I don’t often agree with Kane Cornes

But he said until MFC club stop being run by its high priced players there going nowhere.

I think his on the money with this one

45 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

No, you can't claim losing Treloar was a good idea. If someone's started betting on roulette and is losing a grand or two each month it can't be claimed he's a brilliant punter because he's in a better car (which is because his salary went up 100k you don't know about and nothing to do with his punting losses)

I think you are going out of your way to miss my point.

2024 was the time to start the rebuild. The off season will make or break and 2023 should have been ours. But we must adapt and quickly.

I know we love trading back into the draft with future picks and I usually love it. This year we just have to keep that 2026 1st round pick, commit to a year of playing the kids with a new coach and copping a year or two at the bottom. Maybe try for the mini draft picks tassie will have our something I don't know, but embrace the slide and inject ample youth.

I've previously largely felt a whole rebuild wasn't necessary but now I see it as the only way out.

2 hours ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

2024 was the time to start the rebuild. The off season will make or break and 2023 should have been ours. But we must adapt and quickly.

I think if we had started the rebuild last year the club would have been destroyed by the chaos and mayhem surrounding it.

The club this time around have no choice in the matter now.

All avenues regarding trading to our club and out of our club must exist at the end of this season.

But a new set of eyes (coach) must be cast on this list, Goody is too close with all the players now and what has transpired in the off-season with all this player empowerment sh yte must ceast to exist.

Lamb, Richardson, Griffiths all assistants must all leave the building at seasons end.

On 23/07/2025 at 10:02, KozzyCan said:

Agree. The game hasn't gotten too fast for Oliver, he's lost a bunch of pace.

They guy literally can't kick or has zero game sense or footy IQ. I don't know which one it it but the last qtr clanger (not just him but he's a marquee player) explain why we are so poor.

No care and useless out of contest.

Embarrassing

8 hours ago, CRomey said:

I know we love trading back into the draft with future picks and I usually love it. This year we just have to keep that 2026 1st round pick, commit to a year of playing the kids with a new coach and copping a year or two at the bottom. Maybe try for the mini draft picks tassie will have our something I don't know, but embrace the slide and inject ample youth.

I've previously largely felt a whole rebuild wasn't necessary but now I see it as the only way out.

We also really need to start taking our second and third round picks into the draft and bringing in competitors who can add to our depth, or unearth and identify some draft targets in this range. We've previously done quite well at this, but I think we've come undone recently with being so intent on trading up the draft order and sending these selections out the door. We've picked a horrible time to bottom out with the looming Tasmanian concessions - very MFC of us.

I am 100% in the phase of burn the whole place down, move the team to Wangaratta and start again, so take my posts for the remainder of this week/month/year with a grain of salt.

Now with that caveat out of the way, we have to rebuild this side entirely. Not patch fit and relaunch. Our next premiership side will not have Trac, Oliver, Gawn, May, Melksham, Lever, Viney, Fritta or Salem in the squad. THat may be a bitter pill to swallow, but once you come to accept that, then you can see through the trees and uncover the available options - we have plenty. There is the 2025 and 2026 drafts before Tassie come in. Right now we have the 25 2nd and our 1st and 2nd in 2026. 3rd rounders are a gamble that rarely come off, but there is every chance that we may snare 1 or 2 depth talent.

We need another 1-2 Top 10 players and then another 3-4 somewhere in the 10-30 range. In all of those picks we need kickers, preferably 2 HB's, a KPF and a KPD. Then the next batch really is what else we uncover over the next year or so.

We are devoid of 3-4 of the picks we need. We will clearly be bottom 4-6 next year so that is one top 10 taken care of. The other 2 picks will be in the 20's. So we need another top 10, and another 2 picks in the teens. The ONLY way we get that is by moving on those players while they have currency. Now is not the time for Trades and FA. The fact that Simon is talking about trades and FA should be a red flag to the board that he will absolute ruin this club if he is left in the job.

Trac will not want to entertain any other club other than a VIC powerhouse. He wont goto the Bombers OR Carlton as they are in a similar position to us. It leaves the Hawks or the Pies. The Hawks have Pick 7 (Carltons 1st round) are in prime position to contend for the flag and could do with a Trac type. The Pies dont have the picks to make that happen.

Oliver to Geelong is probably a 2nd rounder or Future 1st, but we may have to pay his salary to get that deal done.

May to the Doggies to plug their defensive 50 problems will get us a 2nd rounder. We will need to keep Lever to play an interim captain.

Fritta can really go anywhere and is probably a 2nd rounder.

McVee rumoured to Freo/WC is probably a 2nd rounder or late 1st at best. Do we get a compensation pick if he goes or is that reserved for RFA?

That is how we can get things done and get the required 6 picks to rebuild our side that has a chance to contend within the next 5-6 years. Any other course of action is just time wasting.

Here is what a side in 3-4 years could look like

B: McVee Turner Howes
HB: Lever CHB Bowey
C: Lindsay Langford Windsor
HF: Chin CHF Kozzy
F: Kolt (?) JVR AMW
Foll: Kalani Mid X Mid Y
I/C: WTF knows

Retired: Tmac, Gawn, Melksham, Salem, Langdon, Viney
Traded: Fritta, May, Trac, Oliver

*Ill keep McVee for now given the suggestion he isnt going anywhere.

Oh and did i mention we need our new coach and GM in place to make this all happen. We cannot trust Lamb, Goodwin and Richo to rebuild this side.

Edited by GS_1905

I've mentioned this before on this thread but we looked to have started a rebuild (of sorts) in the 2023 off season and then last year

Regardless of the outcomes, moving up to get 2 first round picks in both drafts was an aggressive move

So let's hope it pays off

But right now, I believe we need to take some short term pain and hit the trade table hard

Previously, I mentioned that we could end up with a swathe of picks but we also need some quality experienced, switched on players with pace & skills

Not easily attained but if the FD are honest about where they see the list, we need to be pro-active in changing the make-up of the list before Tassie come in to the draft

My doubts surround where the FD sees the list and also, our ability to be able to offload players in trades

For instance, a player on a long term contract (on good coin) is not easily traded if their form is bog average. We don't want a fire-sale situation

8 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

I am 100% in the phase of burn the whole place down, move the team to Wangaratta and start again, so take my posts for the remainder of this week/month/year with a grain of salt.

Now with that caveat out of the way, we have to rebuild this side entirely. Not patch fit and relaunch. Our next premiership side will not have Trac, Oliver, Gawn, May, Melksham, Lever, Viney, Fritta or Salem in the squad. THat may be a bitter pill to swallow, but once you come to accept that, then you can see through the trees and uncover the available options - we have plenty. There is the 2025 and 2026 drafts before Tassie come in. Right now we have the 25 2nd and our 1st and 2nd in 2026. 3rd rounders are a gamble that rarely come off, but there is every chance that we may snare 1 or 2 depth talent.

We need another 1-2 Top 10 players and then another 3-4 somewhere in the 10-30 range. In all of those picks we need kickers, preferably 2 HB's, a KPF and a KPD. Then the next batch really is what else we uncover over the next year or so.

We are devoid of 3-4 of the picks we need. We will clearly be bottom 4-6 next year so that is one top 10 taken care of. The other 2 picks will be in the 20's. So we need another top 10, and another 2 picks in the teens. The ONLY way we get that is by moving on those players while they have currency. Now is not the time for Trades and FA. The fact that Simon is talking about trades and FA should be a red flag to the board that he will absolute ruin this club if he is left in the job.

Trac will not want to entertain any other club other than a VIC powerhouse. He wont goto the Bombers OR Carlton as they are in a similar position to us. It leaves the Hawks or the Pies. The Hawks have Pick 7 (Carltons 1st round) are in prime position to contend for the flag and could do with a Trac type. The Pies dont have the picks to make that happen.

Oliver to Geelong is probably a 2nd rounder or Future 1st, but we may have to pay his salary to get that deal done.

May to the Doggies to plug their defensive 50 problems will get us a 2nd rounder. We will need to keep Lever to play an interim captain.

McVee rumoured to Freo/WC is probably a 2nd rounder or late 1st at best. Do we get a compensation pick if he goes or is that reserved for RFA?

That is how we can get things done and get the required 6 picks to rebuild our side that has a chance to contend within the next 5-6 years. Any other course of action is just time wasting.

Oh and did i mention we need our new coach and GM in place to make this all happen. We cannot trust Lamb, Goodwin and Richo to rebuild this side.

This is what should happen but will it happen?

I don't think the club has got the sack to do such a severe cut @GS_1905

I reckon Lever has currency for a bulldogs.

8 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

I have seen your side in 3 to 4 years and now I really am depressed. Think the desperation to unload Petracca is really crazy. Still in our top 3 players.

12 minutes ago, Redlagged said:

I have seen your side in 3 to 4 years and now I really am depressed. Think the desperation to unload Petracca is really crazy. Still in our top 3 players.

We cannot hold onto the premiership team, it will give us nothing on field. The quicker we transition to the next team the quicker we are back in the limelight.

Trading Trac and others that have value give us the picks to help us regenerate the list quicker. If we don’t, then we will be stuck in the middle of nowhere. Hawks rebounded very quickly with the right trading and recruitment. We have already started so it’s a matter of getting 50 odd games into the kids we will recruit this year and next.

On 28/07/2025 at 14:57, GS_1905 said:

I'd argue that perhaps we should have traded some of these blokes at the end of 2024 when currency was high or higher.

Need more leadership is the main problem, not less.