Anyone for cricket?

The Adelaide test is vital. It will be a slower wicket with less pace and bounce which will suit England. If we can just make sure we don't loose and get a draw, it'll mean we can head to Perth where we never loose to England due to the even faster and bouncier wicket and be heading for a 2-0 lead with two tests to go.

If Adelaide's a good batting wicket we should just bat, bat, bat and bat and if a draw comes that is almost as good as a win for us heading into Perth with a 1-0 lead!

I feel the same way TD. Apparently it's a drop in wicket (not sure how long that's being going on at the Adelaide Oval?) 10 days off (including tomorrow) gives our bowlers a good rest as well.

The only thing that concerns me is the make-up of our bowlers for both Adelaide and Perth (which are back to back tests with only 3 days break in between)

You'd reckon it will be an unchanged team for Adelaide but our bowlers won't want to be in the field for 3 days in Adelaide (which might happen if England bounce back hard with their batting)

Great win in this Test though and I'm still a little shocked by it all. You probably kept the faith ^_^

Edit: Ryan Harris has been named in an unchanged squad for second Ashes Test

Smith could actually prove a very important figure at Adelaide, which still sounds strange to say out loud. I've been a critic of his in the past, and I think he has gotten a lot more leniency from his good mate in Clarke than others have been afforded. That said, his batting has improved enormously. On the Adelaide deck he will be able to put his improved technique to the test and won't be forced onto the back foot as much, which has often been his downfall when playing away from his body. He will be able to play his shots and could be pencilled in for a big innings. Throw in his leg breaks and he will be one to watch.

The impressive showing of Lyon in this test also bodes well for Adelaide. Previously you would say England hold the advantage in the spin department, and still do, but the gap seems to have closed. Lyon is going from strength to strength.

The poms will desperately want Trott to find some form. He's a class act, and they need him if they are going to bounce back from what was utter (delightful) humiliation at the Gabbatoir.

Edited by P-man

I feel the same way TD. Apparently it's a drop in wicket (not sure how long that's being going on at the Adelaide Oval?) 10 days off (including tomorrow) gives our bowlers a good rest as well.

The only thing that concerns me is the make-up of our bowlers for both Adelaide and Perth (which are back to back tests with only 3 days break in between)

You'd reckon it will be an unchanged team for Adelaide but our bowlers won't want to be in the field for 3 days in Adelaide (which might happen if England bounce back hard with their batting)

Great win in this Test though and I'm still a little shocked by it all. You probably kept the faith ^_^

Edit: Ryan Harris has been named in an unchanged squad for second Ashes Test

Haha, always have been keeping the faith Macca, but even I'll admit I wasn't expecting that result in the manner in which it came!

Coming into this series I always thought the GABBA & WACA were the most vital tests for us as the conditions would obviously suit us much more then England, and being the 1st & 3rd tests give us an opportunity to grab the advantage. Adelaide & Sydney would probably suit England more and Melbourne should provide the most even wicket.

They've only started the drop in pitches this year due to AFL moving in next year and yeah the wickets have been flat. Shield game going on there at the moment and 11 of the 21 wickets to fall so far have gone to spinners, so I wouldn't be suprised to see England bring Panesar in for Tremlett. Whether that means they look to bring Chris Woakes in as the all rounder & third seamer at the expense of Trott and get Bell to bat at 3 I don't know, but spin will play a big part in Adelaide.

And you're right I've got concerns for our quicks also, really want them to be fresh to go for Perth, and the last thing we'd like to see is a repeat of what happened against South Africa in Adelaide last year. Lehman's said if everyone's 100% then they'll play, which is the right attitude to take, I just have concerns over it that's all. As P-Man said we may need to look to Smith and possibly Warner to bowl some overs in order to give our quicks a rest when able. Don't want to see Harris getting injured, Siddle & Johnson hitting the wall and us having to go into the WACA with Hilfenhaus, Faulkner and a debutant in Coulter-Nile as our 3 quicks like we did lat year with Johnson, Starc & Hastings!

Edit:

Furthermore to my comment about keeping the faith, this win has been coming, since the 2nd Test in England at Lords we've actually been the better of the two teams. We were well on track at Old Trafford to pegging the series back to 1-2 until rain ruined our chances on the last day when we had them at 3-30odd. We were the better team in the 4th test and were crusiing to vistory until a spectcular batting collapse saw the end of that. We should have won that no more then about 4 down the way we were going. And again rain robbed us at The Oval. The only reason England got as close as they did was because of Clarke's early declaration to try and force a result. We had a very healthy first innings lead there, and if rain hadn't been a factor, we no doubt would have batted normally in our 2nd dig and set them 400 odd to win.

And this also now marks 6 consecutive test matches where England have failed to reach 400 against our bolwers in any innings. It's a great credit to them that against a team with the likes of Cook, Pietersen, Bell, Tott, Prior and co that we've bene able to keep them sub 400 over 6 test matches, where as we've reached 400+ now on three occasions. All of them since that Lords test.

The signs are good people!

Edited by Tall Defence

Haha, always have been keeping the faith Macca, but even I'll admit I wasn't expecting that result in the manner in which it came!

Coming into this series I always thought the GABBA & WACA were the most vital tests for us as the conditions would obviously suit us much more then England, and being the 1st & 3rd tests give us an opportunity to grab the advantage. Adelaide & Sydney would probably suit England more and Melbourne should provide the most even wicket.

They've only started the drop in pitches this year due to AFL moving in next year and yeah the wickets have been flat. Shield game going on there at the moment and 11 of the 21 wickets to fall so far have gone to spinners, so I wouldn't be suprised to see England bring Panesar in for Tremlett. Whether that means they look to bring Chris Woakes in as the all rounder & third seamer at the expense of Trott and get Bell to bat at 3 I don't know, but spin will play a big part in Adelaide.

And you're right I've got concerns for our quicks also, really want them to be fresh to go for Perth, and the last thing we'd like to see is a repeat of what happened against South Africa in Adelaide last year. Lehman's said if everyone's 100% then they'll play, which is the right attitude to take, I just have concerns over it that's all. As P-Man said we may need to look to Smith and possibly Warner to bowl some overs in order to give our quicks a rest when able. Don't want to see Harris getting injured, Siddle & Johnson hitting the wall and us having to go into the WACA with Hilfenhaus, Faulkner and a debutant in Coulter-Nile as our 3 quicks like we did lat year with Johnson, Starc & Hastings!

Edit:

Furthermore to my comment about keeping the faith, this win has been coming, since the 2nd Test in England at Lords we've actually been the better of the two teams. We were well on track at Old Trafford to pegging the series back to 1-2 until rain ruined our chances on the last day when we had them at 3-30odd. We were the better team in the 4th test and were crusiing to vistory until a spectcular batting collapse saw the end of that. We should have won that no more then about 4 down the way we were going. And again rain robbed us at The Oval. The only reason England got as close as they did was because of Clarke's early declaration to try and force a result. We had a very healthy first innings lead there, and if rain hadn't been a factor, we no doubt would have batted normally in our 2nd dig and set them 400 odd to win.

And this also now marks 6 consecutive test matches where England have failed to reach 400 against our bolwers in any innings. It's a great credit to them that against a team with the likes of Cook, Pietersen, Bell, Tott, Prior and co that we've bene able to keep them sub 400 over 6 test matches, where as we've reached 400+ now on three occasions. All of them since that Lords test.

The signs are good people!

It goes further for England, 18 consecutive innings without reaching 400. It's all about Cook and Bell for them - if they get out, England doesn't make runs (Pietersen will always end up getting himself out).

Whilst England might be inclined to play Panesar, I don't think they can. They'd be down to two pacemen if they drop Tremlett, leaving Broad and Anderson with too much workload on a short break going into Perth. That means they'd have to drop a batsman to play an all-rounder, but the closest thing they have to an all-rounder in their squad is Ben Stokes, who batted at 8 in the recent ODI series we just played against England (they left Woakes at home). Would be an enormous risk to bat him in the top six on debut in Test cricket, I think, whilst I think Trott could get his form back on an Adelaide deck that probably won't cause him as much trouble on the pull as Brisbane did. So I think England's stuck with just the one spinner, though Swann will bowl better at Adelaide than in Brisbane.

It's going to be a massive test in Adelaide - keeping Harris, Siddle and Johnson fit and ready to go for Perth is vital, whilst getting some runs into Rogers, Watson, Smith and Bailey is also crucial - Johnson's not going to bail us out from 8 every test, nor is he going to bowl as well as he did in Brisbane.

TD - that's why I said earlier that I wasn't amazed by this result. Even the poms would acknowledge in private that 3-0 really flattered them. The series was much closer than that, they just had every bit of luck go their way.

Anyhow, it's a war, not a battle. Need to back it up in Adelaide. No mercy.

Jordan Silk has scored his 4th century in 9 first class matches after scoring 63 in the first innings against SA. How long...?

Ed Cowan also 116 not out, with Alex Doolan at the crease.

The other notable score in this match was 98 from 19 year old SA batsman Travis Head. It's the last day so this game will clearly be a draw, but it sounds as if it's been a very interesting match insofar as looking at young batsmen goes.

Jordan Silk has scored his 4th century in 9 first class matches after scoring 63 in the first innings against SA. How long...?

Ed Cowan also 116 not out, with Alex Doolan at the crease.

The other notable score in this match was 98 from 19 year old SA batsman Travis Head. It's the last day so this game will clearly be a draw, but it sounds as if it's been a very interesting match insofar as looking at young batsmen goes.

Marcus North scored another tonne too, he now has three from four Shield games. Cameron White is also unbeaten overnight on 110, adding to his three 50s in the Shield, plus his five 50s in six innings in the Ryobi Cup.

For once, there is form in our domestic batting.

I reckon one of the crucial decisions in the first Test was Clarke's courageous choice to bat first. There always appears to be greenness in first morning wickets, tempting captains to bowl.

But if you get runs on the board....even an average total, the pressure goes firmly on the opposition.

Also, prior to the game we all thought England had the superior spinner, so batting first was a good idea.

One slightly worrying point is that Rogers, Watson, Bailey and Smith didn't succeed with the bat(though Rogers was involved in a 60-odd opening partnership in the 2nd dig.)

We can't always rely on Haddin and Johnson with the bat, though it looks like Clarke and Warner are in for a good series.

I watched a bit of Dooland on Cricket Australia TV. He looks technically sound and reliable.

Did anyone notice how much Cook and Carberry struggled against Siddle at the start of the 2nd innings. ?Both were very lucky to survive.

Trott pulls out due to "stress related illness" - http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-11-25/jonathan-trott-returns-home-from-ashes-series-due-to-stress/5115796?section=sport

Big blow, out of form or not.

Wow! That's pretty big!

Wonder who they'll send out to replace him? The all rounder Woakes, or will they go for another specialist batsman like Compton?

I guess if Woakes replaces him, they can then play Pannesar as a 2nd spinner (bar the WACA of course).

Bell to move up to 3 you'd think and Root to 5.

Edited by Tall Defence

Now we are both without a no 3.

Hope Trott is back in Test Cricket soon.

Good luck to him, hope he's able to make a recovery. Don't like to see anyone suffer illness of the mind, not to mention that cricket is poorer for his absence.

You'd reckon David Warner would feel pretty small now. Next time just leave it on the field, mate.

Good luck to him, hope he's able to make a recovery. Don't like to see anyone suffer illness of the mind, not to mention that cricket is poorer for his absence.

You'd reckon David Warner would feel pretty small now. Next time just leave it on the field, mate.

Agreed. I notice today he admitted he went a bit too far in his remarks, and that was before Trott pulling out.

I would never use race or personal attacks on the field and I am not sure Warner was privvy to Trotts mental state prior to the comments he made.

It is quite laughable that we call a moratorium on sledging now because the Poms are feeling sooky.

I would suggest they are big boys who were able to give it out over the last three series wins.

Do you know-I don't think I have ever heard an Australian publicly complain about a sledge on the field to the media.Ever.

The English are dreaming if they think they will not cop an increasing degree of mockery in the series.

Get ready for a broken fuggin arm-and some badly hurt feelings old boys!

I would never use race or personal attacks on the field and I am not sure Warner was privvy to Trotts mental state prior to the comments he made.

It is quite laughable that we call a moratorium on sledging now because the Poms are feeling sooky.

I would suggest they are big boys who were able to give it out over the last three series wins.

Do you know-I don't think I have ever heard an Australian publicly complain about a sledge on the field to the media.Ever.

The English are dreaming if they think they will not cop an increasing degree of mockery in the series.

Get ready for a broken fuggin arm-and some badly hurt feelings old boys!

You do realise all the kerfuffle is about Warner saying something to the media, and not on the field, right? Cook even said he wasn't bothered by Clarke's on the field sledge, it was Warner commenting on Trott's dismissal to the media that he took exception to.

You do realise all the kerfuffle is about Warner saying something to the media, and not on the field, right?

I do .

Warner wasn't complaining,just making an observation after a win.

The English began their whinging after that.

I expect the sledging to continue in earnest and hope it stays on the field.

Do you think Warners comments were designed to send Trott packing?

I doubt they were meant to be that malicious.

I feel sympathy for Trott-none whatsoever for Peiterson,Broad,Swan,Cook,Root ,Prior,Anderson et al.

Hope they can cop the abuse and try to win but they will lose and whinge .

Anyone who has played cricket from club level upward knows that sledging is part of the game. It's very simple, going back to Nash's original point. Keep it on the field. Warner looked like a dill in that press conference.

very immature by Davey.it smelt of watching to much rocky movies

just hope it wasn't let pass by team management

in answer to your question about aussies sooking biff

some people will try to smooth this over but

glen McGrath in the west indies,

he slung some mud and got it back twofold and sooked along with his teammates to the press

symonds did similar,some people will call it unfair some wont

I was always taught,if you hit the ball over the net,be careful it might come back

very immature by Davey.it smelt of watching to much rocky movies

just hope it wasn't let pass by team management

he slung some mud and got it back twofold and sooked along with his teammates to the press

I was always taught,if you hit the ball over the net,be careful it might come back

Quite right-I was going to mention the McGrath incident as the exception.

As far as the Monkey thing goes-I still dont think Symonds sooked so much as the stump cam gave up the culprits, from memory.

What Warner did was prime-time trash talking.

True on both counts, however:

McGrath's incident was comments involving his wife where it was common knowledge at the time she was battling cancer.

Symonds was racial abuse, and we see the players in the AFL get a case of the sooks whenever it happens there.

The Trott incident was widely unknown about his personal issues there. If it had of aleady been known then Warner would have crossed the line. As it wasn't, he hasn't IMO.

For the history buffs-this is not the first time a Trott has walked away from test cricket in his prime due to mental stress.

Can anyone name the other time ,player, circumstances etc.

For the history buffs-this is not the first time a Trott has walked away from test cricket in his prime due to mental stress.

Can anyone name the other time ,player, circumstances etc.

This is just a wild guess but was a bloke named Albert Trott involved? He's the only other cricketer named Trott that I can recall. Think he played at the turn of the century (the 19th to the 20th century)

Hoping Jonathan Trott makes a speedy recovery from his illness. Him not playing weakens their side but it would be preferable if England were at full strength.

...... however:

McGrath's incident was comments involving his wife where it was common knowledge at the time she was battling cancer.

Symonds was racial abuse, and we see the players in the AFL get a case of the sooks whenever it happens there.

The Trott incident was widely unknown about his personal issues there. If it had of aleady been known then Warner would have crossed the line. As it wasn't, he hasn't IMO.

Agree, Both attacks on the Australian players were unreasonable and should have been dealt.

In particular the exoneration of India's Singh for the monkey jibe was another case of Indian cricket holding the world to ransom with its petulance and double standards. The McGrath comment was appalling.

However while I am not aware of specific episodes involving McGrath or Symonds, the successful Australian teams of the past decade had both a record and reputation for sledging that by the standards recently dealt with in the AFL were far worse.

Indeed I am aware of episodes involving the Australian team targetting a player on oppositions in such a disgusting and disgraceful manner that it should have been nipped in the bud particularly during Waughs reign as Captain.

While i dont suggest that sledging be banned there are topics that are definitely no go such racism, sexism, religion and targetting family members of a player.

I dont expect the ICC to have the balls to enforce this and its a hard one to enforce in various countries where sledging may not be done in English or a language known by the neutral umpires.

Given the technology and intrusion of the media in Australian sport, its going to be a tougher test than in some countries.

But for the good of the game, competitive banter is fine. But when it crosses into the no go topics its forbidden and should be punished..

What happened on the pitch in the last Test was neither here nor there in the scheme of things,

Hoping Jonathan Trott makes a speedy recovery from his illness. Him not playing weakens their side but it would be preferable if England were at full strength.

The first sentence is heartly supported. The second sentence is not necessary.

I hope Trott gets all the assistance he needs back home.

The first sentence is heartly supported. The second sentence is not necessary.

I hope Trott gets all the assistance he needs back home.

I was making an observation that Jonathan will be missed (perhaps more so than a few people might realise)

There is no harm in saying what I said and I certainly didn't mean it in any other way other than to recognise that he's a top class batsman. A player who I have a lot of time for. Again, I wish him a full recovery.