Posted

Where to for Cameron Bruce? he's the man every media pundet and fremantle-following hack thinks should be president of the afl, but the man has no bottle. the team could not have put in a bigger, tougher, more hard-at-it effort today save mr. superstar Cam Bruce. i think he needs a spell in sandringham to remind him of how hard he'll need to go at afl level, and while he's at it he can watch matty whelan for tips on tough footy. coming out in the media and proclaiming that we need four quarters from everyone and a need to step up is rubbish from a man who refuses to go hell for leather in contests.

meanwhile, on positive notes, the boys aren't far away, and all we need is to repeat our 11 from 12 like we did last year and we're sitting pretty. with bate presenting like that, petterd thinking he's judd, skipper back, and matty whelan still to return, we'll be alright.

by the way, how good was davey's winning goal!

• Replies 102

Guest baysidedave
Posted
Where to for Cameron Bruce? he's the man every media pundet and fremantle-following hack thinks should be president of the afl, but the man has no bottle. the team could not have put in a bigger, tougher, more hard-at-it effort today save mr. superstar Cam Bruce. i think he needs a spell in sandringham to remind him of how hard he'll need to go at afl level, and while he's at it he can watch matty whelan for tips on tough footy. coming out in the media and proclaiming that we need four quarters from everyone and a need to step up is rubbish from a man who refuses to go hell for leather in contests.

meanwhile, on positive notes, the boys aren't far away, and all we need is to repeat our 11 from 12 like we did last year and we're sitting pretty. with bate presenting like that, petterd thinking he's judd, skipper back, and matty whelan still to return, we'll be alright.

he did play with an injured calf all the game and going back to Sandy is something you don't do to one of your best palyers

Posted

Bruce is our Mr Fixit, he goes back, forward and in the Middle. He is a Star and with all the injuries he is being used all over the place. Once we get others back he will slot back on the ball more often and you will be happy again

Guest dee'viator
Posted

I've been studying the replays thoughrouly lately with full use of slow-mo & frame by frame to see what's really going on when we lose the 50/50s, bruce is a standout @ shirking the hardball.

Eg:- the game against Freo I think 3rdQ loose ball centre/wing, junior approaches from the wing side, headland from their h/bf side, bruce from our h/bf direction, all meeting down low to dive at the ground ball in dispute. Headland & Junior collide at right angles to one another & bruce coming in opposite direction to headland takes his body out of the line of fire (contact) but leaves his hands in the contest feeling for the ball in hope.

Freo win the contest again & away they go, this is all too frequent & I've noticed Bruce doing this time & time again, will not put his body into the contact.

Today again needed to make body on body contact @ the goal suare to mark or shepard the ball through the goals, uh ah.

About the 23 minute mark I think last Qtr, warnock rushes kick forward, Lade is set to mark, no White as he is upfield in our defence, bruce running in toward Lade, followed by bruces opponent, bruce pulled up & didn't contest the mark resulting in Lade kicking forward & a goal eventuated to Port. Bruce would have made the contest comfortably, game over. <_<

Ps, he moved really well after they amputated his leg.

Posted

Very harsh call on one of our better players so far this year.

I don't know why people attack the bigger name players even when they are going ok. He was obviously carrying some sort of injury today and was still competitive. His year to date has shown more leadership than most at the club.

If he was playing the same footy this year in a winning team, he would look a million bucks at times.

Lets not pick out isolated incidents to sum up a players game.

Posted

Im more curious about TJ. He cant handle a tag so y doesent ND put in forward when hes being tagged??

Posted
wow he cost us the game against freo and port.... from 2 single inncidents....

ur an idiot

his pass to davey cost us big time....someone who is supposedly a leader should have 'known' better....

and getting stats doesn't make a player a great player..look at what he does with those stats..and where his standing in the team is..the guy was captina when Neita wasn't around...but his decision making and skills ahve been atrocious...

and why do we supposedly pick on big name players..becuase they are our leaders..they are the ones who come out and make the comments...if our leaders can't stand up how do we expect the youngsters too...

but i tell u what..pettard..jonesy..Chook..they all show Bruce..green..TJ...how to lead and really stand up

Posted

a brave post there 45 !! but I'll back you for the most..as does Dee'v

Cam had a blinder of a season a few back...we were playing nice footy..it was open.. slick..looked great.. ( til the wheels fell off..s.i.l. )

Im not 100% sure if he's really shirking..or just ineffectual.. remember seeing him close up at a function a few years back... and thinking ..geez mate if you hit me ( bump etc ) youd come off second best and your supposed to be a tough at it bloke !!.. I had my doubts after that..and have had the view since that he simply isnt as effectual as many make out..

that and his kicking ( and I use that word in its most casual mode ) has gone awol

personally I thought he wasnt too bad today given he wasnt 100% for the most part. but he isnt this al singing all dancing star many make him to be ....not any more

why not drop him to the Zebs to get form..and make him learn..

I am sick of hearing tis bloke or that is above going back down...No one on this team is THAT bloody good.. NO ONE !!

and maybe thats a point for other threads.. the so called untouchables.. ..enough said

Posted
why not drop him to the Zebs to get form..and make him learn..

I am sick of hearing tis bloke or that is above going back down...No one on this team is THAT bloody good.. NO ONE !!

Because we are not at all in a position to do so.

Neale hesitated for a few weeks to even drop Jamar in spite of his absolute rubbish form, so I doubt very much that he would even consider dropping Bruce. In fact, I'm almost sure that Neale would laugh in your face if you suggested it to him.

I understand that every week (coinciding with a loss) someone's head must be called for.. but Bruce? Are you serious?! :lol:

Posted

a team without accountable results in players feeling overly confident about their positions, therefore a more relaxed attitude and approach. exactly what a player such as bruce does not need. he needs to know that he must perform to keep your spot, that's how he got to play afl in the first place. to say any player is untouchable is ridiculous. godfrey tries to kill himself every week because he knows even with good games he's on a knife edge.

good point about his body size though, that could give him more confidence going into packs and contests.

Posted
Because we are not at all in a position to do so.

we arent in teh position to NOT !!

am I serious...[censored] yeah!!

what..we're doing that well are we ??.. ..lo.l... ya kidding arent you

the jumper has to be earned...by everyone.

the minute you allow unaccountable walk up starts...you lose credibility.

Posted

I am not convinced he warrants dropping, since his form as been up and down.

There have been plenty of good numbers, but he has not been particularly effective for large portions of time when he has the ball.

But he still gets the ball, or works hard to get himself in a position to receive the ball.

But either way he really does need to find his targets with a little more regularity.

the jumper has to be earned...by everyone.

the minute you allow unaccountable walk up starts...you lose credibility.

But this is absolutely spot on, and not just in regards to Bruce, but to every last one of them.

I don't now, and never will advocate dumping someone after a bad game, or even necessarily for a bout of poor form (until it becomes untenable of course), because I like to see them work their ass off to try and fix it, and themselves, in the subsequent weeks. That is a positive mental thing if nothing else.

But if a player is seen as ambivalent, or complacent, or lacking in (definitely for want of a better word) heart, or effort then he doesn't appear to value the jumper.

And that is where that particular tide turns, for me anyway.

Posted

its funny

the sec you suggest a drop.... I mean reallocation to the Zebs !! heheh everyone seems to think its some sort of reprisal...a punishnment etc..

Not always.. it can be an opportunity to regain confidence..some form.. some reappreciation of the postion your excpected to hold. it can be a positve.... Beter a couple of feelgood runs to get the mind in gear then constant second guessing and frustration !!

Posted

Punishment is the automatic response, for better or worse, to the possibility of one of our first choice being played at Sandy.

But I see your point about it the possibility of it being used as a confidence earner.

Of course that's assuming their confidence isn't shot after getting dumped from the starting side ;) :D !!!

Posted

well..Queen it can be a dual edged thing for sure...but a level headed 'team' player if expalined would see it in a positive.. if he doesnt... do we really want them ??

but how about putting it this way at present... going to hte Zebs allows a player to experience a winning vibe !!

:-))))

Posted

A "team" player will work his butt off to make the improvments needed to get back into the side.

And would probably see it as an opportunity.

But it is an action that should still not happen lightly.

Posted

nor should it...dont advocate it as such...just dont see it as off menu either...for anyone.. why would it be :-)

Posted

It shouldn't......

So we agree then? Cause I think we do ;) !!!

Posted

yes and yes

Posted

Bruce is the worst kick at the MFC

Worse than Godfrey

I cant believe he is in the leadership group. Says a lot about our club

Posted
Bruce is the worst kick at the MFC

Worse than Godfrey

I cant believe he is in the leadership group. Says a lot about our club

Cam seems to think that a good boot is somewhere around the middle of the pill. This is with the ball dropped back and flat.

No, to get control of a ball, in any sport, one controls spin. Bruce needs to hit the ball lower and softer. It's dead simple.

Posted
Cam seems to think that a good boot is somewhere around the middle of the pill. This is with the ball dropped back and flat.

No, to get control of a ball, in any sport, one controls spin. Bruce needs to hit the ball lower and softer. It's dead simple.

Godfrey has a better understanding of the inherent physics.

Posted

Why the hell are people suggesting dropping Bruce? Get off the grass.

With Davey, Sylvia and Pickett all to be rubbed out this week (according the experts at channel 7), I don't think we have the luxury of dropping anyone.