Posted

Inspiring yet sad indeed.

I think we all believed it to be a very brave thing when we found out at some stage that Clint had played under those circumstances (against the Crows).

For me though it wasn't until I read about all the human elements of it all that it really comes home. Not just a player of the footy club you support but a young man. You just can't say enough how brave he was to get out there and play that day.

It also sinks in how a young person like Clint and his family (or any family for that matter) have to deal with a loss like this throughout the future while life goes on for so many other people.

Posted

If the kid doesn't play 150 games for us it won't be for lack of guts and character. Good luck Clint.

Posted

You could see on Clint's face that day that he was hurting.

Condolences again to Clint and his family from all at Demonland.

Clint was our sponsored player in 2007 & 2008 and he has always done us proud.

Posted

I was literally gonna cry, Good article. We seem to be getting quite a bit of attention from individual players in the newspapers these days. Thanks to Martin Flanghan.

Posted
I was literally gonna cry, Good article. We seem to be getting quite a bit of attention from individual players in the newspapers these days. Thanks to Martin Flanghan.

I must admit I was choking up a bit reading that story. Amazing effort by Clint to play footy that day. While Clint is prone to the odd skill error now and then , I reckon his efforts this year have been a huge improvement from last year. He is pretty hard at the footy for a small bloke and I would think the experiences of the last few months in particular have made him a much tougher unit on the footy field. Inspirational Clint, well done mate!

Posted

Truely inspirational. Well done Barts!

Posted

Amazing article, made me very emotional.

My sincerest condolences to Clint and the family. He must be a man of amazing character, just like it seems his father was.

Posted

Great article, I choked up too. Anyone who has lost a parent from a youngish age would know just how bloody tough Clint must be to have pulled himself together enough to play on the day. I went through something similar to Clint and could barely function at all for about two weeks. Playing footy or doing anything that required even the least bit of concentration would have been utterly out of the question.

It's an incredibly brave effort that I hope is not lost on supporters of our club, or on anyone else who follows this sport.

Posted

It's funny. I've never really had a dad. My mum left him and took me with her when I was very little. I've barely ever seen him since. If he died, I'd be sad, but it wouldn't have the same effect on me as if my mum died.

People talk about how hard it is to lose a parent, but really, it's not about that at all. I would think it's more about losing anything you depend on for constancy. Clint's dad has been there for him his entire life. Now that he's gone, it's hard for him to adapt. But I don't have that problem.

What I'm trying to say is that we've both lost our fathers, but it doesn't make me sad that I don't have mine, because I never really did. It seems that the more you have, the worse it hurts when you lose something.

Poor guy.

Posted

I read the article this morning and teared up. Anyone who has ever lost someone they loved could understand the pain Clint is going through.

I've always had a lot of time for him but reading what he's gone through in his young life has only made me respect him more.

Posted

Great article, I read it this morning. Very sad to hear about what Clint has gone through, and It's good to hear that it hasn't affected his desire to play for the team.

Losing his Dad just before a game must've been tough.

Posted
Great article, I read it this morning. Very sad to hear about what Clint has gone through, and It's good to hear that it hasn't affected his desire to play for the team.

Losing his Dad just before a game must've been tough.

WOW .... what does one say amongst the tears. This can only make Clint a sronger person. Good luck Clint

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.