Posted
So, for my vote I say let Warnock slap the little [censored] all over the park again.

Cut Buddy some slack, he was a Demons supporter as a kid over in Perth. Not his fault he ended up playing for the tassie hawks. I want Warnock or Martin to keep him goalless, but apart from that I wish him well.

I'd also like to see Green playing in the forward line on Hodge. He's got the defensive skills to keep Hodge from creating, and his marking and accurate kicking mean that Hodge can't afford to leave him.

Isn't Hodge out injured??

Posted
It's a funny thing. I was watching a Hawthorn game a few weeks ago and heard the comment from some idiot in the box that he'd never seen someone keep Buddy quiet so well. This while Franklin lined up for his 3rd goal. Now I could be wrong, but didn't Warnock keep him to 1 last year?
Wasn't it Garland?

Posted
Wasn't it Garland?

I'm pretty sure it was Garland. It was Round 9 last year and we lost by a couple of goals in a spirited performance. Garland kept an in-form Buddy to 3 goals and not many touches in a fine display.

Posted
I'd love to see a Davey V Rioli battle.

That'd be good I reckon. Test out Rioli's defensive capabilities. Make him accountable when we've got the ball. Plus Davey has the speed to keep up with him.

Posted
What about Dew? He can be very damaging.

I recall Neitz last year attempting to bump Dew in Round 1 last year.......Neitz came off second best. It was like Neitz hitting a brick wall covered in Jelly!! :lol:

Posted

This is scary. We have absolutely no-one to play on the Fat Boy. In 10 minutes (remember last September) Dew can destroy you. Knows where the goals are, a very dominating presence always threatening.

Rod Grinter would have got the job. Moloney??

The moral here is that our young team needs a Dew or two, and somebody who's able to stop that sort of player. Certainly in a year or two when we are definitely going to be finals contenders.

Posted
I'm pretty sure it was Garland. It was Round 9 last year and we lost by a couple of goals in a spirited performance. Garland kept an in-form Buddy to 3 goals and not many touches in a fine display.

It was? Ah well. I still want Warnock to slap him around for us. :)

Posted

Garland and Warnock held them to 4 combined.

One of their lowest tallies for the year. Franklin kicked 3.3, but the 3 kicked were pretty much from 50 out

Posted
Garland and Warnock held them to 4 combined.

One of their lowest tallies for the year. Franklin kicked 3.3, but the 3 kicked were pretty much from 50 out

That was sweet. Remember thinking in that game, 'hope this is a sign of things to come.' Glad it was.

The general, Matty Warnock on Roughead out of the square is an obvious choise IMO. The other guys are prob a smidge better taking the ball out of the backline.

For that reason I'd have Frawls on franklin, he's got the muscle, only a few cm's shorter and I reckon he could make Franklin accountable and really tire him out, run him up the ground.. Yes that IS a pot belly Franklins carrying around- it ain't carbo loading.

1st shot at Rioli has got to go to Bartram IMO. See if we can't shut the cheeky bugger down, if not, Wheels to mash him up.

Whether its one of the Maccas, or Moloney or all 3 - Shutting down Sam Mitchell is THE key to winning this one. He always seems to cane us, but now he's got a couple more big lads to contend with, in a fit Brocky and beamer. Thank f**k.

FINAL INTERCHANGE ? : Maric, Jones, Cheney, Bartram

Posted
Hm. How about we drop the wackness of Dunn and the old Valentino?

jikajika, have you bugged the match selection committee room?... :D

Posted

Did anyone hear the end of the Sport show last night on AW. Gerard was inidicating that there had been some whispers about the team selected for Hawthorn. One of the names mentioned (the only name I caught) was Dew. The implication was that he may not be playing. Does anyone know anything about this or was I dreaming or having a nightmare depending on whether we want to win this or have a honourable loss (again)

Posted
I think Rioli might be too fast for Wheelan or Bennell. Not sure who we have with enough pace to go with him. Perhaps put Davey on the half back flank?

I've said before on these boards that Bennell is the quickest player I've ever seen. I don't think we've seen his fastest yet, either. I'd start Bennell on Rioli. Give the young kid a shot at one of the best small players going around at the moment. If that doesn't work, play Wheels on him or then perhaps Flash. As for Buddy, Warnock should start on him. If that doesn't work we have Martin and Rivers up our sleeve. I think Martin would just about have the mobility and pace to go with Buddy, whereas Jared might not have the legspeed. Rivers should at least start on Roughead. Or what might be even better is give the Roughead role to Frawley and let Rivers play his spare man in defense, dropping back role, that he does so brilliantly.

Posted
I'd also like to see Green playing in the forward line on Hodge. He's got the defensive skills to keep Hodge from creating, and his marking and accurate kicking mean that Hodge can't afford to leave him.

Hodge is out injured: -

HAWTHORN

Backs Brendan Whitecross Thomas Murphy Brent Guerra

Half backs Beau Dowler Campbell Brown Grant Birchall

Centreline Jordan Lewis Sam Mitchell Beau Muston

Half forwards Mark Williams Lance Franklin Michael Osborne

Forwards Cyril Rioli Jarryd Roughead Garry Moss

Followers Simon Taylor Brad Sewell Chance Bateman

Interchange (from) Robert Campbell Stuart Dew Ben McGlynn Jarryd Morton Brent Renouf Cameron Stokes Travis Tuck

In Beau Muston Brent Renouf Cameron Stokes

Out Nil

New Beau Muston (Murray U18)

Posted

Sewell is probably going to be the worry and Mitchell always kills us. Keep those two quiet and we'd go a long way to winning it.

Posted

I heard Dew's out for disciplinary reasons. Ironical if it costs us a draft pick.

Posted
It's a funny thing. I was watching a Hawthorn game a few weeks ago and heard the comment from some idiot in the box that he'd never seen someone keep Buddy quiet so well. This while Franklin lined up for his 3rd goal. Now I could be wrong, but didn't Warnock keep him to 1 last year?

So, for my vote I say let Warnock slap the little [censored] all over the park again.

Roughhead goes to Martin more or less by default, although it's a very good matchup for us.

I think Rioli might be too fast for Wheelan or Bennell. Not sure who we have with enough pace to go with him. Perhaps put Davey on the half back flank?

Wheelan to take Williams to the cleaners. Bennell to sub with him.

Turned out to be a very well-informed post, didn't it? It was Garland playing on Franklin last year, and Hodge isn't playing. :rolleyes:

However, I'd still like to see Warnock take Buddy. I think he's the best match we have for him. Martin has the athleticism to run with him, but I don't think he's quite ready in the skills department.

Posted
Turned out to be a very well-informed post, didn't it? It was Garland playing on Franklin last year, and Hodge isn't playing. :rolleyes:

However, I'd still like to see Warnock take Buddy. I think he's the best match we have for him. Martin has the athleticism to run with him, but I don't think he's quite ready in the skills department.

By the way, Buddy kicked 3 the last time we met them.