Headhunting vs. Interview

Should we headhunt or interview for a new coach? 56 members have voted

1. 1. Should we headhunt or interview for a new coach?

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

The question isn't interview or head hunt, it's application or head hunt. All parties will be interviewed long and hard and the position discussed in detail. We will head hunt the people we think are worth talking to, but will we accept applications from other candidates not on our short list?

We certainly should

even just to help confirm the attributes that our selected preference has.

An option out of the blue may possess some factor in greater proportion than is recognised from existing knowledge it is why the interview wether from applicant or selected must be diligent

We certainly should

even just to help confirm the attributes that our selected preference has.

An option out of the blue may possess some factor in greater proportion than is recognised from existing knowledge it is why the interview wether from applicant or selected must be diligent

Dpositive, we will be headhunting our coach between now and the end of the season. I'd imagine we already have a shortlist (Roos, Clarkson, Eade, Williams and Worsfold), we will speak to them individually, show them what we are doing behind the scenes, find out what they want, will have a couple of meetings, finalise our order of preference, get Vlad to approve, then target them one by one until we get "our man".

If we get to the bottom of our shortlist and are still coachless, then we open it up to the world. This will be a week or so after the Grand Final.

The MFC/PJ/AFL will know very soon, if they don't already (which is entirely possible), who it is that they want to coach. They are not going to frig around putting an ad on seek.com to see who else is "out there".

I don't think it's that difficult to understand that the above is the current situation we are in at the moment. Rightly or wrongly it won't happen any other way.

Our next coach will be either Roos,Choco or Eade so interview in that order.

Clarkson would be my choice but the Dees won't be where the Hawks are today in 5 years so why would he.

Do you not like 'Bomba' Thompson? not worthy of a phone call?

he would definately be one I'd call on the phone, to arrange a meeting over a toasted sandwich & a coffee.

excuse me for saying so, but in our present state, I don't feel excited myself by the thought of either of Eade or Choco? so I can only imagine the rest of the supporter base, may not be very enthused either. to me, they're 3rd tier types. they would help our ladder position, but not our culture, & not much of a boost to our bottom line position.

As far as I know they have already started headhunting. Managers have been spoken to - a mate manages in the indystry.

I think you only Head Hunt two people, Roos, Clarkson then if they are not interested you offer invitations, to Eade, Williams, Aryes, and just for the sake of it Pagan, Ratten, Dean Laidley, Neil Daniher, Grant Thomas ??

If we end up with Knights I may just sell my computer and throw my tv out the window. Will keep my membership on annual renewal and occasionally write letters to Paul Roos thanking him for the great work he's doing with our footy club.

I would say that some sort of minor preliminary talks have already taken place, Surely when PJ met with the AFL and asked for a hand out it would have been to cover the out going and he incoming. They would already have a fair idea who the new coach will be and would be now working behind the scenes learning which on the current list that coach would like to retain.

Why would you go and ask for money if you didn't know how much to ask for?

Gerard Healy didn't say MN wold be gone in a matter of weeks for no reason.

I would say that some sort of minor preliminary talks have already taken place, Surely when PJ met with the AFL and asked for a hand out it would have been to cover the out going and he incoming. They would already have a fair idea who the new coach will be and would be now working behind the scenes learning which on the current list that coach would like to retain.

Why would you go and ask for money if you didn't know how much to ask for?

Gerard Healy didn't say MN wold be gone in a matter of weeks for no reason.

Indeed.

I also reckon Garry Lyon saying the Gerard Healy would be best placed to head the recruitment of the next coach has a little bit of mayonnaise on it too...

Headhunt for sure. Perhaps some bloke from FoxSports.......... :)

As far as I know they have already started headhunting. Managers have been spoken to - a mate manages in the indystry.

In some cases it might be worthwhile to speak direct to the coach rather than the manager. Worked for Freo.....

Anyway....I think it would be best to work feverishly and secure someone within the next month, there's a great deal of work to be done and the list to consider as well as player retention.

Then there is the FD to re-shuffle. If it takes longer there may be one or two other clubs in the market. In fact, there may already be one...