View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Demons vs Cats

Posted

How would one get them from overseas, on a computer with no speakers?

I used to use the afl.com game-tracker thing, with the graph of the ground and score updates as well as stats... but there isn't one up one the site...

Is here any other sites that would be better? I'd prefer not to tune in to demonland for quarterly score updates, and random quotes like "NEWTON SCREAMER!" and "DAVEY TACKLE!"

Thats as good as you will get

I doubt very much that the AFL is using game tracker for Ansett Cup games

foxsports will have updates on scores...just how timely...cant say . Not the same as tracker I appreciate

• Author

Thanks guys...

bub, are you talking foxsports tv? Or foxsports.com?

foxsports.com.au :)

nine msn i think does updates every 6 minutes...i used that in sydney for a game once...its worth a try

AFL do seem to be running "Game Day Live" from their website same as for the regular season.

• Author

Wow... just logged on and we're getting smashed by 6 goals in the first quarter.

• Author

Remember this feeling everyone? You go into a game allowing all the youthful exuberance on demonland and in the media to convince you your side is capable of beating quality opposition... then by quarter time you're down by 6 goals, and there is simply NO way you can possibly rally? Then someone in red and blue kicks a goal and you have a faint glimmer... and then the opposition slams another on.

Ling - 14 touches and only a few minutes into the second quarter. Our leading possession getter, Jones with 9.

As it stands... They have six players in double figures for poss... we have none.

Well, this looks like a 100 point loss.

Anyway, can someone answer these 2 questions for me:

1. Why did the AFL schedule this game in Geelong and not a regional area like far north queensland, gold coast, NZ, tassie or elsewhere where the AFL is pushing?

2. Why did Melbourne see the need to wear a clash jumper that clashes more with the Geelong jumper than the non-clashing, traditional jumper would?

Anyway, can someone answer these 2 questions for me:

Uhm we are talking about the AFL remember, shouldn't that answer your question! <_<

• Author

Buckley with a supergoal...

Right, now Geelong is slaughting Melbourne by 54 pts

Forget the scoreboard

Its not important

Here is whats important

- Simon Buckley with 2 magnificent plays to end the half

- Stef Martin with the brilliant gather and blind turn out of defence

- Valenti getting his hands on the ball at the stoppages on many occassions

- Tom Mcnamara getting amongst as soon as he came on. The kid is only 17

- Meesen looks good, moves well and has done some nice things. Already a better option then Jamar and PJ

- Weetra and Garland both kicking nice goals in general play

On a negative note, our tackling is the worst I have ever seen by any club at AFL level, and our skills arent much better.

But what I am looking for is some hope from the young brigade, and so far its not too bad. And still a half to go.

Forget the scoreboard

Its not important

Here is whats important

- Simon Buckley with 2 magnificent plays to end the half

- Stef Martin with the brilliant gather and blind turn out of defence

- Valenti getting his hands on the ball at the stoppages on many occassions

- Tom Mcnamara getting amongst as soon as he came on. The kid is only 17

- Meesen looks good, moves well and has done some nice things. Already a better option then Jamar and PJ

- Weetra and Garland both kicking nice goals in general play

On a negative note, our tackling is the worst I have ever seen by any club at AFL level, and our skills arent much better.

But what I am looking for is some hope from the young brigade, and so far its not too bad. And still a half to go.

Pretty good summary YM. The tackling is symptomatic of a team of kids, but even so, it's pretty awful.

• Author

Someone on 'ology made a big call... Buckley played 5 minutes that were Judd-like.

Well its true

I hope every time he gets the ball he backs himself and puts on the afterburners. We could have a real gem on our hands here

• Author

Changing the subject now... Has Jamar beenplaying the whole game in the ruck? Or has there been other guys?

I reckon Martin and Zomer have shown a bit, and it's rare to see a couple of blokes of there size showing potential (bar Newton)

Martin has shown good awareness, and has fired off some excellent clearing handballs from defence

Zomer moves and leads vey well, and just looks likely

Bodes well for the future

• Author

Go demons...

There's some much-needed respect. Given the way their midfield has been playing it's remarkable that in the second and third quarters we have actually won the game, at least going by the scoreboard.

What's great is that the ones that have been doing the work are not the ones who should be. Yze is doing what he does best... But Buckley, Jones, Martin, Sylvia, Valenti. They're playing games beyond what they should be at this stage in their careers.

• Author

Might have spoken too soon. 4 goals, one super in the opening minutes of the last... I'll cop the rap for that one.

Dappa Dan:

That's what inexperience does to you. Didn't have the experience to steady up and come out hard at the final like an almost-100%, reigning premier does.

• Author
Dappa Dan:

That's what inexperience does to you. Didn't have the experience to steady up and come out hard at the final like an almost-100%, reigning premier does.

Que? Not EXACTLY sure what your point is...

I hink RobbieF over at 'ology had a good point.

We'll improve a lot from that. So will the Cats. But we'll improve more in terms of percentage. We have so many more reasons why we should have been thumped. Stupidly young and green list, most of the heavy hitters out, away from home, new coach and coaching department AND game-plan...

The main thing to come out of this? We have a lot of work to do. No reason to slit our wrists just yet... but the work is there to be done. There isn't a single area in the game we couldn't improve on.