View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Pick 11

I'd be inclined to say Vardy is the best option. He seems to be pretty highly rated by a lot of people and he addresses our biggest weakness. Not only is he apparently a pretty good ruck, he can play forward and do some damage. Given that at least one of the key forwards listed will probably be around at 18, he's the one i'd like to see us take at 11.

Serhart Temel

It's a very slim chance admittedly, but I wouldn't rule Butcher out completely at 11. If Richmond take Martin or another Vic mid it could happen.

My dream result would be to get 2 of Butcher, Talia, Carlisle, Vardy, Panos and Griffiths (in that order) with picks 11 and 18. If the club had confidence in Griffiths body I'd be unsure about whether to have him just ahead or just after Carlisle. Panos' height is a concern for me, you have to be very good to play as a kpp at 192.

192?????

Oh [censored]! just forget about him RIGHT NOW! Everyone on here knows how players go at 192!

Is there any chance of him growing 1cm more?

It's a very slim chance admittedly, but I wouldn't rule Butcher out completely at 11. If Richmond take Martin or another Vic mid it could happen.

My dream result would be to get 2 of Butcher, Talia, Carlisle, Vardy, Panos and Griffiths (in that order) with picks 11 and 18. If the club had confidence in Griffiths body I'd be unsure about whether to have him just ahead or just after Carlisle. Panos' height is a concern for me, you have to be very good to play as a kpp at 192.

wasnt Neitz 192?

11 is too early for Vardy and Temel, imo.

if you reckon 11 is too high for temel, do you reckon he will last til 18?

I don't know enough about him, but from my limited viewing the query would be over his athleticism at AFL level. He's got legs like tree trunks on him already, but won't have the same strength advantage that he in the TAC. Carlisle was very quiet in the GF, but he has the pace, height and athleticism that's required at AFL level.

I'm not saying that Temel won't be a quality AFL player, but there's more uncertainty about him and he'll be more limited in the role he can play. I'd be very surprised if he was picked in the top 20.

I don't know enough about him, but from my limited viewing the query would be over his athleticism at AFL level. He's got legs like tree trunks on him already, but won't have the same strength advantage that he in the TAC. Carlisle was very quiet in the GF, but he has the pace, height and athleticism that's required at AFL level.

I'm not saying that Temel won't be a quality AFL player, but there's more uncertainty about him and he'll be more limited in the role he can play. I'd be very surprised if he was picked in the top 20.

Hannibal I could not agree more. I would have queries over how Temel would go against men or opponents his own height, his flexibility and lack of perceived endurance/athleticism. I know you can only play against the opponent given but I would not touch him with any of our first four picks. Carlisle was quiet but there were things he did which really grabbed my attention. Would not take him at 11 but has potential at 18.

Hey all,

For those who have their hearts set on Talia at Pick #11 - I'd be making other plans.

The reason Carlton gave up Pick #11 was because that they identified Talia will be gone (either to the Hawks, Power or Bombers) before selection #11, and they weren't prepared to overall for Griffiths (who looks set to miss the majority of 2010 already).

Serhat Temel will be a 3rd/4th Round/Rookie selection.

Good mark, good kick, good size ... but they are outweighed by: lack of speed off the mark, no footy brain.

Serhat needs to learn when to lead properly and that you cannot just sit in the goal square and call for the ball when your team mate has it on the wing.

Seems a decent prospect though.

Guys, I was all over picking up Morabito at number 2 and was content with the idea of picking up Trengove but now that we have pick 11 does that force us to pick up Butcher at 2? Butcher regarded by many as easily the best key forward and picking up a player that is in Butchers shadow simply because we need a key forward seems a waste of a high pick when we could pick up a gun in Luke Tapscott for example.

1. Scully

2. Butcher

11. Tapscott

OR

1. Scully

2. Trengove/Morabito

11. Carlisle/Talia

???

Guys, I was all over picking up Morabito at number 2 and was content with the idea of picking up Trengove but now that we have pick 11 does that force us to pick up Butcher at 2? Butcher regarded by many as easily the best key forward and picking up a player that is in Butchers shadow simply because we need a key forward seems a waste of a high pick when we could pick up a gun in Luke Tapscott for example.

1. Scully

2. Butcher

11. Tapscott

OR

1. Scully

2. Trengove/Morabito

11. Carlisle/Talia

???

i could be wrong.. but you would think Port will pick up Tapscott with their pick.. and if they do trade shaun burgoyne to hawks for their 1st round pick.. then there will probably be 0 chance of him being around at pick 11

If port get hawks pic 9 you'd think they'd take the two Adelaide boys in tapscott and panos.

IMO carlisle is not worth pic 11, and if port do take panos and someone does go with talia and butch ealier it would be a great chance a decent mid could slide.

Edited by Carn dees

1. Scully

2. Butcher

11. Tapscott

OR

1. Scully

2. Trengove/Morabito

11. Carlisle/Talia

???

No to Butcher at 2. Just because we have the extra pick does not improve Butchers kicking and make him less of a risk as an early key forward pick. take him with 11 if there but 2 is too early based on what I know.