View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAMEDAY: Practice Match vs North Melbourne

It's finally Game Day and the Demons, under new head coach Steven King, will run out onto the field with a new looking lineup and a brand new midfield when they take on the Kangaroos this afternoon at Casey.

2026 match simulation

Melbourne v North Melbourne
📆 Friday, February 20 
📍 Casey Fields
📺 Fox Sports & Kayo from 4pm AEDT

Gates Open at 3:30pm

Match sim format

• 4 x 20 min quarters (time on for goals and out of bounds plus any significant delays in play)

• Q1 & Q3 breaks = 6 mins

• Q2 break = 20 mins

Melbourne squad

2. Jacob Van Rooyen

3. Christian Salem

4. Harvey Langford

5. Xavier Lindsay

6. Caleb Windsor

8. Jake Lever

9. Jack Steele

10. Daniel Turner

12. Koltyn Tholstrup 

14. Changkuoth Jiath

15. Ed Langdon

16. Bailey Laurie

19. Xavier Taylor

21. Matthew Jefferson

22. Blake Howes

24. Trent Rivers

25. Tom McDonald

26. Jed Adams

27. Max Heath

28. Brody Mihocek

30. Harry Sharp

31. Bayley Fritsch

32. Tom Sparrow

33. Latrelle Pickett

36. Kysaiah Pickett

37. Kade Chandler

39. Ricky Mentha Jnr

44. Luker Kentfield

ABSENT: May, Viney, Gawn, Culley, Bowey, Melksham, Matthews, McAdam, Campbell, White, Petty, Berry, Onley, Johnson, Henderson, AMW.

North Melbourne squad

1. Lachy Dovaston

2. Finn O’Sullivan 

3. Harry Sheezel

5. Caleb Daniel 

7. Zane Duursma

8. Bailey Scott

9. Luke Davies-Uniacke

12. Jy Simpkin

15. Dylan Stephens

17. Riley Hardeman

19. Griffin Logue

20. Nick Larkey 

21. Callum Coleman-Jones

24. Tom Powell

26. Luke Parker

27. Jack Darling

30. Charlie Comben

32. Toby Pink 

37. Cooper Harvey

38. Tristan Xerri

39. Zac Becker (SSP train-on player)

41. Jacob Konstanty

44. Cam Zurhaar

46. Robbie Hansen jnr

ABSENT: Corr, Wardlaw, McKercher, McDonald, Spargo, Urquhart, Fisher, Dawson, Goad, Thredgold, Curtis, Mikuda, Goater, George, Jackson, Whitlock, Stevens, Banch, Trembath

Alot of pressure on Norf today they simply have to show they are improving in leaps and bounds.

I just can't see where this improvement is coming from though.

It's a free swing from the Dees in 2026 all the pressure and BS of the last 3 years has been released.

A newly installed game plan and vision from the board, looking forward to seeing where this sense of freedom can take us.

Go Dees!

Give em hell.

Thanks will read this thread during today.

We have every chance this year to surprise others and perhaps ourselves .

Top 8 probably not, anywhere else yes. But for a couple of panic attacks last year we would have finished the year in a better position. Personal pluses and minuses but mainly a proactive coach

We could go either way. Very interesting Go Dee’s

@Bring-Back-Powell on the prematch thread you mentioned Max, Riv and Koz* and whether they’d be playing today. They will be playing but with managed minutes, in particular Max who won’t get as much time on ground as usual.

Also on the prematch thread someone asked about starting times. Depending on who you ask the main match starts at 4pm, 4:15 or 4:30. The reserves match starts from 6:30pm. The day is scheduled to finish at 8pm.

*I asked Kozzy if he’d be playing today and he said, “If I’m selected.” 😅

• Author
Just now, Ghostwriter said:

@Bring-Back-Powell on the prematch thread you mentioned Max, Riv and Koz* and whether they’d be playing today. They will be playing but with managed minutes, in particular Max who won’t get as much time on ground as usual.

Also on the prematch thread someone asked about starting times. Depending on who you ask the main match starts at 4pm, 4:15 or 4:30. The reserves match starts from 6:30pm. The day is scheduled to finish at 8pm.

*I asked Kozzy if he’d be playing today and he said, “If I’m selected.” 😅

Max isn't in the squad.

Just now, Demonland said:

Max isn't in the squad.

Oh, my bad. I didn’t know that. So, his managed minutes amount to zero, then. 😁

Another shameless plug for our sausage sizzle.

Please come to the DA tent for a delicious and very cheap feed. Don’t make me bring unsold items home. My precious little chooks love the bread but my son is so over sausages that if I bring even one into our house he’ll vomit.

IMG_1659.jpeg

See y’all there!

GO YOU MIGHTY DEES!!!

3 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

@Bring-Back-Powell on the prematch thread you mentioned Max, Riv and Koz* and whether they’d be playing today. They will be playing but with managed minutes, in pa

Thanks mate.

I wonder if Kozzie and Rivers will have a full game against Richmond next week. That would be a solid work load for those two heading into round 1.

22 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Alot of pressure on Norf today they simply have to show they are improving in leaps and bounds.

I just can't see where this improvement is coming from though.

They have a similar issue to the Dogs IMO - their defence.

It's what will hold the Dogs from making the top 4 and North from making the top 10 in my view.

Wardlaw, McKercher and Curtis are key outs for them. Obviously we have our fair share too.

And Melksham out for us. I wonder if that's a little sign that he's not in King's immediate plans.

• Author
49 minutes ago, 2029_brownlow_medalist said:

anyone know if there is a live stream for the 2’s?

I would assume not. It won't be on Foxtel/Kayo and neither the Demons nor the Kangaroos have any mention of a stream for the 2s game which starts at approximately 6:30pm and comprises of three periods of match sim.

Just checking, Demonland pre season game rules haven't changed this year? If we lose, it's just a practice match and means absolutely nothing. If we win then the flag is ours for the taking, anything less than top 4 is a complete and utter failure?

• Author
1 minute ago, sam6172 said:

Just checking, Demonland pre season game rules haven't changed this year? If we lose, it's just a practice match and means absolutely nothing. If we win then the flag is ours for the taking, anything less than top 4 is a complete and utter failure?

Yep. It's only a practice game if you lose.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Another shameless plug for our sausage sizzle.

Please come to the DA tent for a delicious and very cheap feed. Don’t make me bring unsold items home. My precious little chooks love the bread but my son is so over sausages that if I bring even one into our house he’ll vomit.

IMG_1659.jpeg

See y’all there!

GO YOU MIGHTY DEES!!!

$2.50 for a drink is a bargain in this economy.

• Author

MELBOURNE’S pre-season preparations will step up a gear on Friday 20 February, with the Dees set to take on North Melbourne in a match simulation at Casey Fields.

The hit-out will be Melbourne’s first match simulation against external opposition this pre-season, offering a valuable opportunity for players to build match fitness as preparations continue for the 2026 AFL season.

The match simulation will begin at 4pm and will be played under modified conditions, with no limit on players or rotations. The contest will consist of four 25-minute quarters, with the clock stopping after goals only.

Gates will open at 3:30pm.

Quarter breaks will be set at six minutes for the first and third intervals, with a 15-minute main break, while a two-minute scenario will be played at the end of the second and fourth quarters using full match timing.

Later in the day, Casey Demons will also be in action at Casey Fields, featuring in a match simulation starting at approximately 6.30pm.

The VFL hit-out will consist of three 25-minute quarters, with six-minute breaks between each period.

Fans attending Casey Fields can also enjoy a range of partner activations, activities and food trucks throughout the day, including face painting, Demon Shop and membership activations, SEDA inflatables, the Demon Army sausage sizzle, and a carnival ride, making it a great day out for the whole family.

For those unable to attend, every match simulation will be broadcast exclusively live on Fox Footy, available via Kayo Sports and Foxtel.