1 minute ago, Macca said:

Yep ... coverage on ESPN starts at 7.00am and the Manhattan Stakes is on at 7.40am.  It's a step up from 1900m to 2400m for 'Justify' but I'd like to see it take out the Triple Crown.  Bravazo & Tenfold could be running on as they did in the Preakness (they finished 2nd & 3rd respectively)

Cheers Macca, I’ll be up nice and early for the boy’s soccer so I’ll be tuning in over breakfast.

$1.75 fixed for ‘Justify’ on Tab. Have you seen better odds anywhere else?

1 minute ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Cheers Macca, I’ll be up nice and early for the boy’s soccer so I’ll be tuning in over breakfast.

$1.75 fixed for ‘Justify’ on Tab. Have you seen better odds anywhere else?

$1.95 at Sportsbet but I opted to do a few doubles surrounding the race and the preceding race.  Just looking for some value. 

'Justify' is no certainty and plenty have stumbled at the final hurdle before - it's a tough 3 runs over 5 weeks and the distance increases each time as well.

I certainly wouldn't back against the horse though ... has to be included in multiples. 

‘Wire to Wire’ for Justify @Macca. Way too classy for them in the end although the second placed horse ‘Gronkowski’ chased valiantly. 

Great effort by the trainer....2 Triple Crowns in the last 4 years.

3 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

‘Wire to Wire’ for Justify @Macca Way too classy for them in the end although the second placed horse ‘Gronkowski’ chased valiantly. 

Great effort by the trainer....2 Triple Crowns in the last 4 years.

Yep,  a grand effort by Justify DZ - here's the replay (logon to watch)

Apparently the horse's breeding rights have been sold to Coolmore for $60Million so that might be it for the horse in terms of racing.  It's done more than enough,  all the same. 

I missed on the double though ... had 'Hi Happy' & 'Robert Bruce' in the preceding event but both just missed in a blanket finish in the Manhattan Handicap.  Really liked the look of the turf track with the hedge all the way around acting as the fence ... (watch the replay of the Manhattan Handicap here)

Next up is the Royal Ascot Carnival which goes for 5 days from June 19 ... all days should be on the free-to-air station.  We've got Merchant Navy & Redkirk Warrior racing in the sprint events as well as a few familiar names from HK,  the UK & the USA. 

Here are the replays of the 3 Group 1's from Doomben on Saturday ...

Stradbroke Handicap

JJ Atkins Plate 

@Dee Zephyr  @binman  @Wadda We Sing 

Not a great deal to choose from this week in terms of a big stakes trifecta race but I found a Group 3 race and 2 listed races that might appeal.  Pounamu takes on Great Shot & Material Man again over in the West whilst the Ipswich Race Club has it's day in the sun with a couple of keenly contested listed races. 

Belmont Racecourse ...

image.png.f4c7264b77504bcfaddaeac066ccc1c9.png

Ipswich  Racecourse ...

image.png.9f45d63190120686fc6eb104fe59c754.png

5 hours ago, Macca said:

@Dee Zephyr  @binman  @Wadda We Sing 

Not a great deal to choose from this week in terms of a big stakes trifecta race but I found a Group 3 race and 2 listed races that might appeal.  Pounamu takes on Great Shot & Material Man again over in the West whilst the Ipswich Race Club has it's day in the sun with a couple of keenly contested listed races. 

Belmont Racecourse ...

image.png.f4c7264b77504bcfaddaeac066ccc1c9.png

Ipswich  Racecourse ...

image.png.9f45d63190120686fc6eb104fe59c754.png

Well ive looked at all 3 Macca. Its really hard to pick a winner in any of them. There are pros and cons for each race. Tradesman probably the obvious choice, but 1.85? Like Lucky Hussler, but hasnt won for ages. Also like Equador, but its done nothing in its last 2 starts. Think ill leave it to you guys....no pressure!

12 hours ago, Macca said:

I’m leaning towards the Eye Liner Stakes Macca. Might seem a trickier race than the other 2 but there are some horses that I think are terrific value.

10 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

I’m leaning towards the Eye Liner Stakes Macca. Might seem a trickier race than the other 2 but there are some horses that I think are terrific value.

I wear eye liner sometimes, when im in the mood....

10 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

That will do then DZ ... and you're up first for at least 1 more week.  I believe we''re at the end of the 4 week cycle after this week but we talked about having a break over winter. 

There's 1 more Group 1 race next week from Doomben (Tatts Tiara over 1350m for Fillies & Mares) and then there's not a great deal happening until mid August when Winx returns in the Group 1 Winx Stakes.  So 2 more goes and then a recess?

Anyway,  here's the race in question again - as you stated,  there's some value runners involved. 

Ipswich  - Eye Liner Stakes  Listed  1350m  $175k

Just some news re Royal Ascot - Merchant Navy & Redkirk Warrior have been withdrawn from next Tuesday's King's Stand Stakes but both will run in the Diamond Jubilee Stakes (1200m  $1Million  23rd June) instead. 

The dash down the straight will suit both horses and they share 2nd & 3rd favouritism behind 'Harry Angel' ... click on the link above for more details of the race from Racing Post UK (another excellent horseracing website)

16 minutes ago, Macca said:

The Trifecta/First4 race for this week ...

Ipswich  - Eye Liner Stakes  Listed  1350m  $175k

Going early fellas. 

Number 2 Religify. TAB Odds: $7.50/$2.50

A work colleague knows the horse well through connections and was told the horse trialled really well last week. 

Tough on pacer and the tight Ipswich circuit will suit the horse. If the horse can cross without doing too much from the wide barrier it could be very hard for them to catch him. If he does do some work early the horse is still capable of hanging onto a placing.

Also happy to have 2 more runs with the trifectas and then hitting the paddock for a while. Do we still continue with the “Best Bets” Macca?

Edited by Dee Zephyr

My best bet for the weekend ...

Belmont  Race 6  No.1  Pounamu $3.80

Drawn 2 which will probably mean the horse will be able to trail nicely in behind Material Man & Great Shot and then hopefully swoop over the top and win. 

Those 3 horses could easily take out the trifecta too ... the 3 stand out above the rest.  Gatting & Falcon Crest are on the 4th line of betting at 15-1.  A 3-3-5-5 First4? 

Just now, Dee Zephyr said:

Going early fellas. 

A work colleague knows the horse well through connections and was told the horse trialled really well last week. 

Tough on pacer and the tight Ipswich circuit will suit the horse. If the horse can cross from the wide barrier it could be very hard for them to catch him. If he does do some work early the horse is still capable of hanging onto a placing.

Also happy to have 2 more runs with the trifectas and then hitting the paddock for a while. Do we still continue with the “Best Bets” Macca?

I don't see why not DZ ... I may look overseas though as there are plenty of quality Group 1's raced overseas during our winter.  Something different. 

There's the Irish Derby & Oaks and any number of WFA Group 1's from 1200m up to 2400m. 

I reckon Merchant Navy & Redkirk Warrior might also contest the Group 1 Darley July Cup (14th July) down the straight 6 at Newmarket - another $800k up for grabs for the sprinters.  Both horses have been entered for the race.

7 minutes ago, Macca said:

I don't see why not DZ ... I may look overseas though as there are plenty of quality Group 1's raced overseas during our winter.  Something different. 

There's the Irish Derby & Oaks and any number of WFA Group 1's from 1200m up to 2400m. 

I reckon Merchant Navy & Redkirk Warrior might also contest the Group 1 Darley July Cup (14th July) down the straight 6 at Newmarket - another $800k up for grabs for the sprinters.  Both horses have been entered for the race.

Cool...Best Bets continue. The World Cup will give us plenty of practise with staying up late for the UK races.

Edited by Dee Zephyr

12 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Cool...Best Bets continue. The World Cup will give us plenty of practise with staying up late for the UK races.

For the Trifecta in the Eyeliner... i will go, No 11 Tyzone TAB odds $4.60 Like the weight and has won on a soft track. Jockey trainer good combo. In form

Edited by Wadda We Sing

On 6/14/2018 at 9:00 PM, Dee Zephyr said:

Going early fellas. 

Tough on pacer and the tight Ipswich circuit will suit the horse. If the horse can cross without doing too much from the wide barrier it could be very hard for them to catch him. If he does do some work early the horse is still capable of hanging onto a placing.

11 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

For the Trifecta in the Eyeliner... i will go, No 11 Tyzone TAB odds $4.60 Like the weight and has won on a soft track. Jockey trainer good combo. In form

I like No.7  I'm a Ripper $7.50

Drawn nicely and should be leading or near the lead on settling because of its barrier speed ... and if its a leaders track or if the inside going is good,  the horse should be ideally placed.  Won a Group 3 two starts back over the same distance at Doomben so it should be in the finish at least. 

Anyway,  here are our picks so far with BM to finish things off with a couple of selections ...

• Pick 1 No.2  .... Religify $7.50
  • Pick 2 No.11 ... Tyzone $4.60
  • Pick 3 No.7  ..... I'm a Ripper $7.50
  • Pick 4 @binman
  • Pick 5 @binman 

Ipswich  Race 8  Eye Liner Stakes  Listed  1350m  $175k

Best Bet: Moonee Valley.

Race 8 Number 1 Lite’n In My Veins $3.70

Racing in similar grade and I just had to choose this horse as a best after we mentioned it a few months ago. It will take the claim of 3kg and is probably worse off at the weights against “My Nordic Hero” but was the strongest at the finish last start. 

I actually struggled the find one that stands out tomorrow. Tough day coming up so I went with a horse that’s in red hot form.

Edited by Dee Zephyr

G'day punters.

Can't leave out Moss n Dale. Great strike rate, 8 from 11 at the distance, likes it soft (8: 3 - 3) and coming off a good win (albeit with a month break which concerns me a touch). 

To be honest struggling to select another horse. Luck Hussler is the obvious but big weight and has average form in soft (9: 1 - 1). The only other horse that vaguely appeals is Most Important, but form is just too poor, though this is not a deep race.

So i'll hope for an improving track and trust that class and the Weir factor will get him close and select Luck Hussler for a place.

Feeling a lucky day fellas. Sky racing is on in the background and noticed a horse won in the American trots by the name of Zephyr Kronos.

1 hour ago, binman said:

G'day punters.

Can't leave out Moss n Dale. Great strike rate, 8 from 11 at the distance, likes it soft (8: 3 - 3) and coming off a good win (albeit with a month break which concerns me a touch). 

To be honest struggling to select another horse. Luck Hussler is the obvious but big weight and has average form in soft (9: 1 - 1). The only other horse that vaguely appeals is Most Important, but form is just too poor, though this is not a deep race.

So i'll hope for an improving track and trust that class and the Weir factor will get him close and select Luck Hussler for a place.

I really wanted to put the Hussler in BM so good choice. Yes its got the weight, but its the class runner. should be good for a place.

We're all set in the Eye Liner Stakes  Listed  1350m  $175k

• No.2  .... Religify $7.50
  • No.11 ... Tyzone $4.60
  • No.7  ..... I'm a Ripper $7.50
  • No.4 ..... Moss 'n' Dale $4.40
  • No.1 ..... Lucky Hussler $7.50

Good luck with however which way you might configure the picks ... let's see if we can gat a few collects out of our choices ?

Best Bet Mooney Valley  Race 7 No 2 Miss Leonidas TAB price $2.90

Best Place  Mooney Valley Race 9 No 1 Amovatio  TAB $8.00 & $2.70

Oliver on board, looking for the 1600m here.

Best Bets:

Mooney Valley  Race 8 No 1 Lite’n In My Veins TAB $3.70

Mooney Valley  Race 7 No 2 Miss Leonidas TAB  $2.90

Belmont Race 6 No 1 Pounamu TAB $3.80

Total of $45.00 Approx for your dollar.   Good luck team

Edited by Wadda We Sing