Demonland Footy Team announcement

Posted

G'day guys,

After proudly Captain/coaching the Demonland team in victories over Saintsational, I would like to formally announce that I am stepping down from the position of Captain/Coach.

This is not a decision I have taken lightly, and I believe the processes put in place under my "reign" will leave the side with a quality mix of both experienced players and younger developmental players [/ND]

I have been priviledged to lead a great group of players onto the field of battle (Glenferrie Oval) and proudly sung our song with gusty amid a ground of fantastic blokes who have done the red and blue jumper proud. The Cactuses, the Wises, the Melbournefcs, the Powellys, I'm proud of them all [/Gary Ayres]

Unfortunately life has its twists and turns and for me that means I'll be leaving this great city and country of ours for greener pastures for a little while.

I would like to highly recommend Wise (Josh) to take over as Captain, as he can actually play football, and is a far greater leader than my Yze like rolled up sleeves and three party goals in the last quarter could ever hope to be :D.

Seriously boys I'll be disappointed to miss the games you play at the end of the year as I'll most likely be gone by Grand Final day, but I hope it all goes well and you continue our feared winning streak with pride.

Go Dees.

Cheers,

Rob

I have been priviledged to lead a great group of players onto the field of battle (Glenferrie Oval) and proudly sung our song with gusty amid a ground of fantastic blokes who have done the red and blue jumper proud. The Cactuses, the Wises, the Melbournefcs, the Powellys, I'm proud of them all [/Gary Ayres]

All the best!

Where are you heading off to?

I'm getting emotional as I type, getting a mention in your farewell tribute :lol:

Demonland footy team?

Could we offer it to Chris Connelly? We could really talk it up and then he can pull out of the race for the MFC position!

Never made it along to watch nay of your games but I always enjoyed the before and after match comments - well done and happy travels.

Demonland footy team?

Where do we sign?

bwell, the Demonlanders manage to scrape together a team to take on posters on other footy fan forums, like Saintsational, etc.

It is usually done pre-season I think. I am not the best one to answer your queries but given no one else has, I thought I would put your mind at rest.

From memory, the guys have played the Saints, Hawks and Blues but I stand to be corrected....

If you are still around when the next match is on, I am sure a lot of people around here would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and to play alongside you.

after 6 weeks of playing rugby i believe my fitness is back up to standard where i could stand around and occassionly run at the ball (or the player with it), so i will endeavor to be available for the next game. unfortunately my kicking skills dont quite compare to my efforts in the scrum or around the rucks, and given im a front rower i dont need to pass or kick anyway. lol

LOL

As an ex Halfback I can only laugh

"I am stepping down..."

you will be missed, rob...

keeping your troops standing in the sun at the breaks between quarters in the first game looked like a bad decision, but it turned out to be a stroke of genius... :wacko:

a good captain/coach is worth a lot...

good luck, mate... :rolleyes:

two games against the sainters for two wins is a great record...

second your nomination of the wise one as your replacement, especially if he keeps turning up to games with such good-looking groupies...

this may also provoke whispering jack into keeping his promises to turn up to coach !!

p.s. if you want me to take care of the "big carl" trophy while you are away, send me a pm and I will arrange to collect it from you...

cheers,

rollo.

• Author
All the best!

Where are you heading off to?

Taking up a job with ESPN in America, so making the big move to the States.

Awesome!!! What an opportunity.

I'll be moving to Seattle mid next -year.

Where will you be based?

congrats. that is a great opportunity. where will you be based?

means there will be another dees supporter over there when i head over soon.

hards, devo to hear about the loss of my foward pocket! was really looking forward to getting the old line of you me and mfc back together.

best of luck with the ESPN job sounds amazing! if you could pull a few strings and get the next game televised that would be great... the americans wont know whats hit them. lol.

after 6 weeks of playing rugby i believe my fitness is back up to standard where i could stand around and occassionly run at the ball (or the player with it), so i will endeavor to be available for the next game. unfortunately my kicking skills dont quite compare to my efforts in the scrum or around the rucks, and given im a front rower i dont need to pass or kick anyway. lol

But remember Deanox the game is won in the forwards ;) :D !!!

demons 32 and bWell...

I have recorded your site names and you will get an invite by pm when the next game comes up...

Count me in... B)

Lol, I may be 20 but my fitness age would be in the "elderly" category

Thanks for the inclusion :)

Well I suppose I'd better contribute to this post...

Let me begin by congratulating you Hards on your fantastic opportunity with ESPN in the States. I have no doubt you’ll make a success of this venture, as you did leading our great club over the past two years. It was an honor and a pleasure playing along side you Hards, and I would like to express my gratitude, not just your service to the team on and off the field, but also for your humbling recommendation. Rollo, likewise your contribution to the team cannot be underestimated, and we hope to have you back this year and for many more to come.

Captaining the Demons… dreams are made of such things!

I have been overseas since January, and have missed the entire football season. But I am as fit as ever, I’ll be home in November, and I am ready to lead a new generation of Demons in our charge to a historical three-peat over Saintsational.

We’ve endured a tough year here at Demonland. But come this summer, on a balmy Sunday afternoon, 22 of our finest Demonlanders/Demonologists will have an opportunity to make amends for this dismal season. We will play with all of the spirit, passion and determination we long to see from our club. We will play as one, ferociously and flamboyantly. We’ll do our jumper proud, and by God we’ll sing our song with gusto when it’s all said and done.

Keep your eye on the red and the blue…

you won't be able to keep me away, wise one...

it is true that most of the players come from demonland, but demonology is represented as well...

hards, haven't heard from you re the "big carl" trophy !!??

But remember Deanox the game is won in the forwards ;) :D !!!

it wasnt today! argh.

I'm sorry to hear that Deanox :P !!!

Congratulations on the new job with ESPN Hards.

With regards to the demonland footy team, i always wanted to go, but cant due to living interstate. But i have contributed to the thread and wishing the boys well in playing these forum games.

Thanks, and i hope you go well