Dominic Sheed

Really surprising that i have read 5 phantom drafts tonight, not one has sheed in their top 10?

perhaps if Watts wants to go to Carlton we could trade him for their first round pick and use that on Sheed,

Pick 1 ( trade for established mid) James Aish, Dom sheed and then Luke Dunstan at 20, jones with the next pick after that would be a very handy outcome!

So, unless you travelled the country to see him play around Australia, you have seen him play once.

Forgive me if I take your opinion with a few grains of salt..

I think he is being overrated on here because he is a mid got a lot of ball in the carnival and kicked some goals. Missing the last part of the season with injury will hurt his ranking. It will be interested to see where he goes in the draft.

Where was Crouch rated in the mock drafts? I like the look of him.

I think he is being overrated on here because he is a mid got a lot of ball in the carnival and kicked some goals. Missing the last part of the season with injury will hurt his ranking. It will be interested to see where he goes in the draft.

Where was Crouch rated in the mock drafts? I like the look of him.

Couch seems to be a top 10 pick by most, anywhere between 5-15 very similar to where Ollie wines was rated last year really, having said that i wouldn't be surprised if we look at taking him earlier than he is expected to go, he is a clearance machine!

Trade watts for pick 9

Trade pick 1 for sidebottom and pick 12

pick up Aish at 3, crouch at 9, sheed at 12 and dunstan at 19 and our midfield is sorted long term.

Couch seems to be a top 10 pick by most, anywhere between 5-15 very similar to where Ollie wines was rated last year really, having said that i wouldn't be surprised if we look at taking him earlier than he is expected to go, he is a clearance machine!

Trade watts for pick 9

Trade pick 1 for sidebottom and pick 12

pick up Aish at 3, crouch at 9, sheed at 12 and dunstan at 19 and our midfield is sorted long term.

I like the look of Crouch, admittedly on one game but he reads the ball in ruck contests well and is strong at it. Reminds me a bit of Joel Selwood the way he goes about it.

IMO he’s the best inside midfielder in this year’s group. A competitive beast. May need to clean up his kicking a little, but he makes good decisions and doesn’t stop scrapping. He’s dominated in a pretty poor Nth Ballarat side this year.

He was highlighted on TAC Cup Future stars yesterday and won thr bestplayer award for his game in a losing side last weekend. He had 39 disposals and has averaged 36 in the TAC this year. A prolific inside/outside ball winner. Then only knock on him is his kicking.

Would love him and Sheed and Battersby.

Matt Crouch, North Ballarat Rebels

181cm 80kg

Comparison: Matthew Boyd

Crouch is a top-notch inside midfielder who excels at winning the hard ball. He is exceptionally tough and has an outstanding work ethic. Crouch, the brother of Adelaide's Brad, represented Vic Country at the U18 Championship despite having a broken hand. Crouch is a player that will go about his business without fuss for all four quarters. He is a leader at the North Ballarat Rebels, Crouch's character is shown in the way he plays. Like Bulldog Matthew Boyd, Crouch is a master of winning clearances around the ground, he is a true blue-collar worker. The defensive pressure that he applies is also very beneficial to his team. Unfortunately for Crouch, like Boyd he can often struggle with his kicking. Crouch's kicking must improve if he is to become a top tier player in the league.

Pick 1 to Adelaide for Brad Crouch & Dave Mckay, they would love a crack at Boyd. Off Course this is Hypothetical if we get a PP and the Crows may not take this but aim high. If Matt Crouch is as good at clearances as those in Victoria say who have seen him live could be a nice young midfield of the future with two x Crouches & Mckay added to what we already have

They'd never give up Crouch.

Two young kids are off limits for SA clubs, Wines and Crouch, they are players you build sides around.

My sources tell me young Crouch is as good, if not better than Brad Crouch.

They'd never give up Crouch.

Two young kids are off limits for SA clubs, Wines and Crouch, they are players you build sides around.

My sources tell me young Crouch is as good, if not better than Brad Crouch.

There is always a younger one who is the better footballer. He is a hard at it mid though and if that's what we want then he's the one in this draft from my limited viewing.

Sheed, Crouch, Durmont and Battesby would all be suitable options for us.

I see no reason we can't get Sheed, crouch and Dunstan if we trade well

Pick 1 to brisbane for pierce hanley and pick 7 i'm guessing they'll have

jack watts for pick 9

we will have 1,3 and 19 i imagine so that leaves us with 3,7,9,19 bang, scharenberg, sheed, crouch and dunstan all in red and blue.

I see no reason we can't get Sheed, crouch and Dunstan if we trade well

Pick 1 to brisbane for pierce hanley and pick 7 i'm guessing they'll have

jack watts for pick 9

we will have 1,3 and 19 i imagine so that leaves us with 3,7,9,19 bang, scharenberg, sheed, crouch and dunstan all in red and blue.

Hanley won't leave Brisbane and for pick 1, we lose out on that trade anyway.

Sides will want pick 1, we'd get a better deal than that.

Watts for pick 9 only happens if Watts wants out.

I think if we get a priority then 1,3 and 19 is enough to work with.

Sylvia leaving will probably be where we get another handy pick.

We'll need to trade our pick 1, consider it an investment to keep Frawley, we'll need a ready made mid.

We should see pick 1 as a bonus and trade it for an elite mid fielder.

Hanley won't leave Brisbane and for pick 1, we lose out on that trade anyway.

Sides will want pick 1, we'd get a better deal than that.

Watts for pick 9 only happens if Watts wants out.

I think if we get a priority then 1,3 and 19 is enough to work with.

Sylvia leaving will probably be where we get another handy pick.

We'll need to trade our pick 1, consider it an investment to keep Frawley, we'll need a ready made mid.

We should see pick 1 as a bonus and trade it for an elite mid fielder.

So who do we target if that's the case,

you'd say Carlton, Freo, Brisbane, Collingwood, Bulldogs, Saints, adelaide would all be very interested

GWS, Kangaroos, GC, Richmond, Hawthorn probably all have some interest

so my list of targets or acceptable trades would be

Carlton: Mark Murphy or Bryce Gibbs and a pick,

Freo: David Mundy and a pick or Nathan Fyfe,

Lions, Rich, redden or Rockcliff, probably would all need to add their first round pick

Pies: Sidebottom or Pendelbury or Beams or Swan

Dogs: Griffen or Libba

Saints: Jack steven and first round pick or Montagna and first round pick

Crows: David mackay and bernie vince or Rory Sloane and steak knives

Edited by Demonfan26

So who do we target if that's the case,

you'd say Carlton, Freo, Brisbane, Collingwood, Bulldogs, Saints, adelaide would all be very interested

GWS, Kangaroos, GC, Richmond, Hawthorn probably all have some interest

so my list of targets or acceptable trades would be

Carlton: Mark Murphy or Bryce Gibbs and a pick,

Freo: David Mundy and a pick or Nathan Fyfe,

Lions, Rich, redden or Rockcliff, probably would all need to add their first round pick

Pies: Sidebottom or Pendelbury or Beams or Swan

Dogs: Griffen or Libba

Saints: Jack steven and first round pick or Montagna and first round pick

Crows: David mackay and bernie vince or Rory Sloane and steak knives

I think we target Collingwood, the rest of those sides won't let their quality go.

We have to work with what little advatnages we might have - which would be our ability to pay Sidebottom and co more than they'd get at Collingwood.

Of course we need to perhaps pay overs to get some quality here, but we desperately need that quality.

Target the top sides, players who might be getting pushed out the midfield - like Luke Parker in Sydney.

Players who might be getting paid less than the big stars - like Sidebottom or other players at Collingwood.

I'd ask the question to Rockcliff and co, but I reckon we target the top sides who's salary caps are already bursting.

I think we target Collingwood, the rest of those sides won't let their quality go.

We have to work with what little advatnages we might have - which would be our ability to pay Sidebottom and co more than they'd get at Collingwood.

Of course we need to perhaps pay overs to get some quality here, but we desperately need that quality.

Target the top sides, players who might be getting pushed out the midfield - like Luke Parker in Sydney.

Players who might be getting paid less than the big stars - like Sidebottom or other players at Collingwood.

I'd ask the question to Rockcliff and co, but I reckon we target the top sides who's salary caps are already bursting.

Totally agree mate, Sidebottom would be my target for that reason, not quite in their start bracket but would be right up there for us, he'd get a pay rise and all that, They'd get boyd but would we get Sidebottom and their first pick if we milk it?

I have seen Dominic Sheed and rate him a top 5 selection.

It is bizarre that some phantoms have him 15-18.

(Crouch is definitely top 10).

I agree, i wouldn't be spitting chips if we took him pick 2 or 3

This kid should be front of mind, ahead of Aish. Get a look at his under 18 form. Clearly the best player as highlighted by the best player medal.

Tough, skilled, good pace, perpetual motion, leadership, goalkicker, tackler ... I rate him the best midfielder in 2013 draft.

This kid should be front of mind, ahead of Aish. Get a look at his under 18 form. Clearly the best player as highlighted by the best player medal.

Tough, skilled, good pace, perpetual motion, leadership, goalkicker, tackler ... I rate him the best midfielder in 2013 draft.

For sheer class it's Aish with Kelly and Billings not far behind.

For attack on the ball and grunt it's Crouch by a fair way, a real clearance specialist.

Sheed seems to cover off a lot of areas of the game (don't agree on the pace though, a bit one paced) but is not a standout in any. Maybe it means he has more upside in development, he certainly raised his profile with the carnival games, it's just a pity we don't get to see any more, or little more of him this year.

If we do get a PP and that is say picks 2&3 i think we would be crazy not to have a good look at Sheed he would compliment Aish really well, having said that i would prefer we took Sheed and Scharenberg

Morton and Watts also won Larke medals. It means little to nothing.

Btw, what are your credentials to rate any junior ? I'm not suggesting you're not qualified btw, just interested to know your involvement.

I haven't seen much junior footy this year, other than a couple of the championship matches and Sheed underwhelms me. So when I see him not making top 10 in phantom drafts it only reinforces my view from the little I've seen. A player could get 35 disposals in a match, but I watch what they do with it, how they position themselves, how they contest, their decision making, their movement, their all round disposal skills, their pace, etc.

Morton and Watts also won Larke medals. It means little to nothing.

Btw, what are your credentials to rate any junior ? I'm not suggesting you're not qualified btw, just interested to know your involvement.

I haven't seen much junior footy this year, other than a couple of the championship matches and Sheed underwhelms me. So when I see him not making top 10 in phantom drafts it only reinforces my view from the little I've seen. A player could get 35 disposals in a match, but I watch what they do with it, how they position themselves, how they contest, their decision making, their movement, their all round disposal skills, their pace, etc.

Haha if they are averaging 35 I'd be guessing they position themselves well.. But I do get your point.

I watched each champ game, obviously living in Vic unable to watch his club games but as good as I could view on the TV I was quite impressed with Dom.. He is a player who understands his limitations.. I'd say his pace is probably his one main 'weakness' but he trusts himself to have a bounce and not get caught.. He doesn't just run aimlessly.. Reminds me of Selwood smarts. I found him to be quite excellent on both sides of his body which was surprising given I see him more as an extractor of the footy than a receiver.

Another thing I quite liked was his ability when going forward to impact the scoreboard. He seemed quite competent on the lead or crumbing and Marc Murphy is showing how having no forward ability as a mid can be a huge detriment if you're getting tagged.

Obviously aware of the Larke curse, but I see the intangibles you speak of as Sheed's best assets. I think he is very smart both with his positioning, his use and if you watched the game he hurt his collarbone against Vic Country, he had copped a tag the whole day and had the ability to beat it through hard running and footy smarts. He finished off kicking 4 goals and having 29 touches that day.

For mine definitely a player who would suit our needs. What are your thoughts on him out of curiosity BH?

Edited by Demon Land 7

Haha if they are averaging 35 I'd be guessing they position themselves well.. But I do get your point.

I watched each champ game, obviously living in Vic unable to watch his club games but as good as I could view on the TV I was quite impressed with Dom.. He is a player who understands his limitations.. I'd say his pace is probably his one main 'weakness' but he trusts himself to have a bounce and not get caught.. He doesn't just run aimlessly.. Reminds me of Selwood smarts. I found him to be quite excellent on both sides of his body which was surprising given I see him more as an extractor of the footy than a receiver.

Another thing I quite liked was his ability when going forward to impact the scoreboard. He seemed quite competent on the lead or crumbing and Marc Murphy is showing how having no forward ability as a mid can be a huge detriment if you're getting tagged.

Obviously aware of the Larke curse, but I see the intangibles you speak of as Sheed's best assets. I think he is very smart both with his positioning, his use and if you watched the game he hurt his collarbone against Vic Country, he had copped a tag the whole day and had the ability to beat it through hard running and footy smarts. He finished off kicking 4 goals and having 29 touches that day.

For mine definitely a player who would suit our needs. What are your thoughts on him out of curiosity BH?

I haven't seen enough of him, but... in the brief amount I have he looked a little slow, made poor decisions and was an ordinary left foot kick. To this point in time I don't understand the hype. But upon seeing him more often I very well may.

The way the game is played today high possession numbers in the odd game don't mean much. I don't dismiss it out of hand, as I've always been a believer that finding the footy is a great skill in itself and one this club lacks.

I haven't seen enough of him, but... in the brief amount I have he looked a little slow, made poor decisions and was an ordinary left foot kick. To this point in time I don't understand the hype. But upon seeing him more often I very well may.

The way the game is played today high possession numbers in the odd game don't mean much. I don't dismiss it out of hand, as I've always been a believer that finding the footy is a great skill in itself and one this club lacks.

I implore you to watch more.. He's actually a brilliant long left foot kick. I could understand you saying his right lacks some precision but his left foot goal from one step outside 50 showed his kicking class. Over short he hits targets too, I think you've misjudged that.

As for the pace, certainly is his concern but the theme I've found watching him and even reading about him around the traps is that he has enough pace in the first 3 steps to get himself out of trouble.. At the end of the day that's all you really need. Mitchell, Selwood, Boyd, Kennedy, O'Keefe all aren't quick, but they known when to turn on the jets just to get time and space. That's how I see Sheed.

I'm only a semi young bloke myself and have coached Jack billings a potential high draft pick in both footy and athletics so last time I spoke to him I asked about Dom.. Couldn't speak higher of him and said the only reason they beat WA was the coach had set a plan to double tag him all week.. Interesting I thought.

Well then that's why he underwhelms you. You clearly haven't seen enough of him.

I don't understand how you rate someone like Kelly above Sheed when Kelly is the meaningless outside possession gatherer that you referred to in your earlier post.

Sheed wins his own ball, goes forward and kicks goals, captained WA, has a nice left foot with great awareness and agility and Hogan speaks highly of him as a past teammate.

The Hogan remark alone should be enough to win you over I would have thought..

I disagree on Kelly and am underwhelmed by Sheed. No biggie. What I think matters diddly. Don't be concerned by my amateur view.

If I see lots more I may very well change my mind. But it won't matter anyway. Unless Sheed is available at around pick 19 we won't be getting him anyway. It appears that anyone who watches junior footy doesn't rate him top 5 and certainly not top 3. But I'll watch his career with interest.

I haven't seen enough of Kelly either, but I know class and one touch players when i see them.

But I couldn't give a toss about Kelly either. Or Boyd. I'm over caring. I'm over talking.

Edited by Ben-Hur