1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I suspect Collingwood will finish top 2 this year given their recruits and injured players returning, and therefore won’t finish lower than GWS.

This was the narrative most of last season.

Why do the Woods hold this "special" place, in the eyes of the deluded or brainwashed.

They also have the most talented players, and one in particular who never misses the mark.

It's a oke on all of us.

Edited by Kev

2 hours ago, Go Ds said:

I really don't get this. Surely the AFL want people watching their sport. Is it really that hard for channel 7 to make a profit from their accompanying ads on Saturday night? I mean if nowadays the scores usually look like those from the AFLW (and hence few ads during play) But they just aren't.

It’s the way sports go when they get big

EPL, NBA etc. none on FTA at all. NBA only shows 10% games on pay TV, you have to pay extra again for the league pass

Reason being so you have to pay for pay TV which bring in huge dollars for the game

14 minutes ago, DubDee said:

It’s the way sports go when they get big

EPL, NBA etc. none on FTA at all. NBA only shows 10% games on pay TV, you have to pay extra again for the league pass

Reason being so you have to pay for pay TV which bring in huge dollars for the game

The masses have the power though.

If we didn't want to feel privileged, and have a door that keeps the "others", (human nature), out. We could all refuse to buy subscriptions and be treated as equals.

It's like asking MCC members to join us in GA (general admission), or have your designated area GA. You just don't want an equal society. 

The ivory tower is for your kids and a few who get there via merit.

Edited by Kev

Has the Giants game started yet?

I’ll get in early and say - why did we push out Bedford and keep Chandler!?

🙄

7 minutes ago, Kev said:

The masses have the power though.

If we didn't want to feel privileged, and have a door that keeps the "others", (human nature), out. We could all refuse to buy subscriptions and be treated as equals.

It's like asking MCC members to join us in GA (general admission). You just don't want an equal society. 

Works in theory mate but i’d say most footy fans have either fox or kayo already so it will likely get worse 😩

stupid human nature! they are the worst

5 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Works in theory mate but i’d say most footy fans have either fox or kayo already so it will likely get worse 😩

stupid human nature! they are the worst

Wow, didn't know that.

Perhaps it is the closed circles you live in. So much for the cost of living crisis they talk about. All want the life of luxury and won't sacrifice to get stability. Good luck with the kids millennials. 

Edited by Kev

There are some appallingly double standards that Lachie Whitfield and Idun are free to play today and next week.

It’s easy to throw the book at kids and no names who were involved in the skits  but when it comes to a star player like Whitfield who should know far better, the AFL didn’t have the knackers to suspend him

4 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

There are some appallingly double standards that Lachie Whitfield and Idun are free to play today and next week.

It’s easy to throw the book at kids and no names who were involved in the skits  but when it comes to a star player like Whitfield who should know far better, the AFL didn’t have the knackers to suspend him

they will give nsw and qld clubs a leg up whenever and wherever they can

8 minutes ago, Kev said:

Wow, didn't know that.

Perhaps it is the closed circles you live in. So much for the cost of living crisis they talk about. All want the life of luxury and won't sacrifice to get stability. Good luck with the kids millennials. 

When the Broadcast Rights are sold in the $Billions, The Public take what they are given 

If you want to watch a game on Saturday off the TV you have to visit your local bar

4 hours ago, Kev said:

That is how it will feel for all free to air spectators. 

No Saturday night AFL for us, a fizzer of a season.

That is just insane! What are the AFL thinking allowing that to happen?

The grassroots/working class supporters will be denied some of the best football, simply because they may not be able to afford the cost of a streaming service!

it seems to be all about the dollars and [censored] the supporter base, many of who hold memberships with their clubs but for whatever reason, aren’t able to attend the game.

12 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

they will give nsw and qld clubs a leg up whenever and wherever they can

I’m in Sydney and a Foxtel subscriber, but this is so unfair. Are they trying to force people in Victoria to attend games, simply because you have the most clubs? It’s just plain wrong, however you look at it!!

21 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

When the Broadcast Rights are sold in the $Billions, The Public take what they are given 

If you want to watch a game on Saturday off the TV you have to visit your local bar

When I am a neutral observer, I don't get the one eyed supporters. I end up holding my tongue and I find that uncomfortable. My views aren't widely appreciated, by those drunks and over the top gamblers, looking for a fix. The group thinkers overwhelm me. They probably haven't heard of the existential angst of the "X" generation. Dadaism (nonconformity and absurdism), or nihilism (pointless). The millennials kids know what I am talking about. The addicted, drgs and gambling, not sure they have time for a "life that is examined". I am sure many posters here don't want me to comment, they have told me many times before.

Happy with what I have, not what is given.

My comments began with me replying to, a "fizzer" of a season. I reckon it is a fizzer of a season without Saturday night's.

Edited by Kev

1 minute ago, hardtack said:

I’m in Sydney and a Foxtel subscriber, but this is so unfair. Are they trying to force people in Victoria to attend games, simply because you have the most clubs? It’s just plain wrong, however you look at it!!

yea all this free to air kayo and foxtel stuff is complete bs, iam more alluding to northern academies tho

2 minutes ago, hardtack said:

Wait until the next round where Thursday or Friday night will go to another streamer.

It's almost inevitable.

In USA the NFL is already spread across three streamers or thereabouts

I’d scrap opening round next year and implement a split round 1 so you don’t have early season byes.

Have these 5 games on the Labour Day weekend:

Thursday night - Optus Stadium

Friday night - Adelaide Oval 

Saturday twilight - Gold Coast or Brisbane 

Sunday arvo - Sydney or GWS

Monday afternoon- Dogs V St Kllda at Marvel to give these clubs a slice of the public holiday action.

Then have the remaining 4 games on the following weekend, including 2 big games in Melbourne and the other 2 in the Northern States.

it's easy to forget that prior to foxtel there was scant highlights if you were lucky, friday night games that started at 7.10pm began replay broadcast at 8.50pm, and if you were lucky you got one game actually telecast 'live' per week

6 minutes ago, Kev said:

When I am a neutral observer, I don't get the one eyed supporters. I end up holding my tongue and I find that uncomfortable. My views aren't widely appreciated, by those drunks and over the top gamblers, looking for a fix. The group thinkers overwhelm me. They probably haven't heard of the existential angst of the "X" generation. Dadaism, or nihilism. The millennials kids know what I am talking about. The addicted, drgs and gambling, not sure they have time for a "life that is examined". I am sure many posters here don't want me to comment, they have told me many times before.

Happy with what I have, not what is given.

My comments began with me replying to, a "fizzer" of a season. I reckon it is a fizzer of a season without Saturday night's.

Foxtel pay more to the AFL than ch 7, sadly that is the reality 

In a few years from now FTA TV will not exist, nobody watches it, people Stream or watch YouTube 80% of the time. 
Nobody pays for advertising slots on FTA TV anymore…

9 minutes ago, hardtack said:

The AFL members area of the "G", is regularly underutilised at MFC games. That's a good quarter of the seating numbers.

3 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

it's easy to forget that prior to foxtel there was scant highlights if you were lucky, friday night games that started at 7.10pm began replay broadcast at 8.50pm, and if you were lucky you got one game actually telecast 'live' per week

Seems like we are heading back to that.

1 minute ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Foxtel pay more to the AFL than ch 7, sadly that is the reality 

In a few years from now FTA TV will not exist, nobody watches it, people Stream or watch YouTube 80% of the time. 
Nobody pays for advertising slots on FTA TV anymore…

Big statement but not too far from the truth. Youtube is a great resource. Some travel vloggers leave FTA for dead.

Second game for the year is about to go.

Goodluck to the game day posters, enjoy.

1 minute ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Big statement but not too far from the truth. Youtube is a great resource. Some travel vloggers leave FTA for dead.

I get ALL of my news from YouTube now

Mainstream news is shocking 

I hate both these teams so much. I hope the coin flip hits me in the head and knocks me out so I don’t have to choose. I’m going to barrack for (minor) injuries.