View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Australian Under 18 Championships 2017

On 2017-6-17 at 5:56 PM, Whispering_Jack said:

U18: Bottom-ager Lukosius stars in SA's big win

South Australia 4.2.26 6.5.41 12.9.81 17.10.112

Allies 1.3.9 6.4.40 6.5.41 9.7.61

Goals

South Australia Houlahan 4, Lukosius 3, Barry 2, Rankine 2, Fogarty 2, Giro, Rowe, Hewson, Rozee

Allies Dixon 2, Scott 2, Brander, Powell, Davidson, Richards, Bell

Bestย 

South Australia Lukosius, Coleman-Jones, Rankine, Edwards, Petty, Giro

Allies Bailey, Scott, Shipley, Bell, Highmore

A replay of the game is up on Youtube here:

ย 

ย 

The best 2 players for SA are 2 bottom agers not eligible this year says it all about this year's draft class,ย Lukosius is an absolute star in the making. ย I watched him live at the G in the academy game this year and was the best talent on the ground as a 16 year old, seems to have taken his game to another level since then.

Fogarty, classic underage gun. ย Not sure at AFL kind of reminds me of Shannon Hurn in a way without the prodigious kick.

Will head down to Punt Rd this Saturday to watch Metro V Country game, crap venue to watch footy as half the viewing area is closed. ย Hopefully they have opened up the outer wing again.

Edited by Melon22

Wonder if we can tempt a team (who we predict are on the slide) into trading their first round pick for next year in a similar vein to the Saints did with the Hawks last trade period - even if it involves sacrificing our first pick this year.

Everyone seems to be more excited about next years draft (although often this is the talk early in the championships) but there are a number of teams that will need extra picks to land the big name players bandied around.

Next year we still have the likes of Smith and Maynard to come into the side and Weid should continue to develop so could we leverage into getting two first rounders for next year in a stronger field. Thoughts?

• Author

This is the bloke everybody wants to look at during the under 18 national championships but he might not even play a game of footy after this year - Recruiters eye Will Sutherland's debut for Vic Metro at national championships

And this bloke is SA captain who also can play - Knightmare's AFL Draft Wrap: SA Captain the driving force

ย 

ย 

ย 

The game is being streamed on the AFL website tomorrow from 12pm for anyone interested.

ย 

The standard of this game in terms of attacking footskillsย is as good as I've seen at this level.

Edited by goodoil

2 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Who's your stand out goodoil?

Luke Davies-Uniacke has a good name with a hyphen to go with his ample skill set.

Yeah he's done someย very good things and a couple top class pieces of play.. ย  Adam Cerra, Joel Garner, James Worpel all look class players from their bits of involvement.ย but a lot of the smaller guys look very good too, Dylan Moore is one. ย It's been a terrific game.

1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Yep and though it's early days, I think Rayner should start acclimatising himself for the weather in Brisvegas.ย 

Stream hasn't worked for me, but was surprised to see some early phantom drafts have him at the back end of the top 10.ย 

Has it all (except fitness).

• Author

From what I saw of theย streamed game, the standard was excellent-

U18s Tiger cub thrills at Punt Road Oval

Vic Metro 4.1.25 9.2.56 12.5.77 15.7.97ย 

Vic Country 4.1.25 7.3.45 10.7.67 11.9.75ย 

Goals

Vic Metro Rayner 3, Higgins 2, Naish 2, Fogerty 2, Moore 2, Cerra, Sutherland, Stephenson, M.King

Vic Country Handley 2, Miers 2, Parish, Davies-Uniacke, De Koning, Williams, Johnston, Worpel, Daniels

Best

Vic Metro Garner, Naish, Penrith, Coffield, Constable, Moore, Higgins, Rayner

Vic Country Worpel, Miers, Clavarino, Paton, Handley, Clark, Dow

• Author

In the other game, WA easily dealt with the Allies.

England masterclass lifts WA U18s to victory

Western Australia 2.2.14 6.5.41 8.6.54 12.12.84ย 

Allies 1.1.7 2.4.16 5.8.38 6.8.44ย 

Goals

Western Australia Hill 2, Starcevich 2, Allen 2, Eastland 2, Mitchell, Cahill, Ameduri, Cramer

Allies Crossley 2, Dixon, Scott, Sambono, Simington

Best

Western Australia England, Cahill, Eastland, Boullineau, Ameduri, Starcevich, Taylor

Allies Crossley, Ballenden, Powell, Carr, Nutting

โ€ƒ

Stephenson is one player the club has spoken to - good outside speed and freak finisher .ย 

We have round 4 of the U18 championships on this afternoon at Etihad Stadium, both games are live on fox footy.

2.10pmย Vic Country V WA

4.40pmย Vic Metro V SA

for Vic Metro inclusionsย of note are Noah Balta and Andrew Brayshaw, Max and Ben King have both been rested for the game with a short turn around for round 5 on Wednesday.

On 26/06/2017 at 7:57 PM, CityDee said:

Stephenson is one player the club has spoken to - good outside speed and freak finisher .ย 

Yes probably a 15-18 draft pick so would be in the mix. But Joel Garner again showed why he would fit into our midfield as a "Gaff" like midfielderย 

3 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Yes probably a 15-18 draft pick so would be in the mix. But Joel Garner again showed why he would fit into our midfield as a "Gaff" like midfielderย 

He was touted as number 1 after the afl academy os trip and has slipped down the order butย Mate ย ( bias by meย )ย I played with his Father and reckon The young fella isย a star in the making - seriously .ย 

7 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Stephenson kicked 5 today for metro.ย 

• Author

The Under 18 championships end today - the games are being televised live on Foxtel.

But first the wrap up from Round 4 and one of my favourites, Jaidyn Stephenson was outstanding in the Vic Metro win over SA.

U18s: Stars shine as Metro seals win

Vic Metro 7.3.45 11.3.69 15.5.95 18.7.115

South Australia 1.1.7 4.2.26 ย 4.5.29 6.12.48

Goals ย  ย  ย ย 

Vic Metro Stephenson 5, Rayner 5, Sutherland 2, Constable, Petruccelle, Fogarty, Podhajski, Hayes, Xerri

South Australia Crowden, Kreuger, Lukosius, Rankine, Denton, Hewsonย 

Best

Vic Metro Stephenson, Rayner, Constable, Higgins, Brayshaw, Coffield

South Australia Rankine, Petty, Kreuger, Edwards, Martini

WA was too strong for the country boys.

U18: Bottom-ager Hill impresses in WA's win

Vic Country 1.1.7 2.2.14 ย 6.5.41 7.11. 53

Western Australia 3.4.22 ย 6.7.43 8.8.56 12.10.82

Goals

Vic Country Daniels 2, Quigley, O'Brien, Dow, Davies-Uniacke, Williams

Western Australia Fazioli 4, Allen 3, Stack, Ainsworth, West, Cramer, Young

Bestย