Alternative Strip

Posted

With all of this debate over our logo and alternative strip, I am interested to see if anybody knows what the club is looking at doing in terms of our alternative strip next year.

I personally reckon the 80's Heritage Jumper with the light blue is our greatest option....

This years one is absolutely horrible and I hope next year we only wear the alternative strip when there is a clash, but one things for sure, if we are trying to create a more solid image, we have to keep that going with our alternative strip and not add extra colours and crap.

I'm even interested in inverting the clours and having the Blue V and Red jumper

thoughts...

WE MUST N E V E R WEAR THE LIGHT BLUE JUMPER EVER AGAIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! comprendez??? :o
I personally reckon the 80's Heritage Jumper with the light blue is our greatest option....

Horrid.

Royal blue NEVER Again

An alternative strip was suggested with this design discussed late last year to this year in feb

not too bad as an alternative

I'm all for the royal blue heritage jumper...perfect away strip. 80's.... ;)

It looks good on you anyway mate :D

I've got both heritage guernseys....I seem to lean more to the 80's royal blue....reminds me so much of our classic years with Northey!

I love the logo you've got as your avatar (still our best IMO) but I can't stand the royal blue guernsey. And the best years under Northey (87 onward) were all in the Navy.

Really liked that one from BF. Thanks for the link DFJ. Taking into account our new logo, will the demon be ditched off next years' clash jumper?

Sorry to disappoint but we reverted to the real colours of red and navy blue at the beginning of 1987 which was the year we returned to the finals. Northey coached us for one year only in the royal blue (1986) and we were shyzen then. I remember losing a couple of times by over 100 points.

As for an alternate strip I'm happy with something that's mainly red with some navy blue trimmings but keep the cartoon characters out of it.

I love the logo you've got as your avatar (still our best IMO) but I can't stand the royal blue guernsey. And the best years under Northey (87 onward) were all in the Navy.

Really liked that one from BF. Thanks for the link DFJ. Taking into account our new logo, will the demon be ditched off next years' clash jumper?

The logo totally ROCKS. My favourite by far.

• Author

you'd think so mate

Odd this. Northey coached for seven years, beginning in 1986, and only his first season involved that royal blue abomination. We lost 15 games, I suppose that made it memorable. As I recall, 1987, when we went back to the dark navy, was a much better (and memorable) year.

Edit: Ooops, sorry for the duplication Apo.XXXI, I get a bit emotional and impetuous when people have good things to say about the Royal Blue.

I remember reading somewhere where it mentioned that once we changed back to navy blue we started winning again

Royal Blue - pleeeaaassee NEVER again. It was absolutely horrible - no strength about the colour at all.

With all of this debate over our logo and alternative strip, I am interested to see if anybody knows what the club is looking at doing in terms of our alternative strip next year.

This years one is absolutely horrible and I hope next year we only wear the alternative strip when there is a clash, but one things for sure, if we are trying to create a more solid image, we have to keep that going with our alternative strip and not add extra colours and crap.

I'm even interested in inverting the clours and having the Blue V and Red jumper

thoughts...

I like the current away strip & the current emblem with flames, however I could understand changing some clash colours to fit in with TEAM MELBOURNE thinking.

i assume we need a new clash strip due to our new clothing sponsor anyway. ditch the all red design with the old logo and try something fresh. perhaps they could widen the red yolk and make it go lower on the jumper. wth white shorts we should avoid a clash with essendon and carlton.

I reckon the current away strip is good. The old royal blue was bad, bad, bad. Never, ever again, please.....

I see people at the footy with their old royal blue scarves, and I wonder. The scarves can't possibly be a lucky charm in the football sense as the team was so bad in that era; they must surely be associated with an otherwise happy childhood.

Under that stairs at my place, and I know exactly where, is 'Robbie' the royal blue and red Teddy Bear. He was bought for my son, as he is the eldest, and then passed on to his sister. The poor old guy is bruised and battered having been a much loved constant companion to both kids in their formative years. I have no love for the colour, being a republican is one good reason, watching many, many deplorable teams playing in the colour another, but, I do have some fond memories associated with it.

We won the same number of games wearing that jumper in 2007 that we did in 1981.

Horrible luck?

Superstitious. Stupid to go by that.

The royal blue looks ok.

There are a few things we could do.

Baby Blue

Mainly Red

Current jumper (switched colours)

current alternative but pink (for the whole breast cancer thing.)

etc etc etc. In all seriousness. It doesn't matter!!!!!

Put the boys in green, yeelow or orange for all I care. Just win.

• Author
Horrible luck?

Superstitious. Stupid to go by that.

The royal blue looks ok.

There are a few things we could do.

Baby Blue

Mainly Red

Current jumper (switched colours)

current alternative but pink (for the whole breast cancer thing.)

etc etc etc. In all seriousness. It doesn't matter!!!!!

Put the boys in green, yeelow or orange for all I care. Just win.

i like most of your thinking but i disagree with the "put the boys in green........for all i care. just win". they should be proud of the red and blue and loyal to their jumper

Yes you see it's about the heritage.

Then what is everyones issue with royal blue. Obviously part of our history isn't good enough so why should the rest be.

Yes you see it's about the heritage.

Then what is everyones issue with royal blue. Obviously part of our history isn't good enough so why should the rest be.

The issue with the royal blue is that it was never our colour. When colour TV came in, it was not all that flash and our dark blue came up as black. A decision was made to go to a lighter colour, hence the royal blue. We had no say in it and never regarded it as our own, not withstanding that Robbie Flower played his whole career in it.

... not withstanding that Robbie Flower played his whole career in it.

thankfully Robbie got to wear the navy blue and more importantly play finals football in his last year