View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

LLoydy get 4 weeks

Posted

glad to see the tribunal gave Sniper Llloyd 4 weeks for his hit on Sewell. Hopefully thats the last we see from him

Edited by Green N Juice

glad to see the tribunal gave Sniper Llloyd 4 weeks for his hit on Sewell. Hopefully thats the last we see from him

Well Said. Drinks Anyone.

TaTa High Pant, no more Diving in the Goal square either.

Sadly he will get a job in the Media & we will have to listen to that slow Monotone voice for years!!!!

Rubbish. Four weeks for that! They're ruining the game

I agree with you,its a joke.Dosnt matter if you like the guy or not the game is getting worse & worse by the year.It will soon be called the Australian touch football league.Some of the rules are a joke & you cant even lay a good tackle anymore,dont think Franklin should have even gone to tribunal.Lloyds was worse but maybe only a week or two max.I use to hate the game of soccer but fair dinkum this sports heading that way unfortunatly

Care to explain?

He's kicked 900-odd goals, has a premiership, and captained his club. Nice respect you've shown there.

I agree with you,its a joke.Dosnt matter if you like the guy or not the game is getting worse & worse by the year.It will soon be called the Australian touch football league.Some of the rules are a joke & you cant even lay a good tackle anymore,dont think Franklin should have even gone to tribunal.Lloyds was worse but maybe only a week or two max.I use to hate the game of soccer but fair dinkum this sports heading that way unfortunatly

I too was stunned when Buddy got two weeks. It was just a collision on the football field, not even reportable. Lloyd's case was different, a little more reckless and reportable. BUT not 6 weeks!!! I am worried that the AFL have decided to take the bump out of the game. Of course, many would say that you can still use your hip and shoulder BUT if an opponent drops his head onto your hip, you are GONE!!! Gee, we wouldn't have seen much of the likes of Noel McMahen, Laurie Mithen, Ted Whitten, Ron Barassi, Jack Dyer, Mopsy Fraser, Mick Martin, Dermot Brereton, 'Dipper', Leigh Matthews, Charlie Sutton, Murray Weideman just to name a few tough guys of the past. Now, having just written the word 'guys', how could I forget Eric GUY? He used his body pretty well I reckon. Under today's rules they would be lucky to reach 50 games in their careers.

So we are comparing apples with apples we should only compare the points before penalties and discounts that each player received. Lloyd got 508? points which increased to 600 odd because of his bad record and then came in to 450 odd for the early plea. Franklin got some 200 odd points that would have come in to 150 odd for an early plea; they chose to take it to the tribunal and lost the discount.

So, 500 points for Lloyd and 200 for Buddy. About right from my pont of view. The force excerted and the damage done by Lloyd was much more that Buddy.

And; IMO Lloyd is thoroughly deserving of the penalty if only for past deeds.

Wish we had a captain like Lloyd.

I thought we had a great skipper in David Neitz.

Do you think he's hit on McCabe would have got 4 weeks if the same rules were in place back then in '02??

Care to explain?

He's kicked 900-odd goals, has a premiership, and captained his club. Nice respect you've shown there.

Is that the same kind of respect he showed for the rules of the game mate? WHy should we show him respect Essendon dont respect our football club at all nor do their supporters respect our supporters! Please let us know why Essendon should run the game

Do you think he's hit on McCabe would have got 4 weeks if the same rules were in place back then in '02??

Was there contact to the head in that incident?

I thought we had a great skipper in David Neitz.

Neitz was a great captain, I was talking about atm.

To be honest I would have no idea, the way they work the system is beyond me. I heard a guy from the Herald sun talk about how they get points from categories like contact, intent, recklessness and past history so who knows. The Intent was there though thats for sure.

Deserved every week of it, had eyes for the man not the ball and went at the head.

Dons not challenging penalties.

Is that the same kind of respect he showed for the rules of the game mate? WHy should we show him respect Essendon dont respect our football club at all nor do their supporters respect our supporters! Please let us know why Essendon should run the game

Lloyd's decision to bump was completely within the rules. His contact to Sewell's head was not. But I will continue to argue that he did not intend to make that head-high contact.

Your comment about Essendon running the game and not respecting our football club is based on what?

Lloyd's decision to bump was completely within the rules. His contact to Sewell's head was not. But I will continue to argue that he did not intend to make that head-high contact.

Your comment about Essendon running the game and not respecting our football club is based on what?

Watch and pay close attention from 2:35 to 2:41 and tell me he didn't put that arm out intentionally. There is nothing to argue here.

I see McVeigh kick the ball forward, Sewell and Lloyd both run to meet it, Lloyd sees Sewell about to collect the ball so tries to bump him, unfortunately collecting him with the tip of the shoulder flush on the jaw.

IMO on intent alone Franklin's was worse because Cousins had his head down pretty much until the point of impact and was completely upright whereas Lloyd seemed to make at least some effort to get down to try and avoid high contact (though obviously failing miserably)

The hit happened because Lloyd threw out his right arm and struck with the elbow at full-flight, right before impact. Watch it again if you have to, it's pretty obvious. Had he kept running forward and kept his arm by his side as what happens normally when people run, he wouldn't have touched Sewell.

Very similar to...

The hit happened because Lloyd threw out his right arm and struck with the elbow at full-flight, right before impact. Watch it again if you have to, it's pretty obvious. Had he kept running forward and kept his arm by his side as what happens normally when people run, he wouldn't have touched Sewell.

I'm with Eastie on this one, The Dee. I don't see any intent whatsoever. I see a poorly executed hip-and-shoulder.