View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Our Birthday Celebrations

Posted

Alrightie, i posted a topic like this a while ago, but that was before anything was properly planned.

Friday July 11, at about 7, we're organising for everyong to go to the St Kilda Bowls club to celebrate our club's 150th birthday. We decided the Thursday would be too hard, but what's one day amongst friends?

There'll be a big screen tv set up showing season highlights. We'll see if we can organise some food, though i think they serve food there anyway.

We'll also be taking donations that will be given to the club and we're also trying to set up a raffle (which shouldn't be too hard, i hope)

All in all it should be a great night where we can all meet up and celebrate our birthday, of course with cake.

I've emailed the club to see if we could get a player or two to come down, or if they could help in any other way.

If you'd like to help out set up or anything like that, i'd love to hear any suggestions, PM me or just reply here, otherwise we'll just see you there!

We've set up a facebook page for it here\

Again, any ideas would be welcomed, and i look forward to seeing you there!!

Alrightie, i posted a topic like this a while ago, but that was before anything was properly planned.

Friday July 11, at about 7, we're organising for everyong to go to the St Kilda Bowls club to celebrate our club's 150th birthday. We decided the Thursday would be too hard, but what's one day amongst friends?

There'll be a big screen tv set up showing season highlights. We'll see if we can organise some food, though i think they serve food there anyway.

We'll also be taking donations that will be given to the club and we're also trying to set up a raffle (which shouldn't be too hard, i hope)

All in all it should be a great night where we can all meet up and celebrate our birthday, of course with cake.

I've emailed the club to see if we could get a player or two to come down, or if they could help in any other way.

If you'd like to help out set up or anything like that, i'd love to hear any suggestions, PM me or just reply here, otherwise we'll just see you there!

ill be there. beer will be there.

it will be happy

I will be there. i didnt think they served food. Maybe a bowl of chili can be organised?

• Author

I'm sure we could just order pizza or whatever.

We'll organise some cake! Everybody loves cake!

Far out i'm excited now!

• Author

Mick, i'm thinking of adding a "Melbourne FC Tax" to each drink.

Each drink, you chuck 50 cents or so into the Melbourne donations jar.

With that, do you think we should add it to the 150 syndicate (is that what it's called) or just give it to the club so they can do with it what they want?

Thats a great idea!! Love to meet some of you guys. Raise some money for the club. I live in elwood so that's easy to make. Great Idea

With that, do you think we should add it to the 150 syndicate (is that what it's called) or just give it to the club so they can do with it what they want?

I reckon that would be sensational.

At the moment, our latest Syndicate has become Demonology/Demonland/Facebook, as all those donating via the "I'd give the Melbourne Football Club $2 to help them out" group will be included.

We might even see if the bar staff can do it themselves, and then tally it up - that would FORCE people to do it!

Have a G.S.T. (M.F.C) Tax on everything sold that night. No excuses Pay up or else. All Taxes and Donations straight to the club. This Debt must be wiped & Fast

Get a player or two to be barman for an hour. That would get people in and not a long night for the player. They might even enjoy it. Try to get there

• Author

Haha yeah that's awesome!

All great ideas, thanks heaps guys.

Speaking of raffles (because we all were) there will definitely a MelbourneFC I llustrated history going up on the night, so you could score one for as little as two dollars!

If any of you have anything you would like to raffle, or auction, feel free to bring it. We can keep it behind the bar or whatever so it'll be safe, and it would be a good way to shift some old things you might not want anymore, but still raise money for the club.

For instance i have an old clock i no longer want, so will probably put that up

Anyone have any ideas how to ask players? Any of you facebook stalkers haha

I invited all my Melbourne supporting mates via facebook, and some seem really keen!

Give it to the MFC Footy dept' to use on developing our young players into great players. the footy dept' has allways been underfunded.

There is a stage there with mixer & good speakers so Robbo's band would be great if they turned up to play some tunes. Also young Connolls likes to mix with people & sing & dance. (chris of course)

• Author

If we could get anyone from the MFC, my choice would be Chris Connolly. The man is a comedic genius, great fun to talk to.

Getting any past players would be fantastic as well

I've been there once or twice & they have a kitchen there set up to cook stuff & they also have bar-b-ques so maybe someone can organise some salads & stuff in the kitchen to sell with hamburgers &/or hotdogs etc, all funds help the club.

Why not contact the club and try and get our new prez down to the bowls club. You can only ask. and i am sure he would love to know of any Fundraising for the club..

• Author

We're onto it WYL. We spoke to Jimmy today, he said it was a great idea, and that he would do his best to make it.

I also spoke to a Jennifer at the club, who is brilliant, and she' sent me a few pieces of merchandise that we can auction off.

I'm bringing lots of little melbourne things that hopefully people would throw a couple of dollars at buying.

We're working hard to get at least a few past players there, but it would definitely be great if we got Jim

We're onto it WYL. We spoke to Jimmy today, he said it was a great idea, and that he would do his best to make it.

I also spoke to a Jennifer at the club, who is brilliant, and she' sent me a few pieces of merchandise that we can auction off.

I'm bringing lots of little melbourne things that hopefully people would throw a couple of dollars at buying.

We're working hard to get at least a few past players there, but it would definitely be great if we got Jim

Did you speak to them about the possibility of holding it at the Bentleigh Club or the Leighoak? That was the club can benefit more from us having a function.

By the way - I might see if I can organise a MFC cake or something...

45 hotgod, I'm there, in fact I can't wait. I'll bring the audio of the 1964 premiership to warm us in in the early stages.

To get Stynesy down there would be superb. A great way for us to know exactly how to best Raise funds for the future, events like this need to be reguliar. wherever they are held. Great stuff 45.

• Author

Thank mate, though i am getting heaps of great help!!

Wow, audio of the 64 grand final! Wow! Can't wait! Would love to auction off a copy of that if you could make one!

To get Stynesy down there would be superb. A great way for us to know exactly how to best Raise funds for the future, events like this need to be reguliar. wherever they are held. Great stuff 45.

When I spoke with Stynes earlier in the week he was interested in what we were doing. I sent him an email invitiing him along explaining what we had planned. Jennifer and I exchanged emails and she said she sent it to him. I encourage all Demon supporters to come along and celebrate.

It would be good if this topic was put on the first page and highlighted.