Posted

Jones is under-rated by a few of the more learned members of Demonland etc.

This site is like a Richmond forum after a loss sometimes. Players are slammed for not having the skills of a triple Chas winner. Chunk is a bloody good player who puts in hard every week. Sure he isn't GAJ but he is not Robinson Crusoe on that one.

For the first time in a long time we have a list to be proud of and the NQR's are making way for real footballers but we seem to want to pot those that are helping us win games.

FFS we are moving forward. Some players will have up and down journeys but as long as they work well as a team we shouldn't care - that is the FD's worry.

Geez I hope no MFC players read this site.

• Replies 164

Posted

Jones has adapted to change,became more diverse and reliable and his kicking has improved dramatically. Like most of our midfielders- will keep on improving.

Posted

Youre still talking like he's already on the list..

and yes, i did think of his name along the way, but was smart enough to know not to bring him up yet. demon_wink.gif

You were also the one smart enough to bring up that there would not be significant change in the midfield set up from the current one to the next Premiership, that there would be "No need to build anymore."

My argument presented examples of significant change to the dynamic make-up of the midfield. And, Viney wasn't the only example I gave that could present a change to the midfield. By all means focus on him all you want.

Let us not forget what you stated:

.....there wont be that many more significant changes between now and our next prem.. the changes have been made, now we just need to grow..
The list is there. No need to build anymore. Thats the point.

I disagree I think the midfield dynamics will change somewhat, you beg to differ.

Posted

Where HAVENT you written him off?

He wont be in our prem team.. he's borderline at best.. he hasnt got the skill.. never be 'premium'.. Im sure theres a dozen more..

Do you post in your sleep?

He could have just been dropped for a rest. He's played EVERY GAME this year! No mention from anyone at the club in any of the press interviews, that he was dropped on form.

Didnt he allude to something 'personal' going on, on his twitter at the time as well? He definately wasnt himself at the time.

Maybe a combination of things meant it was time just for a rest.

You cant seriously say Jones is our 23rd best player atm.

We need our best 22 out there and he's well inside that.

Youre still talking like he's already on the list..

and yes, i did think of his name along the way, but was smart enough to know not to bring him up yet. demon_wink.gif

Your ability to decipher plain messages is gobsmackingly poor.

I've said that I wouldn't get rid of Jones. I've said that he'll play 150+ games of AFL footy. I've said that if the sun and moon aligned he may play in a premiership team - but it's doubtful. What I've done is say that he'll never be a premium, or A grade midfielder and that when we're realistically challenging for a flag he'll be a fringe player. How is that "writing him off" ? It's a realistic assessment of his capabilities.

His 5th year is inferior to Scully's first. Now I accept that Scully is an exceptional player and I reckon he'll be a star of the game, but it also speaks volumes of Jones ability as a midfielder.

Get used to these sorts of discussions re Jones, because when he's in and out of the team over the next couple of years you'll be having lots more of them and ultimately you'll be left scratching your head.

Posted

I think some people struggle to make the distinction between "writing a player off" or being pragmatic.

Posted

I think some people struggle to make the distinction between "writing a player off" or being pragmatic.

Agree with that, it's a common issue when discussing a player.

One thing I have noticed is that the higher the draft pick the more defensive some are.

Posted

IMO Jones is a victim of the list.

Im not saying people are going past hime, but you can only have so many midfielders in the team.

He isnt quick enough to tag, but along with beamer is our "in & under" hard player...

I hope we can keep him going forward as he adds awesome depth...

Posted

You were also the one smart enough to bring up that there would not be significant change in the midfield set up from the current one to the next Premiership..

You absolute numbnut.

Im convinced you are being dumb on purpose now..

You actually quoted me saying "there will be N O T T H A T many significant changes" -(and i never mentioned the midfield either! Im talking about the whole team)-

THEN JUST ONE LINE LATER try and tell me i said " there will be N O significant changes in the MIDFIELD" - after you just put the correct quote in, 5 seconds earlier. WTF?

Two TOTALLY different statements.

Ive obviously given your intelligence too much credit or youre being a tool on purpose. Ill let you pick.

..and yes, again, I believe there wont be THAT MANY significant changes to the Midfield Or the team, from this current set-up to the next prem team.

From where weve come from, from all the draft picks weve had in the last few years and all the good young players we have (and you didnt answer me last time so i'll try again)......

Isnt 18, 1st and 2nd round draft picks, more than enough of a chance to recruit a premiership winnng team? (which imo, weve done)

What more do you want / expect?

BETTER YET, Why dont you attempt to explain what changes you obviously expect to happen in the midfield between now and our next prem?

Instead of mis-quoting people to suit a very poor arguement, why not add to the conversation?

Posted

If you're not worshiping the ground a player is standing on, you're writing him off. It is that black and white. I thought everyone knew that.

Posted

Your ability to decipher plain messages is gobsmackingly poor.

I've said that I wouldn't get rid of Jones.

Get used to these sorts of discussions re Jones, because when he's in and out of the team over the next couple of years you'll be having lots more of them and ultimately you'll be left scratching your head.

Seriously H, you contradict yourself from one post to the next.. (and your messages are ANYTHING BUT plain or easy to comprehend.)

If you cant see that, then i feel very sorry for you and the war you must wage with the other half of your personallity!

I NEVER said that you wanted to get rid of Jones.. Show me where i said that? Youre making up information and then using that fabricated information to support your arguement. Very poor form.

I said youve written him off- and then provided a number of very clear quotes to prove it.. YOU thinks Jones is not up to it, will be unbelievably lucky to be in a prem side etc.. IE: You wrote him off.

Im not going to go round in circles if youre not up to understanding it. Go back and re-read the thread.

"Get used to these sort of Jones discussions"..

Mate, I back the kid, he's doing it now and see no reason why he cant keep doing it.. and if he doesnt make it, my judgement will have been totally wrong.. fair to say?

YOU have unequivocally labelled him in no uncertain terms - and if he continues his good work and improvement and does make it -

youre going to look like the biggest dud ever to post on demonland, thanks to your over commitment.

Again.. Time will tell huh..

Posted (edited)

Lost the plot again Dan..?

Offering us NOTHING but one line intrusions with absolutely no intellectual substance as per usual - which actually HIGHLIGHTS your level of intelligence more so than the intrusion itself - again E25..?

Its 10 to 7 on a Saturday nite here in Perth mate, im about to go and have a good nite out wth some friends.

Its 10 to 9 there in Melbourne and your at home typing on your computer..

Hmmmm.. now i just feel sorry for you.

EDIT: and you should form your own opinion instead of just sucking up to long-time posters, who probably dont know who you are anyway.

Edited by DemonDan...
Posted

Dan, I have an iPhone.

I multi-task quite a bit.

Still pretty early on a sat nite though, don't you think?

Don't worry about me & my mates, I'm sure we'll just as much fun as you & yours.

And to be honest, I'd rather be succint when replying to your post.

No point sorting through all the rubble.

Ps. & who am I sucking up to?

I just read through the thread and saw that you seem to be losing the plot again.

At the risk of calling the kettle black, you seem to be engaged in a pissing contest, rather than discussing the topic at hand.

Your move.

Posted

I NEVER said that you wanted to get rid of Jones.. Show me where i said that? Youre making up information and then using that fabricated information to support your arguement. Very poor form.

I said youve written him off- and then provided a number of very clear quotes to prove it.. YOU thinks Jones is not up to it, will be unbelievably lucky to be in a prem side etc.. IE: You wrote him off.

Im not going to go round in circles if youre not up to understanding it. Go back and re-read the thread.

Isn't "writing him off" synonymous the same thing as "wanting to get rid of him"?

Posted

Two TOTALLY different statements.

Ive obviously given your intelligence too much credit or youre being a tool on purpose. Ill let you pick.

..and yes, again, I believe there wont be THAT MANY significant changes to the Midfield Or the team, from this current set-up to the next prem team.

From where weve come from, from all the draft picks weve had in the last few years and all the good young players we have

Ugh ! This is like telling my children to go clean their teeth...for the third time !

I wish I could just reply "can you read my last post again", but I'm afraid you'll get lost again. So spoon feeding is in order.

Fwiw, I haven't misquoted you. Where I have placed " " and the quotes in boxes (all nice green/aqua & colourful) are all correct quotes from your post(s). So please don't try and misrepresent - it's poor form.

Re-visiting what you stated (which are the same quote tags I used in my last post - which you HAVE said): -

.....there wont be that many more significant changes between now and our next prem.. the changes have been made, now we just need to grow..

and...

The list is there. No need to build anymore. Thats the point.

Of which I disagreed. Because (to add to the conversation again) the list will still turn over (of which it must as per rules) and the midfield will have a different look about it in someway shape or form as opposed to the current midfield. Now, I have already used examples of Gysberts, Blease and Tapscott. I haven't ruled out Jetta and even though it may be 2 years away, I have used Viney as another example. There is retirement(s) (Junior), then there is the possibility of other new draftees, which will be drafted into the club. Who they might be and whether they will become a cog for the midfield is an unknown at this stage - but it cannot be ruled out. Trades might also come into consideration - you can't rule out that possibility either.

So these are the examples of my argument. Look around at AFL sides today. Take Collingwood for example. Wellingham, Ball, Jolly IN O'Bree OUT - they are just four changes off the top of my head that have represented significant change to the dynamics of the Pies midfield - this year.

Many sides have changed or slightly altered their midfield make up/ rotations through the midfield make-up on a yearly basis. Much like a revolving door.

Isnt 18, 1st and 2nd round draft picks, more than enough of a chance to recruit a premiership winnng team? (which imo, weve done)

What more do you want / expect?

What do I want ? I want what every Demon member/fan should want - a flag. I want every stone turned over in pursuit of the best. I want a rolls royce midfield that will give us our best chance. A sustained period of winning games that will put our team in the best position possible to win a flag. It might be a bit much to ask for some. But don't you ? I definitely don't see your view. Which is we've *recruited more than enough to do the job.

*I did something similar like this in a previous post...(That is not a quote by the way DemonDan ie. no quote tags - but it sums up your view).

BETTER YET, Why dont you attempt to explain what changes you obviously expect to happen in the midfield between now and our next prem?

See just above, again ! Please don't make me tell you to brush your teeth go over this again !

To add to your comment "No need to build anymore", I find that hard to believe that supporters out there should even think that. AFL sides constantly build, re-jig, accordingly.