Coach Voss

Posted

Would you like to see him coach the MFC next year?

Personally, yes.

People talk about his lack of experience being a major weakness.

Daniher has ten years experience and he still can't coach.

and what u reckon voss is just gonna walk into coaching role and win us a premiership? no mate he needs experience! theres alot to coaching then what u think buddy.. trust me i have even attended coaching seminars

can we try before we buy...

I year for nix ?? :-))

I'd take the risk. While I have been a big fan of Daniher and the way he has gone about promoting the club, I think a breath of fresh air coudl be what the playing group needs. Danners is a very good coach, no doubt about that, and he will succeed at another club like he has at the MFC. However Voss has got coaching greatness written all over him. You listen to his comments on Channel 10, and while he isnt the most cohesive in his speaking, you can see how his brain is just constantly working overtime analysing the moves in the game.

I love ND and I wish we could win a flag with him, but unfortunately I think the time has come.

The good thing about St. Kilda taking Ross Lyon last year was that they left a fair range of good quality coaches out there. Apart from Voss, I'll throw a few other names up there.

Guy McKenna ?

Gary O'Donnell ?

Mark Harvey ?

Grant Thomas ? *

* I'm kidding !

I wouldn't mind getting John Longmire in to coach, although after looking at the style of play that Ross Lyon brought down with him from Sydney, I'm not as keen on getting someone from Sydney as I used to be!

I think getting Voss would be fantastic, and I think it would be unfair to expect him to come in and win us a premiership straight away. He can build our club around the likes of McLean, Rivers, Sylvia, Jones etc and have us raring to go for the seasons to come. We have some great young players and having a guy like Michael Voss coaching them would only be a positive.

I wouldn't mind getting John Longmire in to coach, although after looking at the style of play that Ross Lyon brought down with him from Sydney, I'm not as keen on getting someone from Sydney as I used to be!

I think getting Voss would be fantastic, and I think it would be unfair to expect him to come in and win us a premiership straight away. He can build our club around the likes of McLean, Rivers, Sylvia, Jones etc and have us raring to go for the seasons to come. We have some great young players and having a guy like Michael Voss coaching them would only be a positive.

i really rate ross lyons and he WILL turn out to be a good coach.

On Voss, He looks like a bloke who coaches as he plays and anyone who doesn't step up to the plate, Voss will go off his red nut. That's what we need.

Good luck for the future ND.

i really rate ross lyons and he WILL turn out to be a good coach.

On Voss, He looks like a bloke who coaches as he plays and anyone who doesn't step up to the plate, Voss will go off his red nut. That's what we need.

Good luck for the future ND.

I'm curious as to why you rate him... I don't necessarily think you are wrong, just interested. I personally think that the style of play he brought down would not suit us at all. We are an attacking side - when we go straight down the guts we can beat anyone. The stop, start tempo footy is not our go at all. I believe Voss would encourage us to go in hard and go straight down the guts, a style that would win us plenty of games.

I don't know if that's what Daniher has been trying to do, but whatever it is, it's not working!!

Guy McKenna ?

Gary O'Donnell ?

Mark Harvey ?

Grant Thomas ? *

* I'm kidding !

SJX, of all the names youve listed, the one you're kidding about is probably the one best qualified for the job.

I'm curious as to why you rate him... I don't necessarily think you are wrong, just interested. I personally think that the style of play he brought down would not suit us at all. We are an attacking side - when we go straight down the guts we can beat anyone. The stop, start tempo footy is not our go at all. I believe Voss would encourage us to go in hard and go straight down the guts, a style that would win us plenty of games.

I don't know if that's what Daniher has been trying to do, but whatever it is, it's not working!!

Lyon's very high on accountabilty n that's what we desperately need. He won't cop laziness n playas not turning up to play.

His tactically pretty sound and looks to have plan A,B and C.

I agree we sux at tempo footy but i do think ross would have looked at our list and played to our strengths but who knows?

Voss is an unknown but he could change our mentality which the mfc requires.

I'm just sick of us building towards something only to have the rug taken right from under us. Either that be, the odd years, losing to bottom teams etc etc.

Who else is available? Before making any decision it's important to check everyone out.

I think you could rule out people like Sumich as I reckon he will have his eyes only on the Fremantle job. Mark Harvery, Gary O'Donnell are two obvious choices BUT are they actually good enough? They have gone for a few jobs and missed out every time, so is there something wrong with them? Longmire is there, McKenna would be an option too... would we go after Mark Williams from Sandy or is the AFL a bit out of his league?

I am undecided on Michael Voss as our next coach... he has been impressive as a commentator and also in interviews... as a leader he was hard and demanded the respect of others - he lead a team to three flags, he axed aka when they could not control him and his demeanour was always that of someone in control...

It would be a huge risk but Daniher had been in the system for a few years at both Essendon and Fremantle. He had been involved in both cultures - winning and losing. Daniher has been a conservative coach - this reflected in team selections and match day coaching... this is a major frustration!!

The other problem that I have is that this was meant to be our time - we had assembled the list to get a flag and well... so would a new coach have to rebuild, start again or is the expectation on for immediate success??

Voss is a 3 time Premiership Player, Brownlow Medal winner, All Australian.

Melbourne would be crazy not to seriously consider him.

If Everyone thinks Garry Lyon could walk straight in and coach, I cannot see why Voss couldnt either.

well strange you put it that way...I for one DONT think Gaz could walk sraight into a top afl coaching role. and Im still not 100% convinced that Voss can either. But warming to idea.

There seems many facets to coaching ( like der ) but point is with Danners we have half of them. What ND seems to seriously lack is game day nouse. He's constanly outflanked !!.

I suppose if Napoleon was available he'd be a good fit..lol.

Whoever the next coach is he will need to be far quicker on his feet. Will need to be a lot more lateral in approach and application.

The thing about the Lions team in its halycydon days was that it was , strong, no nonsense and talented.

poud for pound far more talented ( at moment ) than Melbourne is...its just an observation.

Can the type of 'styles' exhibited by BL be translated to the MFC . Does M Voss have more arrows to his quiver ?

Look he seems a good choice. But looks are deceiving. Craig looks anything but a coach...and he has trophies to mock that thinking !!

One aspect that I can imagine Voss bringing to the team is .. "no favourites" ...everyone would be on notice... Its all too cushy at moment. The ship is sinking but hey... pass the deckchair...yawn.... " i'm on him..thought you were !!"

I am impresssed so far, still very much in two minds, but ken to hear and see more. Decision reserved .

well strange you put it that way...I for one DONT think Gaz could walk sraight into a top afl coaching role. and Im still not 100% convinced that Voss can either. But warming to idea.

There seems many facets to coaching ( like der ) but point is with Danners we have half of them. What ND seems to seriously lack is game day nouse. He's constanly outflanked !!.

I suppose if Napoleon was available he'd be a good fit..lol.

Whoever the next coach is he will need to be far quicker on his feet. Will need to be a lot more lateral in approach and application.

The thing about the Lions team in its halycydon days was that it was , strong, no nonsense and talented.

poud for pound far more talented ( at moment ) than Melbourne is...its just an observation.

Can the type of 'styles' exhibited by BL be translated to the MFC . Does M Voss have more arrows to his quiver ?

Look he seems a good choice. But looks are deceiving. Craig looks anything but a coach...and he has trophies to mock that thinking !!

One aspect that I can imagine Voss bringing to the team is .. "no favourites" ...everyone would be on notice... Its all too cushy at moment. The ship is sinking but hey... pass the deckchair...yawn.... " i'm on him..thought you were !!"

I am impresssed so far, still very much in two minds, but ken to hear and see more. Decision reserved .

Im not suggesting that Lyon or Voss, could walk straight in, its just a general perception that I hear in the media, At the end of the Day we just want the best man available. Even experienced coaches dont have immediate success. Im sure that if someone like Voss were to coach he would bring in a team of experienced assistant coaches so it wouldnt be him alone in the Box. Finally he must have learnt something under Lee Matthews.

one thing he would have defintely learnt from Leigh is "good enough ' ISNT good enough!!

Iam quite curious ( as many I would think be ) as to whom Voss has as his 'team'.

To me this will say volumes about how he goes about it and the makeup of team ( players ) he has in mind.

I certainly dont expect overnight success from anyone. There's at least a good year's rebuilding/re-jigging !!

I'd be happy with either Lyon or Voss. I like Daniher as a bloke..but i think he has been here long enough and im ready for a change..even if it doesnt work out.

Voss should 100% be offered an assistent coaching job...at the very least

But would he take it? I think he has set his sights on a full time coaching job without going through those channels. At least I doubt he would want to work under Daniher.

Voss has all the criteria for a good coach except for experience. I too believed that this was a must until I watched him on Footy Classified last night, he has got me, hook, line and sinker.

Melbourne would be very silly to miss out on this opportunity, I am not fussed if he is to have one or two years learning the skills and art of being a senior coach and building a team for 3-4 years time because lets face it, our list needs work.

He is obviously 100% committed to coaching with admitting he already has assistants, medics etc in place and he demands respect. I would be very disappointed if we miss out on him.

straunie for coach.

On SEN today they said the rumor is Voss to Carlton, with Britain and Mcrae as his assistants.

As we have given ND the review paper I'd also slip one to Voss on the sly.

Voss is the one guy who i actually want, some i don't and others i wouldn't mind.