Tweaker from Jim Stynes

Posted

Just got a little texty from old mate Jim.

Didn't realise my number was in his phone! Ha Ha

"Saturday Footy at the 'G. Demons v Dogs, 2.10pm tomorrow. See you there. Go Dees!

Opt Out STOP 0427417962..."

Is that Jim's number? I'm tempted to call it and have a chat to the old boy. Ha ha.

Just got a little texty from old mate Jim.

Didn't realise my number was in his phone! Ha Ha

"Saturday Footy at the 'G. Demons v Dogs, 2.10pm tomorrow. See you there. Go Dees!

Opt Out STOP 0427417962..."

Is that Jim's number? I'm tempted to call it and have a chat to the old boy. Ha ha.

standard SMS = 20c

30,500x0.2=6k. I hope this is worth it!

standard SMS = 20c

I'm sure they'd get a better deal. Besides not everyone of those members would have a mobile I wouldn't have thought.

They might also be able to determine via database of memberships being swiped at the gates of previous matches, who to contact ....ie no shows yet or those who have only attended 1-2 games. Might help reduce the cost. Not sure if this is the case though.....some others might be able to confirm this or not...?

edit: 1:51pm - just got Jimmy's text!

standard SMS = 20c

Bulk SMS advertising is not charged at 20c per text.

Usually you pay a bulk sum for a certain number of texts, as opposed to paying per text, and in the end it works out to be as cheap as 1c a text, depending on the volume sent.

Having said that, we may have only spent 40 cents, because I didn't get one? :lol:

I'm sure they'd get a better deal. Besides not everyone of those members would have a mobile I wouldn't have thought.

They might also be able to determine via database of memberships being swiped at the gates of previous matches, who to contact ....ie no shows yet or those who have only attended 1-2 games. Might help reduce the cost. Not sure if this is the case though.....some others might be able to confirm this or not...?

in the last 5 years I would have missed max 2-3 home games and still got one, so cant see that being correct.

HT great potential cost saver though, maybe ask the club for 5% of the savings!

Yep, it's a lot cheaper by bulk. And nothing gets people to a game better than knowing that it's on, so it's probably going to work out as at least a break-even cash wise, and every extra number is worth a bit in AFL politics.

I haven't got one. In fact, I've never been SMS'd by the club. I guess they don't have my number then.

By the way, I like this comment in both the emails and the ad that we place every Friday in The Age:

"This weekend, the Demons return to our favourite time slot, Saturday afternoon at the MCG. The best way to ensure that we are fixtured to play more Saturday games is to come along to this game."

• Author
standard SMS = 20c

I know this has been stated in other posts, so i'll agree, being a 'bulk' sms it is MUCH cheaper than 20c per text. In fact, my old local football club which sends out texts to members, sends them from a program on the club computer and it costs them 1cent per text...

Therefore 30,500x0.01=$305 not a big hole in the pocket, especially if you can get an extra 200 people to the game to cover this cost... Pretty good investment i would've thought

Having said that, we may have only spent 40 cents, because I didn't get one? :lol:

Yeah me neither, and am now feeling a little left out :mellow: !!!

standard SMS = 20c

I think that the MFC send their sms's from China or something like that, which only costs a couple of cents per message. It was most likely done from some sort of computer database & some sort of deal that does bulk messages very cheaply, because I don't think that Jim sat their putting in the mobile numbers of 30,000 melbourne supporters.

I was going to send him a text back asking if he wanted me to save him a seat!

I think that the MFC send their sms's from China or something like that, which only costs a couple of cents per message. It was most likely done from some sort of computer database & some sort of deal that does bulk messages very cheaply, because I don't think that Jim sat their putting in the mobile numbers of 30,000 melbourne supporters.

I was going to send him a text back asking if he wanted me to save him a seat!

I didn't get my sms from Jimmy but I'm going today anyway.

Due to fly to China next week on business. Perhaps I'll receive my sms when I arrive. :rolleyes:

Could this be the next signal from Jimma, could this be win number 2. ??

This could be win number 2 I have a funny feeling.

Im pumped for todays game for some reason!

Everyone get down.

Even though i only want to em win 4 games. beating a top side in the doggies being one of them would be heaps better than beating any weakerside like freo etc.