football and a few injured players need to be sent to surgery. I hope Mclean is one of them otherwise what exactly is wrong? I'm more pumped about seeing Jurrah play than I was about Watts and that's saying something.

is it the physical side of the game (ie engine) or the off field stuff that is causing the club to hold him back do you think?

I just think players need to earn their spots. He's played 2 really good games in a row after coming back from injury, so now he has to keep performing and his chance will come.

This was mentioned on D'Ology and I think it has some credibility as a thought:

With all of Essendon's indigenous boys, the Dees could make it a special night by recalling Bennell and Jetta, and giving Jurrah his debut.

I understand the desire not to 'give' games to players but I believe all three could claim to improve the selected side (not that difficult after Monday I guess).

We could use some speed across the middle - Bennell, and some speed up forward - Jurrah and Jetta.

Jones, PJ, Maric, and Bell out for the three boys and Miller.

Let's showcase some young talent on Friday Night Football...

This is an interesting post. I'm still having trouble believing we didn't play Bennell against the Pies, so I'd certainly bring him back in and I'd say, with Essendon's pace, we'll need Bennell across half back. He's easily the quickest player I've seen. Furthermore, Grimes and Cheney would struggle with the pace of some Bombers. I also liked what I saw of Jetta again, the other day. I would have been playing him all year, but perhaps he'll get his chance again, in Round 12? I'd still play Maric, but maybe drop Cheney? I wouldn't have a clue who to drop, in order to bring Jurrah in though, because Bate was in our best last week, yet he would seem the perfect interchange.

'Jookaaaa' sounds great. Shouldn't be getting too far ahead of ourselves at this stage, but I can imagine the 'G' rockin with that call every time he gets his hands on the pigskin.

Hopefully he debuts v W.C.

Would help improve the crowd, and hype.

Mate, that was the answer I was hoping for! I love his confidence.

This is an interesting post. I'm still having trouble believing we didn't play Bennell against the Pies, so I'd certainly bring him back in and I'd say, with Essendon's pace, we'll need Bennell across half back. He's easily the quickest player I've seen. Furthermore, Grimes and Cheney would struggle with the pace of some Bombers. I also liked what I saw of Jetta again, the other day. I would have been playing him all year, but perhaps he'll get his chance again, in Round 12? I'd still play Maric, but maybe drop Cheney? I wouldn't have a clue who to drop, in order to bring Jurrah in though, because Bate was in our best last week, yet he would seem the perfect interchange.

Bennell is named in the Casey team on the HBF this week @ Visy Park.

Thanks. :) Doesn't mean he can't play the following Friday though does it? He didn't play at all last week, so they've got to get some game time into him.

• Author

and this one as well

The Warlpiri Warrior will be unleashed on friday night.

Believe me, the Bumbers won't know what's hit them.

homer_woohoo.jpg

That will be excellent to see. Please wish him all the best from the mad keen supporters at Demonland and Demonology

BTW, will you still be buying that Dees membership? ;)

cheers

That will be excellent to see. Please wish him all the best from the mad keen supporters at Demonland and Demonology

BTW, will you still be buying that Dees membership? ;)

cheers

I'm a paid up member mate! Yeehaaa!

Great news RudeBoy. Can't wait to see Liam go around on Friday.

Trying to not get excited about it. It is preety cool not only to see LJ take his place (all going to plan) but also to see so much of the future playing now.

Huge story if this works out. Just huge.

Great news Rudeboy. I saw Japaljarri post on Big Footy earlier today that Liam would indeed be playing Friday night. Was waiting to see you confirm it.

This is going to be sensational.

Awesome. This has now vindicated me taking the day off work to go to the game...

I'm taking the week off to recover from the celebrations after his game!