• Author
5 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

As a kid that was probably the most expensive ice cream ever purchased. Probably returned three or four empty coke bottles as a down payment.  I won't mention Mr whippy or uncle Bitters will probably chime in.

Since you have come out, I will as well and declare "honey crunch vanilla" is my favourite ice cream flavour.

As for Gelati I love the coffee based flavours.

Each to their own, whatever floats your boat. 
if your concerned about someone else’s decisions on these personal topics. 
Gaytimes or chocolate.

perhaps look at a mirror and question yourself,  personally Aldi dark peppermint

at its price is the very best, My darling loves it and so do I, 

• Author
4 minutes ago, 640MD said:

Each to their own, whatever floats your boat. 
if your concerned about someone else’s decisions on these personal topics. 
Gaytimes or chocolate.

perhaps look at a mirror and question yourself,  personally Aldi dark peppermint

at its price is the very best, My darling loves it and so do I, 

I like the peppermint chocolate crisp bar. Always been a favourite, but not really a fan of peppermint ice cream.

I think peppermint belongs in a chocolate bar, or tea.

The peppermint and dark chocolate goes very well with a glass of Shiraz or cab sav.

as I can attest to right st this moment. Cheers

I do wish the trade period was over.

then we could agree of disagree about JT and his picks.  Then the training reports about the house falling down and we will be champions next year,

and before you know it Xmas and it’s next year and footy starts in 6 weeks. 

and this wasted year will be behind us. We had absolutely no football luck in the last 6 or 7 weeks .
I do like this thread, a little bit of bull shizen goes a long way and F all offence taken, 

2024 then !

the flag, Oliver Brownlow, Tracca the norm smith, and Petty the Coleman 

go dees

and winning lotto would be nice

Edited by 640MD
Extra

3 hours ago, 640MD said:

I do wish the trade period was over.

then we could agree of disagree about JT and his picks.  Then the training reports about the house falling down and we will be champions next year,

and before you know it Xmas and it’s next year and footy starts in 6 weeks. 

and this wasted year will be behind us. We had absolutely no football luck in the last 6 or 7 weeks .
I do like this thread, a little bit of bull shizen goes a long way and F all offence taken, 

2024 then !

the flag, Oliver Brownlow, Tracca the norm smith, and Petty the Coleman 

go dees

and winning lotto would be nice

If wishes were horses!

640 i suspect you are doing more drinking than eating!

12 hours ago, leave it to deever said:

Golly i'm old enough to recall seeing these guys.

Had two hits and i recall they sounded a bit ho hum / flat.

Might have played the Manhattan or the Burvale.  Either way i remember sticky carpets and i never wanted to go back haha.

The glug was the best.  Didn't mind the orange one either was that the Razz.  If you didn't get gold writing (rarely) i seem to recall it was always red otherwise.  Maybe black.

And deaver what Sacrilege!  Wait till it melted then down the hatch!  Wasted on those Windsor fellas.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

15 hours ago, leave it to deever said:

Remember the if you had yellow writing on the inside of packaging, you got a free one.

Yep....a schoolmate of mine's parents had a milkbar....   resultingly he knew all about the "Frees"..  there was actually a particular coding on the outside that verified the inside...If you knew what to look for ;)

We were at a milkbar just opposite Central Park Malvern way way way back...   We went in...searched through teh freezer cabinbet and both selected our Sunny Boys......ate them...went back in for our frees.......ate them....both went back in for our Frees....  The owner told us in no uncertain terms about coming back in !!! ...dint mind...we were pretty full as a goog by then ;)   We had a lot of frees ;)

Love the McDonalds fudge sundae.  A shocking admission, I know.  Also get a flat white at the same time, which is perhaps passable.  The hamburgers are of course, homogenised and lacking the taste of those sizzling and charring at the local shop.

10 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

If wishes were horses!

640 i suspect you are doing more drinking than eating!

To be clear. Only 3 glasses of wine. At a time.

if I have much more , it’s definitely not good.  Too bloody old !

During the year when I waded through other club(s) fan sites to do the 'What They Are Saying @...) threads, I noticed some referred to 'Demonland' as 'Boomerland'!!  I laughed and laughed but thought better of mentioning it in those threads. 

The last few pages of this thread suggest this is a good place to drop their little pearl...' !!! 😉

Edited by Lucifers Hero

3 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Yep....a schoolmate of mine's parents had a milkbar....   resultingly he knew all about the "Frees"..  there was actually a particular coding on the outside that verified the inside...If you knew what to look for ;)

We were at a milkbar just opposite Central Park Malvern way way way back...   We went in...searched through teh freezer cabinbet and both selected our Sunny Boys......ate them...went back in for our frees.......ate them....both went back in for our Frees....  The owner told us in no uncertain terms about coming back in !!! ...dint mind...we were pretty full as a goog by then ;)   We had a lot of frees ;)

Sunny boys - used to do similar  though I remember the printing on the seam used to be slightly different.

One thing is the same; been thrown out by the shop keeper when they worked out what we were doing.

16 hours ago, Redleg said:

I like the peppermint chocolate crisp bar. Always been a favourite, but not really a fan of peppermint ice cream.

I think peppermint belongs in a chocolate bar, or tea.

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/productdetails/673350/peters-barney-banana-ice-cream

Maybe better than paddle pops.

4 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Bubs where were you during my entire childhood.

I reckon i might have scored two or three grrr.

1 hour ago, leave it to deever said:

Ughhh nooo!  In their hey day there was no comparison imv.

The ice cream in the pops was melt in the mouth stuff and weird favouring in the Barneys.

I used to live on Choc Paddle Pops in Spring/Summer.  Those and the Streets Frosty Fruits.  At one point there were real pieces in them.

According to Red though, the Pops have gone up the proverbial creek without their paddle now.

38 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Ughhh nooo!  In their hey day there was no comparison imv.

The ice cream in the pops was melt in the mouth stuff and weird favouring in the Barneys.

I used to live on Choc Paddle Pops in Spring/Summer.  Those and the Streets Frosty Fruits.  At one point there were real pieces in them.

According to Red though, the Pops have gone up the proverbial creek without their paddle now.

I loved the pineapple slice. 

But paddle pops were pretty good. 

I remember just a plain icy pole cost only 5 cents. Probably costs five times that every hour today just to keep em frozen.

55 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

My earliest recollection of gambling. I reckon I only got about two or three as well. And I bought a ton.

I used to buy them from the funds of bottle collecting. I went through a stage where much to my parent's ire, I hoarded empty bottles around the side of the house instead of returning them.

Turned out to be quite fortunate as one night the refund went from ten to twenty cents. My portfolio had doubled and it was sunnyboys and comics galore.

One thing of yesteryear I really miss is the fireworks. Joy robbers. Probably for the best.

Oh what fun they were.

On 10/4/2023 at 9:06 PM, The heart beats true said:

Ghost are playing at John Cain Arena tonight. I was driving down Olympic Boulevard and all of sudden it looked like Halloween, but with mostly middle aged men in too much make up.

It’s been a weird week.

I watched our B&F live-streamed on a huge screen at The Precinct Hotel in Richmond with about 50 or 60 Demon Army members in various stages of drunkenness.

In terms of leaving the pub to go home, my timing was terrible. I got to Flinders St station just after a Weezer concert at John Cain Arena had finished. There was literally thousands of people there. I then spent the train-ride home in a carriage full of middle-aged stoners.

Good times 😳

57 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

I loved the pineapple slice. 

I remember just a plain icy pole cost only 5 cents. Probably costs five times that every hour today just to keep em frozen.

Actually the fruit one may have been the slice now that you've mentioned.

6 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Great post Beelzebub. And that was true, or it certainly was at Southvale Primary. The code was similar to Levis jeans, something like 502. 

1 hour ago, leave it to deever said:

I loved the pineapple slice

I’m pretty sure it was called a pine-lime Splice, as opposed to slice. They came in raspberry as well. They were great in that they were a hybrid of ice-cream and icy pole. 

I did love a Buffalo Bill. It was the ice cream that kept on giving. Blowing bubbles for hours afterwards 

1 hour ago, Demonsterative said:

I did love a Buffalo Bill. It was the ice cream that kept on giving. Blowing bubbles for hours afterwards 

The Bubble O’Bill. The bubble gum nose was the best. The advent of Hubba Bubba pretty much left all other bubble gum by the wayside. 😫 The only contender to give them a challenge in the beginning was Spurt, the Betamax of bubble gum. 😁

6 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

I woulda had the normal returns on "frees"  had it not been for the inside info. A word from my Dad..don't get greedy... so you'd just churn one glug or razz or sunnyboy .. then move on...  twas easy peasy when you knew how.  Unfortunately  no secret deal on choo choo bars or redskins lol