View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

💔💔💔💔Dees tell Oliver to accept a change of role and he’s not guaranteed a place in the starting line up in 2026. Crazy!! Not sure about the “inside the four walls” knowledge. Is it salary cap? Is it off field issues? Is it the thinking that he won’t ever be able to deliver the footy ? Any or all could be right.

It’s another ugly unsettling off season like the end of 2025. We were horrible on field in 2025. Sure close losses but we also had a near full list in terms of players available.

The King has arrived and is set to disrupt the list. It’s a tough one, seeing our champions and premiership stars like Trac, Clarry and May told it’s ok to ho elsewhere. Love to keep you but perhaps you’re better off finding a new home. That hurts.

We signed them to long term contracts and celebrated it with media release glorification. Now we are seemingly tearing them up and being the gutless party that’s throwing them out and not willing to fulfill the contracts. MFC signed the contracts. What is that telling us about our internal culture?

And the media leaks. Ffs!!! Tom Morris must have the rooms bugged. It’s embarrassing.

Dees members and supporters are resilient. We are and have to be!!

But again this is testing us !!!!!!

Edited by spirit of norm smith
U

15 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

💔💔💔💔Dees tell Oliver to accept a change of role and he’s not guaranteed a place in the starting line up in 2026. Crazy!! Not sure about the “inside the four walls” knowledge. Is it salary cap? Is it off field issues? Is it the thinking that he won’t ever be able to deliver the footy ? Any or all could be right.

It’s another ugly unsettling off season like the end of 2025. We were horrible on field in 2025. Sure close losses but we also had a near full list in terms of players available.

The King has arrived and is set to disrupt the list. It’s a tough one, seeing our champions and premiership stars like Trac, Clarry and May told it’s ok to ho elsewhere. Love to keep you but perhaps you’re better off finding a new home. That hurts.

We signed them to long term contracts and celebrated it with media release glorification. Now we are seemingly tearing them up and being the gutless party that’s throwing them out and not willing to fulfill the contracts. MFC signed the contracts. What is that telling us about our internal culture?

And the media leaks. Ffs!!! Tom Morris must have the rooms bugged. It’s embarrassing.

Dees members and supporters are resilient. We are and have to be!!

But again this is testing us !!!!!!

No DHead policy.

Petracca for Ainsworth, Flanders and Humphrey.

Oliver for pick 32 and Derksen

McVee for pick 29

Spargo for pick 37

Pick 55 for Miochek

Pick 37 for Heath

May needs to if we are going to use pick 32. I'm not sure who he goes to.

McAdam and Laurie have to be delisted then put on the rookie list.

B: Lever, Petty, Derksen

HB: Salem, Turner, Bowey

C: Culley (a), Flanders, Langford

HF: Ainsworth, van Rooyen, Humphrey

F: Fritsch, Miochek, Melksham

FOLL: Gawn, Rivers, Pickett

IC: Lindsay, Langdon, Windsor, Viney, Chandler

Casey

B: White, Adams, Draft pick 23

HB: Howes, McDonald, Moniz-Wakefield (a)

C: Sinnema (a), Laurie (a), Draft Pick 29

HF: Mentha (b), Johnson, Sharp

F: McAdam (a), Kentfield (a), Jefferson

FOLL: Heath, Tholstrup, Sparrow

IC: Campbell, Berry (b), Pick 32

Edited by WERRIDEE

Another missed target. Are we just lamb's to the slaughter 🫠

Edited by MurDoc516
We*

As much as it hurts to let our favorite flag heroes go, this could be our chance to set ourselves up for the long term without spending 3-5 years of gathering top end picks at the bottom of the ladder. Langford, Windsor, Koz, XL, Bowey, JVR, Riv, Culley, Luker, Kolt, Disco is a solid group of young players. Add Humphrey and 2-3 more young guns to that group (before Tassie comes in) and we would have more than enough to get this list looking very promising.

We also need to bring in this young talent whilst we have a good chunk of leaders and senior role models for them to learn off. We can’t afford to end up like we did in late 2000’s or how North has been for the last 7 years! Gawny, Lever, Viney, Mcdonald, Melky, Langdon, Mihocek, Salem, Fritsch, Sparrow, Chandler & Petty is a solid group of senior leaders across all lines that can usher in the new wave. I don’t personally see all of them as best 22, but most have something to offer us due to their experience.  

To bring these youngsters in we need to say goodbye to some value/stalwarts;

May is not only almost finished as a player, but I don’t really believe he is no good for our culture moving forward. Tmac offers more both on field and as a leader and role model for youngsters. So overall, I don’t think his departure hursts us at all. Thank you for the epic 4-5 Seasons Maysie, but it’s time to move on. Get whatever we can for him.

After last year’s tantrum and this year’s request to bail on us, I think it’s best if we let Trac go and get the best we can for him. Can’t say I am happy about it, nor am I happy at how he has acted the past 18 months, but he has value so let’s cash in while we still can.

Clarry I would be happy to hold onto, but it sounds like Kingy has a plan and he isn’t part of it. It will be super hard to see him line up for another club, but a fresh start is probably needed for both parties and there is no denying he has had a bigger part in our recent dramas than most.

The one that really hurts IMO is Judd, I saw him as a long-term top 10 player for us and I’m frankly [censored] that he has bailed on us after we took the chance on him as a rookie when no one else did.

Here is my dream scenario (more picks can be swapped back and forth to smooth these over, but this is the gist of what I want)

Trac & F1 for Humphrey and pick 6

26, Spargo Compo and Mcvee for 12 (Freo)

Clarry (and contract), May pick & F3 for pick 13 (GWS)

Total result for Dees 2026:

Out: Trac, Clarry, May, Mcvee, F1, F3 & Pick 26.(big contracts and a few late picks)

In: Humphrey, picks 6, 12, 13. Mihocek, Sinema, Kalani. (Money to spend moving forward)

If you told me 12 months ago, we would lose Clarry, Trac, May and Mcvee I would have said close the bloody doors! But if we manage to pull off something like the above it would certainly give me some excitement and optimism for the future.  This may all be a pipe dream, but it was fun to hypothesize.

38 minutes ago, Brenno said:

As much as it hurts to let our favorite flag heroes go, this could be our chance to set ourselves up for the long term without spending 3-5 years of gathering top end picks at the bottom of the ladder. Langford, Windsor, Koz, XL, Bowey, JVR, Riv, Culley, Luker, Kolt, Disco is a solid group of young players. Add Humphrey and 2-3 more young guns to that group (before Tassie comes in) and we would have more than enough to get this list looking very promising.

We also need to bring in this young talent whilst we have a good chunk of leaders and senior role models for them to learn off. We can’t afford to end up like we did in late 2000’s or how North has been for the last 7 years! Gawny, Lever, Viney, Mcdonald, Melky, Langdon, Mihocek, Salem, Fritsch, Sparrow, Chandler & Petty is a solid group of senior leaders across all lines that can usher in the new wave. I don’t personally see all of them as best 22, but most have something to offer us due to their experience.  

To bring these youngsters in we need to say goodbye to some value/stalwarts;

May is not only almost finished as a player, but I don’t really believe he is no good for our culture moving forward. Tmac offers more both on field and as a leader and role model for youngsters. So overall, I don’t think his departure hursts us at all. Thank you for the epic 4-5 Seasons Maysie, but it’s time to move on. Get whatever we can for him.

After last year’s tantrum and this year’s request to bail on us, I think it’s best if we let Trac go and get the best we can for him. Can’t say I am happy about it, nor am I happy at how he has acted the past 18 months, but he has value so let’s cash in while we still can.

Clarry I would be happy to hold onto, but it sounds like Kingy has a plan and he isn’t part of it. It will be super hard to see him line up for another club, but a fresh start is probably needed for both parties and there is no denying he has had a bigger part in our recent dramas than most.

The one that really hurts IMO is Judd, I saw him as a long-term top 10 player for us and I’m frankly [censored] that he has bailed on us after we took the chance on him as a rookie when no one else did.

Here is my dream scenario (more picks can be swapped back and forth to smooth these over, but this is the gist of what I want)

Trac & F1 for Humphrey and pick 6

26, Spargo Compo and Mcvee for 12 (Freo)

Clarry (and contract), May pick & F3 for pick 13 (GWS)

Total result for Dees 2026:

Out: Trac, Clarry, May, Mcvee, F1, F3 & Pick 26.(big contracts and a few late picks)

In: Humphrey, picks 6, 12, 13. Mihocek, Sinema, Kalani. (Money to spend moving forward)

If you told me 12 months ago, we would lose Clarry, Trac, May and Mcvee I would have said close the bloody doors! But if we manage to pull off something like the above it would certainly give me some excitement and optimism for the future.  This may all be a pipe dream, but it was fun to hypothesize.

There's a few holes here. How are we getting pick 26 for Spargo? We won't be getting pick 12 for McVee he's an average player. If Neal-Bullen is a seconder rounder then McVee is certainly a second rounder. Why would GWS want May?

1 minute ago, WERRIDEE said:

There's a few holes here. How are we getting pick 26 for Spargo? We won't be getting pick 12 for McVee he's an average player. If Neal-Bullen is a seconder rounder then McVee is certainly a second rounder. Why would GWS want May?

1. Its pick 26 (27 now) that we already own & the Spargo compo (I believe end of 2nd round) & Mcvee for 12.

2. Not May the player, but what ever return we get from trading him out. + Clarry and F3 for 13.

Also, like I said, we can swap later picks and whatnot to smooth these over if required. this was just a hypothetical starting point.

Finally, I rate Judd highly, people here have short memories. He was really good in 2024 as a 20/21 year old. He is a significant loss IMO.

8 minutes ago, WERRIDEE said:

I’m asssuming they meant pick 26 and the spargo compensation which is likely to be end of second round

Mcvee definitely has much more trade value then ANB as Mcvee is like 6 years younger then him and as good as him

and I think he meant the pick that we get for may, not may himself

1 minute ago, Brenno said:
  1. Its pick 26 (27 now) that we already own & the Spargo compo (I believe end of 2nd round) & Mcvee for 12.

2. Not May the player, but what ever return we get from trading him out. + Clarry and F3 for 13.

Also, like I said, we can swap later picks and whatnot to smooth these over if required. this was just a hypothetical starting point.

Finally, I rate Judd highly, people here have short memories. He was really good in 2024 as a 20/21 year old. He is a significant loss IMO.

O.K I get you I thought were bundling them up. We won't get anything for Clarry too many off field issues.

3 minutes ago, Flagdees said:

I’m asssuming they meant pick 26 and the spargo compensation which is likely to be end of second round

Mcvee definitely has much more trade value then ANB as Mcvee is like 6 years younger then him and as good as him

I'll agree to disagree Neal-Bullen is a premiership player. McVee has only played 1 good year of football hardly worth pick 12, but I hope I'm wrong would be rapt to get pick 12.

8 minutes ago, WERRIDEE said:

I'll agree to disagree Neal-Bullen is a premiership player. McVee has only played 1 good year of football hardly worth pick 12, but I hope I'm wrong would be rapt to get pick 12.

That is a good point but I belive Mcvee would of been there aswell

But I agree he’s not worth 12 but if we are adding the other picks to it I definitely think the package in total is worth pick 12

17 minutes ago, Flagdees said:

There is no way in hell McVee is worth more then ANB in trade value

ANB is not only premiership player who has alao finished top 3 in the best and fairest but a far better player then McVee in general. McVee had a good year in 2024 but thats about it.

From today’s Herald Sun ~

MELBOURNE

What’s their strategy: Steven King will coach a very different looking Demons next season with Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver and Steven May all on the trade table, with the club pinning its hopes on regeneration around young stars including Harvey Langford, Xavier Lindsay, Caleb Windsor and Koltyn Tholstrup. They are keen to bring in some ready-made talent to balance the likely big exits.

List holes and will they fill them: The Dees are keen to bolster their ruck department with an eye on the future with a young big man to work alongside the evergreen Max Gawn (he turns 34 in December). The arrival of Brody Mihocek helps a serious need in attack as he is competitive and battle-hardened.

Definitely gone: Charlie Spargo (North Melbourne), Judd McVee (Fremantle), Kynan Brown, Jack Billings, Tom Fullarton, Oliver Sestan, Will Verrall, Marty Hore (delisted).

may go: Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver, Steven May.

Lock them in: Brody Mihocek (Collingwood), Max Heath (St Kilda)

Could be coming: Bailey Humphrey (Gold Coast).

6 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

From today’s Herald Sun ~

MELBOURNE

What’s their strategy: Steven King will coach a very different looking Demons next season with Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver and Steven May all on the trade table, with the club pinning its hopes on regeneration around young stars including Harvey Langford, Xavier Lindsay, Caleb Windsor and Koltyn Tholstrup. They are keen to bring in some ready-made talent to balance the likely big exits.

List holes and will they fill them: The Dees are keen to bolster their ruck department with an eye on the future with a young big man to work alongside the evergreen Max Gawn (he turns 34 in December). The arrival of Brody Mihocek helps a serious need in attack as he is competitive and battle-hardened.

Definitely gone: Charlie Spargo (North Melbourne), Judd McVee (Fremantle), Kynan Brown, Jack Billings, Tom Fullarton, Oliver Sestan, Will Verrall, Marty Hore (delisted).

may go: Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver, Steven May.

Lock them in: Brody Mihocek (Collingwood), Max Heath (St Kilda)

Could be coming: Bailey Humphrey (Gold Coast).

That's what I love to read. Could be coming Bailey Humphrey.

19 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

ANB is not only premiership player who has alao finished top 3 in the best and fairest but a far better player then McVee in general. McVee had a good year in 2024 but thats about it.

Different circumstances. ANB left due to family responsibilities and the club were more than happy to oblige a club leader leaving. McVee pulled the wool over the clubs eyes.

Not talking about worth, more about the club being as easy to work with a trade for McVee.

1 hour ago, WERRIDEE said:

O.K I get you I thought were bundling them up. We won't get anything for Clarry too many off field issues.

I disagree on Clarry, he has value IMO. And if other clubs don't agree then Id rather keep him then give him up for nothing. Either way that's just 1 of the options I listed. if we get the other to we are laughing :)

I don't understand people thoughts on Clarry. Don't you see his issues? They are culture breaking and Goodwin broke it by sticking by him. If he didn't have issues then sure we could get something for him like Trac but he has ongoing issues that can't be solved by a magic wand. He has no currency we need him off the books for our salary cap and our culture. If he was an ordinary player no one would say anything he'd be sacked by now. GWS is a great fit for him it will help him out like it helped out Hogan.

2 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

I don't understand people thoughts on Clarry. Don't you see his issues? They are culture breaking and Goodwin broke it by sticking by him. If he didn't have issues then sure we could get something for him like Trac but he has ongoing issues that can't be solved by a magic wand. He has no currency we need him off the books for our salary cap and our culture. If he was an ordinary player no one would say anything he'd be sacked by now. GWS is a great fit for him it will help him out like it helped out Hogan.

I also find it interesting how upset people are that we are trading him. He almost single handedly derailed the entire club and our potential opportunity to win multiple flags. It's well documented that Goodwin and co gave him special treatment for a long long time to the detriment of club culture (he got away with what most would not), and tolerated what should not have been. Im sure everyone wished nothing but the best, but King coming in it has to be goodbye to all the culture killers.

4 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Gotta look at the age difference tho mate Mcvee will still improve whereas ANB has reached his ceiling

1 hour ago, Flagdees said:

Gotta look at the age difference tho mate Mcvee will still improve whereas ANB has reached his ceiling

Well no not really? If you're talking age then Petracca who is 30 years old is only worth a second rounder going off your criteria. He is about to command an early first round pick as a starting point.

McVee has done nothing significant. Hes been a role player and thats it. No guarantee that he turns into a more significant player. For all we know he could just stay as that solid role player at Freo snd churns out a solid 150 games.

Hes worth an early to mid 2nd round pick.

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Well no not really? If you're talking age then Petracca who is 30 years old is only worth a second rounder going off your criteria. He is about to command an early first round pick as a starting point.

McVee has done nothing significant. Hes been a role player and thats it. No guarantee that he turns into a more significant player. For all we know he could just stay as that solid role player at Freo snd churns out a solid 150 games.

Hes worth an early to mid 2nd round pick.

Well then your saying anb and trac are as good as each other? I’m just trying to point out that good young players are worth more then good older role players

We are arguing about this but also agree that he’s worth an early second