Before everyone get's stuck into Cale Morton?

Posted

Remember he is a project player and will take time.

With the exception of Garland there is no one else on the list whose career I am more excited about.

Believe me mate I think thats what's holding everyone back. If he was a 3-4 year player he would be getting CANNED.

Reckon he could do with a spell at Sandy. Will do him a world of good. At the moment his confidence is shot. These pokey little kicks are not what he's about, or at least on his brilliant U18s form last year. Plenty of time for him yet.

• Author
Believe me mate I think thats what's holding everyone back. If he was a 3-4 year player he would be getting CANNED.

Reckon he could do with a spell at Sandy. Will do him a world of good. At the moment his confidence is shot. These pokey little kicks are not what he's about, or at least on his brilliant U18s form last year. Plenty of time for him yet.

I agree. If he was at any other AFL club he'd be developing in the VFL. Unfortunately we don't have that luxury and are subseuqently forced to play in with the big dawgs.

He needs a few weeks at Sandy, to recapture his skills. That's all. :rolleyes:

He hasnt played for Sandy yet, only for the MFC.

He needs a few weeks at Sandy for sure. He would really dominate there and get confidence. He has no troubling finding the pill, but his kicking of late has been deplorable.

• Author
Ok, so I had to work today, and couldn't watch the game. His stats seemed ok, what happened?

Don't think he hit a target once and his handballs were very Cameron Bruce like

Ok, so I had to work today, and couldn't watch the game. His stats seemed ok, what happened?

Couldn't hit a barn door from 3 yards by foot. which has been the case for about 3 weeks with him.

Check the clangers/ Disposal efficiency column. 6 Clangers (from 20 possessions) and a DE of 55%. Got plenty of ball, and had space, but just lacking the conviction to use it well.

I don't mind that Cale isn't dominating this year, with his build it was always going to take a season or two for him to fill out, however at pick 4 I'd expect him not to be a 'project' type of player.

I agree he needs a couple of games at the lower level just to find his way again. He's looked overrawed at times with the pace and physicality of AFL. I think he's gonna be a gun player in time, but at the moment i just dont think its fair to expect him to do consistently well at senior level, especially given his slight frame. I don't doubt his endeavour at all, but physically he's just not ready to stamp himself on the game yet, and his lack of strength can hurt defensively us at times.

Like u said, i've got plenty of time for him, but think it would do his confidence a world of good to go back to the less physical and slower pace of VFL and dominate a few games.

He moves well, he knows how to find the football - I am happy with him. Watching him very closely, he even put some very nice blocks on tonight. There is not much of him but he does use what he has. Disposal is a bit of a worry but the club will judge where he is best placed to work on that.

Our momentum hit a brick wall 4 times. Bruce responsible once, and Morton 3 times.

He had a shocker today, and in any normal team he would be dropped for sure this week, but unless his confidence is being shattered (he is getting a lot of the ball), what have we got to lose giving him some game time with the best in the business? Surely this can only help fast track him?

No player who weighs the average weight of a 10 year old can be constructive in the AFL. Put him on a diet of Chicken and Beef for 6 months, breakfast lunch and dinner, lock him in a weight room and then put him on the field.

He gets in the right positions, oozes class, and is a scrawny 18 year old. I can't believe the expectations of footy stupid supporters.

One of the highlights of the year.

No player who weighs the average weight of a 10 year old can be constructive in the AFL. Put him on a diet of Chicken and Beef for 6 months, breakfast lunch and dinner, lock him in a weight room and then put him on the field.

And that'll help his kicking confidence! :lol:

He looks built for umpiring. lol

Haven't seen anyone as slight as he play for Melbourne since Cam Hunter played a couple of games late in 2003. I think he weighed 68kg when we drafted him.

Not even Cam Bruce was as skinny as Cale when he started out, and he was skinny!

And that'll help his kicking confidence! :lol:

Poor disposal and decision making is a consequence of a lack of confidence and doubting that one belongs, or that the body can match the minds willingness. Extra weight and strength goes a long way to rectifying confidence and the associated symptons.

But yes, I see the 'joke' and know that you know all this.

• Author
He gets in the right positions, oozes class, and is a scrawny 18 year old. I can't believe the expectations of footy stupid supporters.

You're absolutely right Lecter.

Well said hannabal.He has the confidence to run to the right spots and is getting the ball in dangerous positions. He shanked the ball numerous times today but dropping him to Sandy will not fix that. Just keep getting the games into him is the right way to go.

I disagree. You shank the ball because you are panicking a bit, or because you are unbalanced - both relate to a feeling of lack of space/time (even when you have it!). At Sandy, he will get plenty of the ball, but have a bit more time to balance. And get used to giving good delivery. Remember, he went from U18 to senior AFL. Just give a bit of space for a few weeks. Do him the world of good.

The game may be slower at VFL level but the grounds in most cases are smaller and the general delivery is mediocre. This usually puts more pressure on the type of player he is. Alot of the time today he won the ball and disposed under limited pressure. He was just shanking them pure and simple and I believe from overthinking it in most part. There is no harm whilst he is finding the ball 20+ times playing him and seeing if it corrects itself. The more he finds the ball at this level the more likely it will improve. After watching Sandy on the weekend its not like he is keeping anyone out of the side.

Cale Morton Rnd 3: Superstar, Rnd 12: Sandy!

Colin Garland Rnd 3: Sandy!, Rnd 12: Superstar

LOOOOOOOOVE Demonland.

The game may be slower at VFL level but the grounds in most cases are smaller and the general delivery is mediocre. This usually puts more pressure on the type of player he is. Alot of the time today he won the ball and disposed under limited pressure. He was just shanking them pure and simple and I believe from overthinking it in most part. There is no harm whilst he is finding the ball 20+ times playing him and seeing if it corrects itself. The more he finds the ball at this level the more likely it will improve. After watching Sandy on the weekend its not like he is keeping anyone out of the side.

Yep, I know. But he is playing as if he doesn't have time/space. If he knows he has plenty of space, and still shanks it, then his future is limited. (And I don't think it is.)