View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Suggestion for Demonland Podcast Opening Music/Announce

Demonland Podcast Opener Suggestion V1

Gday folk,

This is a short proposal to Demonland for a new Podcast Opening Music Track/Pod Announcement - so to intro the podcasts.

There are many ways that one could 'introduce' the gang and the platform. They've relied upon the old C'mon Demons music, aka late 1980s as an intro. Some on other threads have suggested an update.

So, this is a suggestion.

Along with other music we/I have proposed to the MFC, to take onboard some fan inspired music, yet beyond the label of "fan art", as we are professionals in sound and picture design etc - with a love for the club.

On behalf, I'm posting here to seek your response or any feedback of this short track.

We can develop it in any number of ways. And to spice it up and introduce more energy if required.

The purpose is to suggest to Andy and the team a refresh music intro for their podcasts. And or how ever you may phrase it... to invigorate the podcast and to lift the sounds and pictures of the Demonland "space" in general.

In additions, and for instance, six6six and his endeavours produced a great music track titled 'Addicted To the Red And The Blue.' Whereby we re-imagined his efforts into a more cinematic music rendition here: https://on.soundcloud.com/Vy4fstxzT4bCoB6rsK

Let us know if we're barking up the wrong tree, so to speak.

We're here to help lift our feelings of what a great club we are fortunate to support.

Thanks for your time reading this post.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Best,

Stem Splitters

• Author
2 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Purchase a Demonland membership, and then we can speak, pal.

Ha. The "membership" I/others spend on is time to produce. Not to pin repos off the cuff just b/c someone has 'paid' a monetary price.

If that's the platform then they'll lose out in the end, so things do.

Let's hope they're more sincere.

To be completely honest, I don’t really know what is going on here. I will say though, I don’t listen to podcasts for the intro tune (but do enjoy the nostalgia of ‘cmon demons).

I like the 80s retro vibe of 'C'mon Demons' makes me feel like tapping my moccasins whilst watching Ch7 VFL footy on a Sunday morning in my PJs whilst my mum made me toast 😁

Appreciate the time and effort that was put into the track. It's a no from me though. The "C'mon Demons" song is cheesy and objectively a terrible song. It is however, a piece of Demons history and much like the new Demons membership drive videos, having it at the start of the pod is a bit of humourous poke at our past. I smile every time I hear it. I occasionally watch the video just to cringe/laugh at it.

10 hours ago, Stem Splitters said:

Demonland Podcast Opener Suggestion V1

Gday folk,

This is a short proposal to Demonland for a new Podcast Opening Music Track/Pod Announcement - so to intro the podcasts.

There are many ways that one could 'introduce' the gang and the platform. They've relied upon the old C'mon Demons music, aka late 1980s as an intro. Some on other threads have suggested an update.

So, this is a suggestion.

Along with other music we/I have proposed to the MFC, to take onboard some fan inspired music, yet beyond the label of "fan art", as we are professionals in sound and picture design etc - with a love for the club.

On behalf, I'm posting here to seek your response or any feedback of this short track.

We can develop it in any number of ways. And to spice it up and introduce more energy if required.

The purpose is to suggest to Andy and the team a refresh music intro for their podcasts. And or how ever you may phrase it... to invigorate the podcast and to lift the sounds and pictures of the Demonland "space" in general.

In additions, and for instance, six6six and his endeavours produced a great music track titled 'Addicted To the Red And The Blue.' Whereby we re-imagined his efforts into a more cinematic music rendition here: https://on.soundcloud.com/Vy4fstxzT4bCoB6rsK

Let us know if we're barking up the wrong tree, so to speak.

We're here to help lift our feelings of what a great club we are fortunate to support.

Thanks for your time reading this post.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Best,

Stem Splitters

G'day @Stem Splitters. Thanks for your interest in the pod and the work you've done on an alternative intro song, and the thought you have put into it - very much appreciated.

Ultimately its @Demonland's call, but my two cents is C'mon Demons has been used as the intro since the start of the pod (which was before i joined) and for better or worse is part of the show. In some ways it's a gag, in the so bad it's good vein.

And given its vintage (ie 80s), it's also a nostalgic nod to the fact that the show is hosted by two old blokes, and a slightly younger bloke, who have fond memories of the 80s era. I'd add that it's also a nod, albeit an unintentional one, to the somewhat loose, unpolished vibe of the show - in reality it is the very definition of a niche podcast that is never going to get a big audience.

That's to say C'mon Demons is part of the show, one i can't see us changing (but again, it's @Demonland's call).

I do take your point about looking for ways to invigorate and/or improve the show, and again thanks for your interest on that front. But to be honest, i reckon a good starting point to improving the show would be for me to work on not interrupting so often, not banging on for so long and not repeating myself (note to self - work on that stuff).

All that said what i would actually like is the original being cleaned up, remastered so to speak (ie as opposed to say being remixed, sampled or edited) to take out the crackle and slight sonic wobble it has in parts (i might be wrong, but i think @Demonland took the audio from a cassette tape). And, for fun, i wouldn't mind a dub or minimal techno remix of C'mon Demons. Perhaps i could use it as the stinger for the Stats file!

Besides, if it was ever going to be changed it should be Hammer Smashed Face by Cannibal Corpse 😄